We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very consistent !!!”

Sinbad's Mediterranean Cuisine
Ranked #32 of 1,288 Restaurants in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Rochester, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very consistent !!!”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

The food is always good,fresh,and delicious. The owner is always on had with a keen eye out to be sure that all is going as it should. Best Mediterranean food in town at a reasonable price.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    51
    15
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester,NY
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“My summer favorite”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

A great place to do some people watching and enjoy some fresh mediterranean food. The selection is wide and everything has always been fresh and well prepared. A great choice if you're looking for something a bit healthier than most places.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank karl1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This is a great place to enjoy Mediterranean cuisine for very reasonable prices! Everything on the menu sounds great! Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank colemj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York, United States
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A park ave favorite.”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I'm writing this review after going to Sinbad's more than 5 or 6 times now. I have never been dissatisfied neither have I been blown away.

Nice location on Park Ave if you are craving Mediterranean food. Their indoor seating is sparse but comfortable. Outdoor seating is available and enjoyable when the weather is good but the chairs are uncomfortable and the tables precarious.

Service has been decent when I've been there and food came promptly.

Hummus tastes rich and flavorful and serving size is good. Delivered with triangles of pita bread which you will enjoy dipping in the hummus and they will be happy to bring you more when you want it.

Falafel is dry and flavorless the couple of times I have tried it. Will not order again.

I usually go for the gyro pita or any pita with beef or lamb. The flavor is very good with a nice amount of sauce and meat. The pita is warm and slightly toasted which is how I like it. The size is enough if you are planning to snack or lunch but you might want to order something extra if you are having dinner and have a good appetite.

The big plates/entrees are mostly Greek salad with your choice of meat on top served with a delicious olive oil based dressing. I thought I'd still be hungry after eating a "salad based" dinner but I was wrong. It tasted very good specially with the tender pieces of lamb.

The prices are very reasonable and affordable.

I personally like Sinbad's much better than Alladin's both in terms of food and service. Continues to be one of my most visited restaurants in the Park ave area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Sik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in a Pleasant Neighborhood”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This is a popular restaurant in a trendy but older neighbourhood. Around it are other cafes, the Abbott's locally made ice dream store and a bread bakery as well as many service shops. Be careful where you park, best probably on the street in the evening.
In summer the lawn of Sinbad's is covered with tables with many people enjoying the food.
We ate inside for a family relatives' function and were not disappointed. Food is Mediterranean by name and how its prepared and portions are generous. For groups, a good idea is to get different plates and then share them. Service was a bit slow but that was due to the number of people there and outside.
It is the best Mediterranean food we have had in a long time and will return on our next trip to Rochester

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sinbad's Mediterranean Cuisine also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Sinbad's Mediterranean Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing