We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad part of town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radiance Inn And Suites
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in Rochester
Valrico, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bad part of town”
Reviewed 31 July 2012

I'm glad to report that this one past the sheet test. We didn't have to change the sheets on arrival. The room was spacious and clean. The bed was heavenly, which is the most important part of the stay. I would put the sheets on my bed and the pillows were perfect. Rooms smelled fresh and clean which is second on my importance list. Breakfast was by far the best we had experienced since starting on our trip 2 weeks earlier. Other than the part of town it was located in, I have nothing but great things to say about this La Quinta.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana2760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    55
    38
    27
    28
See reviews for
84
47
16
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We stayed here for a weekend wedding. The service was VERY friendly. Breakfast was good (and busy, but well-attended by the staff). The room was clean, but standard. It had an iron, board, hair dryer, and coffee maker. The beds and pillows are above average in comfort.

The downside: The treadmill in the fitness room wasn't working, there were some stains on the comforter (another reason not to use hotel comforters). We didn't tell the hotel about these things, so I can't tell you how they take care of problems.

We also had an interesting conversation with someone at our table at the wedding. They claimed working girls use this hotel. The neighborhood isn't exactly picturesque, but we saw NO evidence of this at all. I asked my aunt who lives nearby, and she said she didn't believe it.

Room Tip: There is what looked like a busy banquet hall with a busy patio on one side of the hotel. I could se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingofbears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, NY
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We stayed here for one night during a weekend getaway. The room was clean. The bed was comfortable. All things in the room were in working order. Good value. Bathroom could use some updates and grout cleaning on the floor tiles. We did not take advantage of the breakfast, but it seemed busy when we check out. Nice lobby area. North Rochester is not as nice as other parts of the city. Secure parking area that is well lit. The Party house that the other reviewer spoke of is a banquet hall. There was a wedding there, but we could not see anything threatening or loud coming from the hall. I would stay here again if we are passing through to the Falls.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skbqc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed for a Thurs. to Sunday visit and found the accomodations were just fine. Our room was clean and nicely appointed. Even my 17 yo commented about the pleasant surprise to find such a nice room in an motel located in a such a suburban/industrial setting. The front desk was always very pleasant when we walked by. They were particularly helpful making suggestions where to eat when we arrived mid evening after a long drive. The breakfast was good, more than the bagels/cereal deal we expected. Besides the standard carbs, there were eggs, waffles, meats, biscuits/gravy, fresh fruit, and yogurt. The staff handling the breakfast rush remained pleasant despite the demands of keeping up the buffet. Don't judge the hotel by the elevator - it looks warn and smells a bit. Only real complaint was a temperature surge in the shower so you can't take a relaxing shower, you are constant alert for that spike in temperature. The staff keeps the room cold, which is a welcome thing coming in from a hot day out and the unit responds quickly if you choose to lessent the ac

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor, which worked well if the elevator was full and you want to take the stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnxiousJerseyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Had difficulty finding a reservation in Rochester area on recent busy summer weekend; this was one of few available hotels at a reasonable rate for one night. Turned out to be better than okay, a comfortable place to spend a night. Location is in what seems to be an industrial area, one of the traveler photos of the view from the front entrance for this La Quinta is right on target! A gas station sits almost directly in front of the hotel. Looking at the fence line next to the property, I initially wondered about parking my car safely in the lot but found a spot near the entrance. No problems, it was fine. Desk staff were very helpful and friendly; no complaints about the room. Room was very clean, smelled fresh. Pleasant stay. Wi-Fi worked well, good TV, nice furnishings in the room.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whirligig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Browns Summit, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Overall a decent place to stay. I have stayed here twice and would stay again. They don't really stand out with anything positive or negative. Staff was nice but did not go out of their way. Breakfast was good. Had a decent variety. Room was clean and comfortable except there was a big open space where a chair or some other piece of furniture should have been. Seemed like there were lots of carpet stains in hallways. I would say they were slightly above average. I gave them the benefit of the doubt giving them a very good rating.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spoonsugar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plattekill, New York, USA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

As always La Quinta Inn was great place to stay...only negative I give this one is the hot hallways and only one Ice Machine in the hotel. From check in to check out staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good it helps not having to leave hotel early to find breakfast before going to meeting and starting your day.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank NelsonEddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#25 of 31 in Rochester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
6.4 mi away
Best Western Rochester Marketplace Inn
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Rochester-Greece
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Inn On Broadway
Inn On Broadway
#21 of 31 in Rochester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
3.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Rochester University
5.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester Airport - University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radiance Inn And Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radiance Inn And Suites

Property: Radiance Inn And Suites
Address: 1956 Lyell Ave, Rochester, NY 14606-2319 (Formerly La Quinta Inn Rochester North)
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Radiance Inn And Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Radiance Inn And Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Rochester Hotel Rochester
La Quinta Rochester
Rochester La Quinta
La Quinta Hotel Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing