We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must Do”

Casa Larga Vineyards
Ranked #24 of 143 things to do in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Casa Larga Vineyards is one of New York's premier wine producers; has been a driving force in the evolution, growth, promotion and recognition of Finger Lakes Wine Region and is home to the New York State Ice Wine and Culinary Festival every February, the Purple Foot Grape Stomping Festival every September, and in the summer, our ROC Patio Parties plus we are home to Bella Vista, Rochester's premiere event facility. Casa Larga Vineyards just south of Rochester New York, occupies 45 acres of land and is the gateway to the Finger Lakes. We produce eleven different varieties of grapes including: Chardonnays, Rieslings, Gewurztraminers, Pinot Noirs, Merlots, Cabernet Francs, Cabernet Sauvignons, Vidals and others. Casa Larga Vineyards is also highly regarded for its production of award-winning, world class Ice Wines and its Vidal Ice Wine is recognized as the most awarded Ice Wine in the United States and has won over 100 awards including the "Best Dessert Wine Trophy" and "Best in Class" at the International Wine & Spirits Competition in London England.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Stairs / lift
Killeen, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Must Do”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

The best tour that we had during our time in New York. Denise was very helpful and quite obviously likes her job :o). We tasted several wines and although I normally do not like desert wines, the Fiori Vidal and the Riesling Ice wines are off the chart! The selection of chocolates and cheeses are really good too! The prices are really reasonable and they offer a discount for our military folks! Casa Larga can arrange to have wine shipped to most states.....Don't miss this experience!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Toobratty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    10
    4
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Take the tour!”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Took the winery tour and did the wine tasting. Very interesting tour, from the vines to the aging process and everything in between. The tasting was soooo good! Try the sangria!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim_In_ATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, New York
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Wine, Low Prices”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My boyfriend and I went to Casa Larga to do some wine tasting on a Saturday morning. The wine selection was great. I love their Medium Dry Riesling and Red Sangria, very tasty wines. I love Riesling and was impressed by the taste of the Medium Dry tasting. All of the employees were polite and helpful and our pourer was able to answer all of our questions. We did not go on the tour, but it was only $2 to taste for 5 wines, I believe. Most of the other places on the Canandaigua wine trail are $3-$5. We would definitely go back in the future, especially to go on the tour.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great wine, great staff, great experience”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We went to Casa Larga on a Saturday afternoon around 2 pm. We wanted to do a tour but the next tour was not until 3 pm. So we did a tasting to kill time. The lady who did our tasting was so nice; I wish I could remember her name. All the ladies who were working that day were friendly.

The tour lasted about 30 minutes. It was very informative and the tour guide was passionate about their wine making process. I even got the souviner glass. The tour + tasting was $7 with the glass. If you don't want to get a wine glass, it's only $5. And I was impressed with the prices of the wines.

I can't wait to go back and try more of their wines.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CUTiger81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLORIDA
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great wines-Feels like Napa”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Really enjoyed the visit,the wines, the setting in the vineyards,the beautiful facilities, and they have gorgeous gift baskets! Staff was friendly and helpful. Their Fiori Ice Wines are unique and award winning,the info pamphlet explains the Artistic,Varietal and Reserve series and makes excellent food pairing suggestions. Also available by mail order. Would totally recommend a visit,or if you're not in the area, look them up on line!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank EMMAFLORIDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa Larga Vineyards also viewed

 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Casa Larga Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing