We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 Rochester B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Second Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Three years ago we stayed at the Edward Harris House and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our second visit in July was just as impressive. We were warmly welcomed back and this time we were in the lovely and comfortable Emily's Suite. Each morning we were served a delicious breakfast that was prepared and presented with pride. We certainly recommend the Edward Harris House.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYtraveler2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    12
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
60
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed twice, once for a week, and both times we really enjoyed it. So friendly, a home away from home with a cooked breakfast too. We'd recommend it. Much better than the formula hotels we usually stay in.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

I spent two nights in Emily's Suite at this charming establishment. My room was absolutely perfect - tastefully decorated without being overdone - a very difficult balance to hit. With the small desk and large comfy chair with ottoman, it was also supremely comfortable. The location is hard to beat - a very quiet spot but with an easy walk to a lively restaurant row. It was very hard to leave!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boomster9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Ellyn, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

My husband and I have stayed her nearly a dozen times over the last 3 years. Manny and Susan (owners) and Heather (innkeeper) always manage to make us feel like family. We spent Easter there one year and had the most delicious "puff" you could imagine and they were completely accommodating when we booked the entire inn and had multiple needs. Breakfasts are delicious and border on gourmet! It is also incredibly clean and makes me feel like I am at home and not in a hotel. If we ever have the pleasure of heading back to Rochester now that our daughter has graduated from college The Edward Harris House will be our first call!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroleTobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

We were fortunate enough to book a night's stay at The Edward Harris House during our recent end of May road trip. If you are going to Rochester, I cannot recommend this Inn enough. With gracious hosts, this Inn is provided us with most memorable, wonderful accommodations. It is located in the historic district, just doors away from the Eastman House. I can certainly say that this is now on our permanent Go To List for our next trip back to the Rochester area....

I was traveling with my friend as well as business associate, so we were able to book a room with two beds. When we booked our room at this historic inn, we gave late arrival information and we were given clear, precise, instructions for entering. It was such a welcoming surprise to see such gorgeous interior design when we first passed through their front door. We immediately felt right at home surrounded by elegant architecture with original woodwork, fine antiques and lace...all that is found in a period home.

For a home in the city, even if it is the historic district, we were more than pleased with the tranquility there. We were in Rosemary's Suite and Porch. There was truly something special about that room, which made us both feel instantly better after driving so many hours that day.

The room is spacious and actually has a king sized bed with another smaller bed in the alcove room around the corner. Both beds were exceedingly comfortable and we commented more than once after leaving the Inn that we had both slept surprisingly well!

We instantly opened the room's many big windows so to enjoy the new, fresh breezes outside that smelled like spring. There's so many windows in that room that it could not have been more perfect that way! There's an antique chaise in one corner that is the most comfy! In fact, we have started to in antique shops for one like this for our own homes!

The breakfast was served in a romantic dining room, also filled with beautiful antique furnishings. Our morning meal was served on fine china. It was absolutely delicious with good, healthy choices that worked well with our diet requirements. We had a great conversations with the owner, as well as his staff, who directed us to some of the local attractions.

I cannot recommend this inn more.... The overall value is outstanding! If you have never stayed at a B&B or Inn before, this is a great way to begin your experiences. After staying at an Inn like this, you will likely avoid hotels...even boutique hotels...for the rest of your life! Thanks to everyone who made our stay at the Edward Harris House so enjoyable.

Room Tip: There are 2 beds, a king and a single, for those duo style travelers in the Rosemary's Suite an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JournalingAuthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ancaster, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

My three friends and I spent my birthday weekend enjoying time at this cozy waterfront cottage. It was the perfect location for all our needs, including the mandatory trip to the Cheesecake Factory (20 minute drive) that we try to fit in every time we cross the border! The cottage was spotless and well equipped, and the fireplace was definitely the highlight after a long day Christmas shopping at the great malls in the area. We enjoyed breakfast on the porch overlooking the water, and the view is spectacular....we definitely did not want to leave. The beds are comfortable and the bedrooms are inviting and peaceful. It's quiet and we felt very safe walking around the area. It was great to come back to the cottage, have all our appetizers and wine waiting, with no need to venture out at all....we all felt well-rested and rejuvenated after our stay! Can't wait to return with my husband and spend some time relaxing in this little piece of paradise.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebiLexi460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Our first trip to this Inn won't be our last! This is a beautiful, restored mansion that should not be missed the next time you pass through Rochester, NY. The neighborhood is quiet, safe and a short walk down the street to boutiques, cafes and restaurants. Heather was a sweetheart and very helpful. Also, a great cook with killer French Toast for breakfast and great coffee, too! Another point...Chobani yogurt...none of that awful cornstarch and gum junk...thank you!!
We had a corner room with a fireplace and attached sleeping porch/sitting room. All were well appointed and lovely. The bed, linens, toiletries, everything were great. I appreciate nice product... Being in a residential area was nice and quiet. There is a lovely garden terrace where we enjoyed some wine and snacks before walking to dinner, too.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HPYTRVLRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sudeeq, Owner at A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
It's been a busy summer, and we have met some truly amazing people like yourselves. Thank you so much for the fabulous review. Yes, Heather is wonderful! We hope that you will return one day as you are passing through. We wish you both the best. Come see us!
Susan and Manny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
1.0 mi away
The East Avenue Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton
1.4 mi away
Inn On Broadway
Inn On Broadway
#19 of 31 in Rochester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
1.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel Rochester Riverside
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester/University & Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn

Property: A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn
Address: 35 Argyle St, Rochester, NY 14607-2301
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy this Circa 1896 restored mansion in the heart of the Arts/Cultural District of Rochester, New York. Walk tree lined streets (one short block) to the urban village of Park Avenue. Visit area shops, cafes, fine dining, galleries and museums. Close to all area Colleges and Universities and business such as Xerox Square, Bausch and Lomb, Harris Corporation and Kodak. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing