We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite with an excellent location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn & Cottages
Ranked #3 of 9 Rochester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I spent two nights in Emily's Suite at this charming establishment. My room was absolutely perfect - tastefully decorated without being overdone - a very difficult balance to hit. With the small desk and large comfy chair with ottoman, it was also supremely comfortable. The location is hard to beat - a very quiet spot but with an easy walk to a lively restaurant row. It was very hard to leave!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boomster9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

My husband and I have stayed her nearly a dozen times over the last 3 years. Manny and Susan (owners) and Heather (innkeeper) always manage to make us feel like family. We spent Easter there one year and had the most delicious "puff" you could imagine and they were completely accommodating when we booked the entire inn and had multiple needs. Breakfasts are delicious and border on gourmet! It is also incredibly clean and makes me feel like I am at home and not in a hotel. If we ever have the pleasure of heading back to Rochester now that our daughter has graduated from college The Edward Harris House will be our first call!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaroleTobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We were fortunate enough to book a night's stay at The Edward Harris House during our recent end of May road trip. If you are going to Rochester, I cannot recommend this Inn enough. With gracious hosts, this Inn is provided us with most memorable, wonderful accommodations. It is located in the historic district, just doors away from the Eastman House. I can certainly say that this is now on our permanent Go To List for our next trip back to the Rochester area....

I was traveling with my friend as well as business associate, so we were able to book a room with two beds. When we booked our room at this historic inn, we gave late arrival information and we were given clear, precise, instructions for entering. It was such a welcoming surprise to see such gorgeous interior design when we first passed through their front door. We immediately felt right at home surrounded by elegant architecture with original woodwork, fine antiques and lace...all that is found in a period home.

For a home in the city, even if it is the historic district, we were more than pleased with the tranquility there. We were in Rosemary's Suite and Porch. There was truly something special about that room, which made us both feel instantly better after driving so many hours that day.

The room is spacious and actually has a king sized bed with another smaller bed in the alcove room around the corner. Both beds were exceedingly comfortable and we commented more than once after leaving the Inn that we had both slept surprisingly well!

We instantly opened the room's many big windows so to enjoy the new, fresh breezes outside that smelled like spring. There's so many windows in that room that it could not have been more perfect that way! There's an antique chaise in one corner that is the most comfy! In fact, we have started to in antique shops for one like this for our own homes!

The breakfast was served in a romantic dining room, also filled with beautiful antique furnishings. Our morning meal was served on fine china. It was absolutely delicious with good, healthy choices that worked well with our diet requirements. We had a great conversations with the owner, as well as his staff, who directed us to some of the local attractions.

I cannot recommend this inn more.... The overall value is outstanding! If you have never stayed at a B&B or Inn before, this is a great way to begin your experiences. After staying at an Inn like this, you will likely avoid hotels...even boutique hotels...for the rest of your life! Thanks to everyone who made our stay at the Edward Harris House so enjoyable.

Room Tip: There are 2 beds, a king and a single, for those duo style travelers in the Rosemary's Suite an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JournalingAuthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

My three friends and I spent my birthday weekend enjoying time at this cozy waterfront cottage. It was the perfect location for all our needs, including the mandatory trip to the Cheesecake Factory (20 minute drive) that we try to fit in every time we cross the border! The cottage was spotless and well equipped, and the fireplace was definitely the highlight after a long day Christmas shopping at the great malls in the area. We enjoyed breakfast on the porch overlooking the water, and the view is spectacular....we definitely did not want to leave. The beds are comfortable and the bedrooms are inviting and peaceful. It's quiet and we felt very safe walking around the area. It was great to come back to the cottage, have all our appetizers and wine waiting, with no need to venture out at all....we all felt well-rested and rejuvenated after our stay! Can't wait to return with my husband and spend some time relaxing in this little piece of paradise.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebiLexi460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Our first trip to this Inn won't be our last! This is a beautiful, restored mansion that should not be missed the next time you pass through Rochester, NY. The neighborhood is quiet, safe and a short walk down the street to boutiques, cafes and restaurants. Heather was a sweetheart and very helpful. Also, a great cook with killer French Toast for breakfast and great coffee, too! Another point...Chobani yogurt...none of that awful cornstarch and gum junk...thank you!!
We had a corner room with a fireplace and attached sleeping porch/sitting room. All were well appointed and lovely. The bed, linens, toiletries, everything were great. I appreciate nice product... Being in a residential area was nice and quiet. There is a lovely garden terrace where we enjoyed some wine and snacks before walking to dinner, too.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HPYTRVLRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sudeeq, Owner at A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

It's been a busy summer, and we have met some truly amazing people like yourselves. Thank you so much for the fabulous review. Yes, Heather is wonderful! We hope that you will return one day as you are passing through. We wish you both the best. Come see us!
Susan and Manny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I love to stay at B&B's! The Edward Harris House was a very nice option for us during the orientation move-in days at the University of Rochester. Located in a lovely neighborhood with other large older homes with a lot of character, about 4 miles from the University, near the Museum's on East Ave, we enjoyed being able to walk to the Park Ave resturarants and shops just a block away after moving my son into his dorm. The house owners have an innkeeper that manages the B&B. The owners are on the property and cooked breakfast one of the mornings that we were there. The breakfast's were good and filling. The house is beautifully restored with many details, antiques and interesting art! The 4 bedroom's are spacious and colorful. One has a sleeping porch in case you need extra space for an additional guest. However, that room was booked at the time of our booking and we stayed in Emily's suite which was spacious enough for a cot. We had our son one of the night's till he moved in to college. Each bedroom has a window unit air conditioner. It was very humid the few days we were there and appreciated the "cool" room. However, like all window unit's, they are loud and can interrupt one's sleep. I can't see this being a very big problem though since Rochester does not usually have hot and humid weather for much of the year!
The Inn provided a great place to relax after a hectic day of college move in. We met some very nice people during our stay at breakfast but especially enjoyed walking to the Park Ave Pub (refer to review) for dinner on our second night. Coffee, tea and water were readily available with cookies at the snack station in the living room at all times.
The Inn is especially clean and well maintained. The only hiccup I could see would be in parking.
If the Inn is full, the only parking is the driveway which is narrow. Cars park in front of the garage (which is used by the owners) or lined up in the driveway. There are times the cars need to be moved around so the owners can get out of the garage. At the time of check-in, the innkeeper will ask you to leave your car keys (once you come back to the Inn) in order to move the cars around if needed. Leaving your keys is not an issue because the Inn's door is locked at all times. However, this may bother some people and I imagine you could park on the street if you could find a space. Overall, we had a wonderful stay and will plan to go back to the Inn on another college visit. There are many options in Rochester but the Edward Harris House is located in one of the nicer areas.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAMAClevelandArea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sudeeq, Owner at A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Thank you so much for writing such a nice and detailed review of our Inn! It does help fellow travelers make their decisions on where to stay. We love the area - have been here for years and have always enjoyed sharing this incredible neighborhood and home with everyone! We hope we will see you back often over the next few years that your son is in school.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We were so lucky to have been able to have the inaugural stay at the new lake cottage of the Edward Harris Inn on Long Pond in Greece this past week. It is a quaint, beautiful lake cottage where you and your family can spread out, enjoy the cool breezes off the pond, sit around a fire and relax. We were especially looking for something different for our family get together and Susan and her folks put the final touches on the cottage just in time for us. Thank you. We look forward to renting it again and again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4peasantsnawasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sudeeq, Owner at A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

SO glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Pond Cottage. You were our very first guests and we hope that you will come again one day to see all the little (and big) changes that happen over time. I just got back myself from a long weekend stay at the Cottage. It was so relaxing! Thank you for the fabulous review! Hope to have you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochester
195.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
1.3 mi away
Inn On Broadway
Inn On Broadway
#18 of 29 in Rochester
153 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester/University & Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton
4.9 mi away
The Del Monte Lodge Renaissance Rochester Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
The East Avenue Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn & Cottages

Address: 35 Argyle St, Rochester, NY 14607-2301
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Rochester
Price Range: £141 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy this Circa 1896 restored mansion in the heart of the Arts/Cultural District of Rochester, New York. Walk tree lined streets (one short block) to the urban village of Park Avenue. Visit area shops, cafes, fine dining, galleries and museums. Close to all area Colleges and Universities and business such as Xerox Square, Bausch and Lomb, Harris Corporation and Kodak. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing