We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food ok, service not so great”
Review of Jeremiah's Tavern

Jeremiah's Tavern
Ranked #251 of 1,274 Restaurants in Rochester
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Drinks, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
99 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Food ok, service not so great”
Reviewed 26 April 2013

I have been to Jeremiah's a few times. It's a pretty average place. This past time we were over charged and the waitress hardly checked on us.
People were coming in and out. There were probably 10 tables and one waitress in the back room- until halfway through the meal another waiter began serving others.
The alcohol is WAY over priced- be prepared!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    31
    27
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Upstate N.Y.
Level Contributor
256 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“It is indeed a mystery.........”
Reviewed 24 April 2013

I have friends that like this place. I arrived early, sat near the bar because although there may have been room to sit there, it was hard to tell because of the fairly empty glasses that were in front of empty bar stools. Lots of regulars I guess who got a lot of attention from the bartender. In fact I had to wait an inordinate amount of time to be served while she yakked it up with others. The first spot I waited for friends at smelled of urine. Couldda been a patron. Couldda been the floor. Couldda been my imagination since my friend didn'ty smell it. The 4 of us moved to a table in the far room. Did I mention there is a lot of noise?
Anyway. We had garlic parm wings which arrived in a lined plastic basket. The wings swam in a quarter inch of mystery fluid- grease?- sprinkled with cheeze. And buffalo wings. Not special in the least. Really awful shrimp bang bang that had not the slightest bang whatsoever. The Guiness and the table service were ok. But I cannot imagine returning.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank swampknot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fun, but wings overrated”
Reviewed 13 March 2013 via mobile

Cool bar, good beer and prices but the wings are WAY over rated. Mine were soggy and not good. Definitely not the best in Rochester, not even close.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Not impressed”
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Went to the one in gates twice now and have not left satisfied either time. The first time I ordered the fish tacos and they were ok but had a weird sweetness flavor to them that was not pleasant. I figured that maybe wasn't something they did well so I gave it another shot. The next time I ordered the French onion soup which was very good, and the bang bang shrimp which had good flavor but was saturated in the sauce that was thick awkward (almost a fatty gelatins texture to it) the flavor was there but the texture grossed me out. Not to mention our server was no where to be found. She didnt even refil my drink.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mess5773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wings!”
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Have not made it out to the Gates location. Monroe Ave has been remodeled. Their wings are my favorite. Always have a good selection of beers on tap too!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jeremiah's Tavern also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
Penfield, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Jeremiah's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing