We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hands-on Science”

Rochester Museum & Science Center
Ranked #10 of 143 things to do in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Valley Stream, NY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hands-on Science”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Museum had a wide variety of activities. There was enough to do there for two days. It was entertaining for a wide range of ages. They offer Boy Scout and Girl Scout programs. The cafe had decent food for a museum.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank NikkiValleyStream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    81
    25
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Towson, Maryland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Our visit to RMSC was quite fun. We got to see how glaciers were formed and how they carved out the landscape over time. Many other things to see, more than I have space to mention here, if you're visiting Rochester, NY this is one place to definitely stop and spend some time.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Place for Kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

I would recommend this if you are looking for something to do with school-aged kids we like to go when the Dinosaur Exhibits are going on. I would recommend checking out the Planetarium schedule and plan your visit so half way through you can take in a show and rest before exploring the other half of the museum. My twins are 6 and just love going to the RMSC.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank PunkyLZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent small city museum with many fun hands-on exibits”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

This is a great museum, exibits are rotated often. The planetarium is top notch.

Helpful?
Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Play, play...are we learning?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

So many diverse areas to play set up for learning. The fun part for the parents is watching your child learn and they don't even know they are. Who knew a world of play could be so educating. Great place to visit!

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rochester Museum & Science Center also viewed

 

Been to Rochester Museum & Science Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing