We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Famous Soup!”

Magnolia's Deli & Cafe
Ranked #54 of 1,288 Restaurants in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Pizza, Soups
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Newark, New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Famous Soup!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My daughter took me here to celebrate my birthday and I LOVED everything I ordered! I started either a cup of the "famous soup" as my closest friend calls it. When President Obama visited, he had the cup of this soup with a half sandwich..It is a creamy tomato soup made creamy by cheese....I wish I could figure out what kind! They then add artichokes!! Then....they top it with two crispy pieces of bruschetta. Amazing.. Order the full bowl at your own risk if you are super hungry or that's all you're having. We ordered wraps, yummy, TONS of filling! I had the antipasta wrap. Took half home to eat later. For dessert, we shared a piece of in-house made apple pie. The crust was sort of like strudel. Not the topping part, but the bready, cakey part. Go, you won't regret it!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    37
    10
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgeport, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great French Onion Soup and Salad”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stopped by Magnolia's on Park Ave. and I ordered the French Onion soup and the Julienne salad. It was waaaaay too much food but it was great! I also had the 5 beer sampler. I really enjoyed the Highlands lager and thought the blueberry beer was too fizzy.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NY
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Fantastic place on Park Avenue”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We just happened to read about Magnolia's in the newspaper recently. I did not realize that it's the place that President Obama stopped at last August! I have been to many places on Park Ave., but we never tried Magnolia's until a couple weeks ago. If you can find a parking spot, it is well worth your trouble. The menu is chock full of fabulous salads, wraps, sandwiches, soups and pizza. We have been there twice in the last two weeks, and I can't wait to go back and try everything on the menu - the French Onion soup is the best I have ever tasted…. not too salty and loaded with onions. Awesome looking desserts in the dessert case, we tried the triple chocolate cheesecake and it was so good I don't even want to know how many calories are in it!! Great outdoor seating in nice weather. Fast, friendly service. I'm telling all my friends to try it and we plan on eating there a lot this summer. Many choices for vegetarians, too.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
“Best soups in Rochester!!”
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

I come here for the soups and salads. Absolutely the best soups in Rochester. The spicy pepper jack with sausage and mushroom Brie are my all time favorite soups and the honey lime shrimp salad is to die for. The rest of the menu is good, but not stand out like the soups and salads. Parking can be a big problem so prepare to walk!

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great lunch setting on Park Avenue”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stopped for a late lunch (2:00) on Sunday. The restaurant was hopping but we had a table within five minutes as the hostess predicted. The menu has a nice variety of salads, hot and cold sandwiches, and soups. You can even build your own sandwich. Our waitress, Sarah, was attentive and very knowledgeable, offering suggestions when we asked. One of the best service experiences I have had in some time. Despite the restaurant being very busy, the food was delivered very quickly. The staff works as a team and another staff member cleared our dishes when we were finished. They also offer a nice selection of hot and cold beverages, wine and beer, and desserts.

Great place to dine in the warmer weather as they offer sidewalk seating with a nice view of Park avenue.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Magnolia's Deli & Cafe also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing