We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good Ethiopian”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
MEDA Ethiopian Restaurant and Bar
Cuisines: Ethiopian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
416 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Pretty good Ethiopian”
Reviewed 19 April 2013

The food and service were pretty good for lunch on a weekday. We got the vegetarian plate for 2 and it was plenty of food for only $15. A few things with berbere sauce were pretty spicy. The curry lentils and the greens were great. My mom loved it as her first Ethiopian experience, especially because I reminded her of the 1st rule of Ethiopian food- stop eating the minute you think you might be full, or you will regret it later.
The building looked pretty tired. There is a big gravel parking lot, but no real indication of where to park. The front door is difficult to open. The lock on the bathroom was broken. Things just felt tired.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank waterangel21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    3
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
667 reviews
365 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“Service Needs Improvement”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We dined here with friends on a recent Friday evening. The food was quite good and the prices certainly can't be beaten. I had gone to the trouble to call and make a reservation, but when we arrived the staff seemed to know nothing about it. The place was very busy but they pulled up a table by the bathroom door for us. Unfortunately the air fresheners didn't cover the sewer gas smell too well. Staff seemed a bit overwhelmed with the number of customers, and food came out very slowly, but we enjoyed anyway. We will go back but probably on a quieter night.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ROCtraveler30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Food.”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We came in during the week to reserve a specific table so we would be able to watch the SU-Michigan game and were pleased that the party seated at our table were wrapping up since we were early for the reservation. The waitress was helpful in telling us about spice levels and portion sizes. 4 of us started with the veggie combo for 2 and a chicken dish. The combo was excellent and was a great way to try everything. The chicken dish consisted of a chicken leg and hard boiled egg along with the salad served atop the injera which as other writers pointed out, made the bread soggy. We ordered the chickpea dish after eating up the combo and chicken. Food service was fast. Ambiance minimal. The host was very friendly. We liked the BYOB nature. We will be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EnterprisingTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brockport, New York
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Ignore the building - good food”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

A worthy successor to Abyssinia. The waitress was helpful and knowledgeable, the food tasty and well spiced - and quite inexpensive.

The dining room is small, with a large empty bar (no liquor license yet) and music that was too loud (a chronic complaint of mine) and a TV showing sports (why bother?). The building housed a bar many years ago, and has been empty for a long time. It's right off the Inner Loop and appears, from the outside, to be still abandoned - go ahead and brave it.

The injira should have been pre-cut.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Needs work”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Had a coupon so we decided to try this new restaurant. Arrived at 7 and the place was crowded (usually a good sign). We were told it's be about a 30 minute wait. After 20 minutes we were seated (so far so good). Having little experience with Ethiopian food we asked the server some questions and she was very helpful.
Put in our order around 7:30 and chit chatted with each other. FYI, they do not have a liquor license so it's BYOB. I wish we had known that because after waiting patiently for an hour, I asked when would we get our food. Our server said we were 2nd in line. finally 30 minutes later at 9PM (2 hours after we arrived, an hour and a half after placing the order) we got our meals. I must admit the flavors wre yummy but.......
I had ordered a beef dish (Zil Zil) and you would think after waiting that long the meat would be tender. You'd be wrong, it was tough and grizzly. My dining companions shared the combo platter for 2 had the same issue with the beef on thier dish. The meal also came with salad (which could have been brought out to hold us over) which was unceremoniously dumped onto our platters of ingera and made it soupy and sloppy to eat.
They REALLY need to figure out how to serve more than 1 person at a time. Until they do that I won't be returning

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rjfmkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed MEDA Ethiopian Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing