We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The surf and turf was fabulous”
Review of Max Chophouse

Max Chophouse
Ranked #215 of 1,294 Restaurants in Rochester
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Rochester, New York, United States
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The surf and turf was fabulous”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The lobster was the best I've had in a restaurant. The steak was very tender and probably the best I've had in Rochester. The only downside is that it is pricey but if you're looking to get a good meal to treat yourself or someone else it is definitely worth it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    11
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“This is a very nice place”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

While this restaurant may not be located in the best location (a bit of a strip mallesque) but very good food.

This was a business meeting dinner. I was quite impressed with the waitress, Katherin, who knew the extensive specials list without having to look at a list (I loved that!).

We were there on a Thursday night and the place was absolutely packed! Might've been because of the PGA but it was good and it was worth it.

There was 6 people in my party and with cocktails & drinks during dinner, appetizers, salad, the meal & dessert, the bill came to $93.50 per person (including the tip).

The good:
1. Katherin. She's a good waitress
2. The food was really good, fresh and served hot
3. The location. It's in an easy access and in a great location.

The bad:
1. A little pricey for the average Joe. Example: on the appetizer menu 3 shrimp for $15.00 is pricey!
2. The location leads people to think as they drive by it's not going to be very good (and that's not true). Earlier in the day the person who made reservations was apologizing for the location. The strip mall appearance takes away from how good this place really was.
3. They need to be better about clearing the table. I had to flag down Katherin or service people walking by on several occasions to clear our table. I feel this may be being picky but there were long periods of time before our table was attended to. As much as I really liked Katherin, this is the one may area of improvement needed. But, as I stated earlier, this place was packed and very busy, so perhaps that's why. Unfortunately, I won't be back to find out because I leave town soon.

Summary:
Great place, great location, easy to find, not overly pricey, good for business, tight quarters, good food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kcgirl70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“THE BEST STEAKHOUSE IN ROCHESTER!”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I've probably had dinner at Max's Chophouse at least a dozen times and it's always top notch! It's by far, the best steakhouse in Rochester and probably the best Surf & Turf you will ever have! It's worth every penny! Go here!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MJL0013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellant Choice”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We went for our anniverasary and food was excellant. It is in a little strip mall but everything was superb. We ordered a 48 OZ Ribeye to share and probably bouhgt nore than half of ihome. Great Wine selectiona as wellas appetizers.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank karaokecowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best steak in town”
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Right on Monroe Avenue in Brighton, Max is small but outstanding. Their steaks are as good as anything you can get in NYC. Its not cheap, but in my experience, it was worth every penny.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank 76eph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Max Chophouse also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Max Chophouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing