We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cancelled concert - told no one”
Review of Main Street Armory

Main Street Armory
Ranked #77 of 143 things to do in Rochester
Attraction details
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
144 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Cancelled concert - told no one”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Went to Charlie Daniels concert 6/1. Dozens out front problem was building locked and no one there. No sign on the front door telling us concert was cancelled. Even went to the website when got home and saw nothing about cancellation. Nice job Armory. I feel bad for the couple that drove 3 hours to watch the show only to have this happen. Apparently customer service is low on the priority list there.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    7
    4
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Venue in dire need of work”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Have attended several volleyball tournaments at this venue and it was in awful shape inside and out. First of all, although understanding the desire to maintain some of the original beauty, have holes in the walls between bathroom stalls really doesn't bode well for those using them - you can literally see the person in the stall next to you - and they you!

The place is filthy and they require you buy their nasty food which is mostly of the fried variety - we are there for an athletic event and our athletes aren't interested in chicken fingers and french fries.

Then there is the issue of parking - if you have arrived early, you will be okay - but don't dare leave or you will find yourself parking on some seedy side street in the city.

I've spoken to the director of our club in hopes that we will not sign up for tournaments at this venue in the future - if enough clubs do so, maybe they will get the point.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank deemc99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinclairville, New York
Level Contributor
129 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Volleyball Tournament”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We were here for a 14/15 year old volleyball tournament and I was not impressed at all. The place stunk of beer and cigarettes. The lighting was terrible as was the seating. Went to the balcony to sit but could not see the court from there. The balcony had empty glasses and cigarette butts thrown around. The bathrooms were not checked throughout the day and by 1pm the garbage cans were overflowing and stalls were running out of toilet paper.

We have been traveling for volleyball tournaments for several years and I have never been to a facility that was this bad before.

It is a shame as this is a beautiful building with great potential with a little TLC.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank marcy333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful building on the outside, could be fixed up to look really nice. :(”
Reviewed 5 March 2013

When we approached the entrance, I looked up at the building and thought, "Wow, this place looks amazing." The architecture dates back to the 1800's, made of solid brick and stone, gorgeous...But inside was pretty dumpy. The place has stairs leading up to a balcony, when I asked one of the security/staff if I could go up, she replied "I don't know, you can try?" The view of the stage from up there was nice, the place isn't very well kept though, it's a shame--but I guess it serves its purpose as a concert venue for drunks to leave cups all over the floor, puke and spill beer.
One major setback to this place would have to be the sound acoustics, I was not impressed. I expected the music to fill this somewhat small room, but from the side you could barely make out what song the band was playing. Plus the bass was blaring, it was too much. The sound was at its best from the back, directly across from the front of the stage. Even from the balcony it sounded decent, but not anything amazing. The bathroom stalls had to be held shut while in use, the water was freezing, and it was dark, dumpy, and out of toilet paper/paper towels. Lastly, the security didn't really check anyone thoroughly when entering, people were lighting up cigarettes in the middle of the show, and drink/shirt vendors were VERY limited...it took the longest time to buy a tee at the end of the show.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Linsey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
81 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Average acoustics”
Reviewed 11 December 2012

This venue hosts many small name musical events. Great for a local that wants an evening with live music, but don't travel any distance or you will be dissappointed.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Main Street Armory also viewed

 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Main Street Armory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing