We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Got what we paid for, or less....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radiance Inn And Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Radiance Inn And Suites
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in Rochester
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Got what we paid for, or less....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2008

We stayed here for a wedding at the Diplomat, and it was definitely convenient only having to cross the parking lot to go to the reception. The hotel itself was somewhat grungy, not something we'd have chosen if it had been our decision (the wedding party/family had a block of rooms reserved). The carpets were really gross, we ended up in a stinky smoking room b/c there were 4 of us and we couldn't fit into a one-king bed room. The location is convenient for shopping as well, but the hotel itself is directly behind a gas/convenience store that's open 24 hours, and really was a little on the scary side. The price was cheap, in keeping with the accomodations.

  • Liked — The proximity to the event we were attending
  • Disliked — The dinginess and physical location
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Sarahim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    55
    38
    25
    27
See reviews for
83
47
16
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2008

I chose the La Quinta because of the value; $85 in July is hard to beat, especially considering the price of most downtown Rochester hotels seems to be around $200 a night. The La Quinta isn't right downtown, a bit west of the Loop, but takes just a short drive on the I-490 to get to all the attractions.

The building and lobby definitely have a motel feel, but the quality and size of the rooms is excellent, rivaling higher priced chains. I have stayed at La Quintas previously and have found them to be above average accomodations. This location has been recently remodeled and the rooms/furnishings are clean, the linings were great. This La Quinta is top-notch, resembling a Radisson, rather than a Super 8.

The complementary breakfast (breakfast burritos!) was great and the 72 television channels were fantastic (including YES, which for an out-of-town Yankees fan was a rare treat; they have SNY for the Mets fans, too).

  • Liked — The size and cleanliness of the room
  • Disliked — The lack of a pool
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ThriftGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2008

We stayed at a La Quinta on our way to Maine and loved it so much, we booked a room on our way home also. Again, very pet friendly, extremely clean, terrific little breakfast (free), and good rate! This one had recently been remodeled and it was awesome. The beds were soooooo comfy..sheets and pillowcases very soft. The carpet was so squishy I could feel it through my Crocs! It was so nice to be in a new, clean room with our dog, too. No "pet smell" or feel to the room which we appreciated more than you know!!! The staff was awesome! The guy on duty the night of July 5, 2008 (sorry forgot your name) was terrific. He recommended we eat at the Dinosaur BBQ and said he would mapquest it for us. The restaurant was awesome! Our only disappointment was they did not have a pool! (I assumed they did because the one in Massachusetts did that we stayed at 3 weeks earlier...needless to say, my son was so upset with me!) Other than that we again were so pleased with La Quinta. We will always look for a La Quinta whenever we travel. Love this hotel!!!!

  • Liked — Cleanliness, pet friendly
  • Disliked — No pool!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank discodance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2008

Newly renovated hotel, a bit far from the downtown, but very quiet and easy to get to. Staff was helpful, included an upgrade on the room when asked. The best breakfast buffet of any chain, includes make your own waffles and a huge variety of hot and cold items. .Room was clean, new furniture and carpets, if a bit bare. No problems or complaints here. Will stay again. Priced more reasonably than staying downtown, and Rochester is not so big that a 5 minute drive matters.

  • Liked — The breakfast!!!
  • Disliked — A bit far away from downtown.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank scorpiju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
203 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2008

The La Quinta Inn on Lyell Ave in Rochester is now newly rennovated. The hotel is very clean, has all brand new furnishings and is conveniently located with an easy on/off ramp from 390. The complimentary breakfast was nice and the afternoon cookies hot out of the oven were a great treat.

  • Liked — Very clean, new furnishings
  • Disliked — Nothing-
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kym72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Framingham
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2007

I stayed here on my way to Niagra Falls.
Pros:
Reasonable price
The hotel is at a convinient location (near 390 and 490).
The rooms are reasonably sized and clean
Helpful staff at the counters

Cons:
The airconditioners in the rooms are pretty old and noisy.
The carpets in the corridors look ugly. It seems they have not been shampoed for a long time.
There were some drunk and noisy people at the entrance when we first entered (around 1 am). Although no one troubled us, it did not give a very good first image.

  • Liked — Convinient location
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Framingham_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2006

The Diplomat Hotel in Rochester is convenient if you are attending a function at the Diplomat Party House--the hotel is only a one-minute walk across the parking lot away. Outside of that, there isn't much going for the hotel. It's reasonably clean, and the staff was polite. But it's a dreary, lifeless hotel with no individual character. The rooms have no charm, and the bathrooms are small (as are the bath towels). The bed mattress was okay, but the pillows were thin and uncomfortable.

Ultimately, you get what you pay for. For around $100/night, if you need a place to sleep that is close to the Diplomat Party House, this is about your only option. It's definitely not the worst hotel in the world, but some small improvements would really make a big difference.

  • Liked — Location to Diplomat party house
  • Disliked — No charm--no character. Bland and lifeless
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bullduggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#25 of 31 in Rochester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
6.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rochester Marketplace Inn
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Rochester-Greece
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Inn On Broadway
Inn On Broadway
#22 of 31 in Rochester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
5.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester Airport - University Area
3.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Rochester University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radiance Inn And Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radiance Inn And Suites

Property: Radiance Inn And Suites
Address: 1956 Lyell Ave, Rochester, NY 14606-2319 (Formerly La Quinta Inn Rochester North)
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Radiance Inn And Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Radiance Inn And Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Rochester Hotel Rochester
La Quinta Rochester
Rochester La Quinta
La Quinta Hotel Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing