We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Italian Adventure”

Valicia's Ristorante
Ranked #164 of 1,288 Restaurants in Rochester
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
699 reviews
282 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
“An Italian Adventure”
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

We are in Rochester and biking on the Erie Canal this week. The hotel desk recommended an Italian restaurant "a few miles away". We did not want to go back to the local chain restaurant. We had trouble finding the recommended restaurant and when we passed the crowded parking lot,at Valicia's, we decided to try Valicia's too. A good choice! I had the vegetable lasagna and my husband had the greens and beans with farfalle. Delicious food! The house dressing for the salad was lemon Gorgonzola. The bread was chewy and warm. The service was great. The price was very reasonable. The dessert was peanut butter pie and it too was an unexpected pleasure. This is a great dining adventure and should definitely have a higher rating!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    8
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great food, reasonable prices, friendly staff”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We have been to Valicia's a couple of times before and going back this time, everything was better than ever. It was one of the only Italian restaurants around that takes reservations on a Friday night. Other restaurants I called were vague at best about how long a wait at a certain time without reservations. When I called Valeicia's, the woman I talked to said "of course" we can take a reservation. The food is s good and better that other Italian restaurants around, but the dinner prices are anywhere from $3 to $5 lower. I had an "excellent" Veal Parmigiani with Cappellini with an very good sauce, for only $14.95 !!!! My wife had an outstanding chicken dinner with pasta, both had salads, home made bread, I had a beer, she had a glass of wine and the total bill was .... $40. Can't beat it!!!! Large menu choices with portions enough to take some home. Try it ... you will like it there!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Very good italian food”
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Valicia's serves very good italian dinners. There are other items on the menu, but most are italian dishes. When ordering a "special" dinner, one would suggest asking what is in the sauce. A friend assumed it was a red meat souce, but found out it was loaded with mushrooms, which he cannot eat. The service is good, and meals worth the cost, around $15 to $20 per person. The only problem we had faced on a busy night, was that the owner has a lot of regulars, and when they come in, the owner will seat them ahead of people who have been waiting. Much the same as Red Fedele's in Greece.
Good meals, good service and good prices.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penfield, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great classic Italian”
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Our first time here was just by chance - we were in the area and stopped in for dinner. Since then we go back whenever we can. Geat Italian food, great portions, and great prices, all in a nice environment.

We live on the east side of Rochester, so Valicia's is a little bit of a trip (west side of Rochester) compared to staying on the east side of town. But we make the trip frequently because it is well worth it. I've tried most Italian in town and Valecia's is one of my few top spots.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daopenfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food!”
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Joe runs an exceptional restaurant, everytime we've been in there the service was great and the food outstanding. The cocktails are priced reasonable and so is the food. Would I go back there again, darn straight. Also we have been in there when it was packed with parties, did our service go down the drain, NO WAY! The waitress was very attentive and the food was delivered in a timely manner. Kudos to the gang at Valicias!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Valicia's Ristorante also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Valicia's Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing