We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New owner - food is not as good as before”
Review of Chinatown Restaurant - CLOSED

Chinatown Restaurant
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Rochester, New York
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“New owner - food is not as good as before”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stopped to get some take out last week. We hadn't been in for several months. The food was good, but not great as it once was. While waiting we learned that the original long time owners had sold it moved to another state. We used to love the crispy hunan fish - it was good this time but not exceptional. The Mu Shu pork was tasty but the wrappers were dry. The orange beef had a tasty sauce, but the chunks of beef were too large and tough. In the past we were happy to pay the higher prices at this restaurant because of the quality of the food. Now it is just an average restaurant, so not worth the higher prices, in our opinion.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oliversgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    1
    4
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“not what it used to be”
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We ordered takeout last night. The steamed dumplings were so thick and doughy we swore they werent cooked. We tried panfrying to resurrect but it didn't help really. We also had wonton soup (almost no flavor and weird orange color) and szechwan beef (strangely tasteless with all those ingredients). We have ordered from here before and eaten in too. Over the years it just seems to have gone downhill while the prices go up and up. My husband and I agreed this would be our last visit. Makes me miss The Wokery so much! sorry Chinatown

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spencerport
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best american chinese restaurant ever”
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We have been celebrating birthdays with the family for 37 years. We eat there every week and the place is super clean. Servers top class no matter the language barrier. I cannot say enough wonderful things about this family restaurant

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzanneF716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsford, New York
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“dated, dingy looking, but decent food”
Reviewed 19 August 2011

in a strip mall, this place has been around for 30 or more years. all the traditional favorites most people like, but has lost some in the quality dept. the shrimp were smaller than they should have been. sauces were sparse, and way too salty. have been there many times but this was the first time recently, for lunch. i wouldn't avoid the place, but i would not go out of my way to eat there.i would choose lunch olly, as the price is right, and it is filling. a pot of tea at every table, even at lunch.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank theislanddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Webster, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“stale food, not that good service”
Reviewed 7 August 2011

awful food. "Chinatown either changed chefs or he got hit in the head and forgot how to cook, cause I've never had such terrible chinese." totally agree last review. My base line for chinese food is that if you don't get food tasty at least get it clean. Broccoli is not green but yellow, food smell like have been in fridge over months. wont be here any more

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mingheer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chinatown Restaurant also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing