We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Roncone's

Roncone's
Ranked #119 of 1,268 Restaurants in Rochester
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Parkway
Transit: RTS
Rochester, New York
1 review
“excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

This is the proverbial hole in the wall. The food was excellent and very reasonalbly priced. I had the salmon special with lobster ravioli, yum. My daughter had egg plant and my husband had the lasagne. We had calamari and fried ravioli for appetizer. Everything was sooo good including the service. The food tastes like it is home cooked Italian. Definitely would go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marian_0421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    16
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
589 reviews
330 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Good Rochester-Italian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

This is one of the places to go for "old school" Rochester-Italian cooking and very popular. Without a reservation we had to wait at the bar for a seat in the dining room on a Friday evening, although the crowd thins out a bit after 7:30PM. Portions of chicken parm and lasagna were tasty, generous and reasonably priced. Service at the bar and in the dining room was very friendly. Although the location is in one of the "rougher" parts of town the valet will watch your car and there are always cops eating there too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ROCtraveler30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“West side Italian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

People have been coming to Roncones for the red sauce for decades. Lyell Ave is not a fancy neighborhood, but noone minds, and when you come to Roncone's you get great Italian food and a very reasonable price. Get the fish fry on Friday night too. Whatever your choice, you will get good friendly service and more food than you know what to do with.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank 76eph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Italian!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

Four of us dined at Roncone's on a Saturday afternoon. The food was wonderful and the prices were very reasonable. I had the chicken marsala -it was delish. The other diners had the Lobster ravioli & a salmon dish (Greek style) that were all on the specials board. Everyone nearly licked their plates clean! Our server Mary was very sweet and efficient. If you are looking for great Italian food for a great price then this is the place for you!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kysdisease1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Webster, New York
2 reviews
“Great food, home-like cooking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

I love to go to Roncone's with my friends every now and then - great food, home-like cooking, non-pretentious atmosphere.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Roncone's also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
 

Been to Roncone's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing