We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old school service, very nice ambiance...”
Review of Avvino

Avvino
Ranked #87 of 1,274 Restaurants in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$42
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: AVVINO opened in 2013 serving contemporary American and worldly cuisine. Chef Tim Caschette's fiercely seasonal menu showcases the restaurant's bonds with local farmers and purveyors. Janine Wasley takes the beverage program very seriously offering a carefully chosen wine list with close to 200 selections and forever changing cocktail program also taking inspiration from seasonal offerings. The restaurant offers three dining experiences: The Main Dining Room, Meyer's Den and The Patio (seasona
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Old school service, very nice ambiance...”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

My friends and I stopped in this past week on a Wednesday after work for drinks and a light supper. The service was terrific from the get go and the surroundings were comfortable and chic. The menu is just the right size and everything looked very appetizing. The cocktail and wine list are creative and varied. It was very nice to be able to share an entree and several appetizers and sides (server accommodating). I did think the caliber of food was not quite outstanding but was flavorful and filling (Anancini was mediocre, scallops were small but tender, Broccolini with pesto was tasty but overdressed). The bread served with our dishes was so delicious, presented in a cast iron bread pan, hot out of the oven!!! Reminded me of Parker House rolls, very delicious and you can't resist. Overall, nice place to take date, family or friends for intimate dinner.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dameemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    14
    10
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unexpected gem”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

While it took a couple of tries to find the restaurant, what a pleasant surprise! The service was well timed and unpretentious while being attentive as well. The food was original and lent itself to sharing and conversation. We plan to be back after this initial visit with more friends to enjoy the experience!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DieselDog2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Another visit to Avvino, another winning experience!”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

My wife and I just went to Avvino for Valentine's Day, which is also our Anniversary. I've been there before with work groups and have always been impressed. Once again it was an EXCELLENT experience. We arrived on time and were promptly seated (which was a good start as it was a Holiday evening). We had a choice of the regular menu or some wonderful specials. For starters we chose the Lobster Bisque (which is an incredible regular menu item) and crab cakes (which were a special) were great. For our main courses had the 12oz lobster tail (which was cooked perfectly) and my wife had the sea bass.....both were to die for, as was the bottle of Treana (cab/syrah blend from Baso Robles CA) we enjoyed with our meal. A fitting end was the Budino (Custard w/caramel) for dessert....oh my! Our server, Jazmine, was very attentive, personable and gave excellent recommendations, The ambiance is warm, inviting and we never felt rushed. The entire evening couldn't have been better. Give it a try. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheWallWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton, New York
Level Contributor
155 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Could have been better.”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Enjoyed a nice dinner with friends at Avvino. Nice ambience and a friendly and attentive staff. Nice wine list, including some Finger Lakes selections. However, some of the dishes fell short of being great. The salmon was rather bland with some unidentified brownish sauce on it. The Osso Bucco was a generous portion but a bit fatty and salty. Our friends enjoyed the pork chop and trout main dishes. The appetizers and desserts were outstanding. The shaved brussel sprouts with toasted hazel nuts accompanied by a turrine of beets and chevre was delicious, as were the veal meat balls. Both desserts (Tiramisu and Budino, a custard with caramel topping,) were excellent. I would definitely try again, with a different main dish choice.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tripdokta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent upscale dining experience!”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We dined at Avvino with another couple last Friday evening. It was our first visit to this relatively new Brighton restaurant. We were seated immediately and greeted by our server. He had excellent suggestions and gladly accommodated special requests...which were few!

Our cocktails were expertly prepared...try the Hot and Filthy Martini...it's a winner!!!! The menu is excellent and there were a number of specials that gave us a broad selection. All of our orders were prepared perfectly. The service is efficient and pleasant.

By the time we were ready to leave, the place was very busy...the bar was full...which is nice to see on a cold January evening!

Avvino is a nice addition to the local dining scene!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KATHY438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Avvino also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Avvino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing