We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very convenient for the convention center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Rochester
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Rochester
GreenLeadersBronze level
South Africa
Level Contributor
312 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Very convenient for the convention center”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

If you need to stay in downtown Rochester, this is a good choice especially if your reason involves the convention center, which is a beautiful place in and of itself, right next to the Genesee River!

What we liked...
1. Convenience to the convention center, with a skywalk over a street so you don't have to go outside.
2. The hotel is built so that all rooms are close to the elevators, so there are no long hallways to walk down and pull suitcases.
3. The staff is very friendly and very helpful. We had a specific series of needs since my wife had broken her foot, and they met every one!
4. This hotel has a degree of "old world charm".
5. We liked the fact that there was a restaurant that served us even fairly late after the convention ended each night. We had the same waitress each night, Linh, who was superb! Food was outstanding!

What we didn't like....
1. As you might expect with a hotel like this, in the heart of a city, it's not cheap.
2. Nothing is complimentary. (Actually, that's not totally true since they did provide us with a wheelchair for my wife, since we were guests there).
3. The food, while very good, is very expensive.
4. Our room was not cleaned very well. The maid did not vacuum around the bed properly, and there were crumbs and other things on the floor next to the bed when we checked in.
5. Our room, at least, looked "tired" and in need of remodeling. The carpet was clean, but stained here and there. One of the lampshades had wear holes in it, etc.
6. The AC unit did not work very well. We tried to cool the room down, and even set it the hole way to the bottom, at 60 degrees. But still, it wouldn't cool the room to anywhere near that. Also, it turned on and off during the night, so it kept waking me up. There was no setting to keep it on "continuous fan".

All-in-all, though, a very nice place and a good experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PANeddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sang H, Manager at Hyatt Regency Rochester, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank you for the thorough feedback of your recent stay. We are happy that you enjoyed the most of your stay and thought we were conveniently located near the convention center. We apologize for any concerns you had throughout your stay and hope that this does not deter you from staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    280
    208
    107
    85
See reviews for
247
148
35
454
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Dear Mr. Thomas Carlos,

My stay at your hotel was not accommodating for the amount of money I paid, which was over $200.00 dollars a night. Your hotel did not have anything complimentary such as premium channels, parking, cocktails, breakfast, or the internet. For a high brand luxury hotel, your partner customers should leave feeling pampered rather than empty. I am not recommending any one to stay at the Hyatt.


Anthony Travis

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anthony854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sang H, Manager at Hyatt Regency Rochester, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We apologize for providing a sub par experience throughout your visit here. Please contact me in the hotel so we can discuss your concerns in further detail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coon Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We came to Rochester to attend a wedding and loved the location of the Downtown Hyatt Regency Rochester. Loved being close to Niagara Falls and made a trip there. We would recommend this hotel for any occasion.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank bettyknudsen_cruisep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sang H, Manager at Hyatt Regency Rochester, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank you very much for your great review of our hotel in TripAdvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your time here and Niagara Falls. We hope that we can host your visit again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Terrible staff! No eye contact at check-in, would only address my boyfriend who was not the one paying or made the reservation. No security at the front door, anyone and everyone could come in, especially at night. Loud wedding party put next door to us, they kept us up until 5 am. Screwed up our in-room breakfast order twice. Fights and drunks falling over at the bar.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank 793melissas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sang H, Manager at Hyatt Regency Rochester, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us a thorough feedback on your recent stay with us. We appreciate the comments and apologize that your stay was not a positive one. From the sounds of the review, it seems like that particular weekend was slightly busier with a specific type of clientele and although this does not excuse your poor experience, we hope that you can see it is not a typical weekend here. We apologize that it did not meet your standards and hope that you will reach out to me so that we can see if there is a better weekend to come and join us for a better time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lellie11
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My colleagues and I have been spending about ten room nights each quarter at this hotel on business since May 2012. At the time the hotel had many good qualities which have since deteriorated to the point that we will not return.

Good points:
The auto entrance is impressive and totally shielded from the Rochester winter weather. Check-in is swift. Elevator capacity is adequate for any time of day, including check-out. Valet parking car retrieval is swift. The bar and the shop selling necessities are both open late. Rooms are spacious, and the wifi is reliable and fast. The business center is adequate, and you can get a conference room with room service available for a couple hundred dollars if you need to convene a group.

The neighborhood has never been good, with no restaurants or retail of any quality nearby. The retail anchor is a Family Dollar store.

What changed.
The restaurant went from great to bad with no stop at mediocre. This is a problem with no good ones in the neighborhood. No alternatives in the neighborhood never mattered when The Scene on Main was awesome! Now it is a business killer. We had a party of six seated last night and the first thing we noticed was the menu. Once was imaginative and varied, now not appealing at all. A big dive down. Then, I had to get out of my seat twice - twice - to ask for service, and we got none so we left. Hostess and wait staff indifferent, no sense of urgency, no effort to save what could have been a $600 tab and $120 tip. And this was 7 pm, not closing time.

The rooms are shabby. Poorly lit, especially the large room in junior suite 408 with only three weak lamps to cover many square feet. The closet in 402 has no light. The wallpaper in 408 was peeling.

Little things: All of our dead room service breakfast items were still in the junior suite when we returned at 9 pm. We had to call to get them removed. The two water bottles that were in my room upon check-in were consumed by me, but not replaced by housekeeping. This may be policy, but it is not expectation.

This hotel was recently great, but seems to be declining along with the loss of the native businesses which once made this city thrive - Kodak, and Bausch and Lomb for instance.

I have heard of a hotel called Strathallen in the vicinity which will get a try-out from us next time around. It is much farther away from our client, and will require us to rent cars rather than walk, but we'll spend the extra money to find a decent business hotel in Rochester. Too bad, because the Hyatt Regency Rochester was, not at all long ago, just that.

Room Tip: Anything ending in 02, end of hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soverholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garland, Texas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I was quite surprised at this hotel being in the middle of the city and priced as it was in late February. Very nice amenities, open areas and lounge. Though the lounge did get quite packed one night with a large group of sports teams arriving, the hotel never felt crowded nor was there any excessive noise. Rooms were very comfortable and well sound insulated. Lobby was spacious and well appointed. The Spiced Apple Cider in the mid-mornings was a nice treat.

Room Tip: Being in the middle of the city, it's always good to get the view on the River Side which has mo...
See more room tips
Green Features: Nothing special that I recall. Believe they did have recycle cans in each room.
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catman3404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sang H, Manager at Hyatt Regency Rochester, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review on TripAdvisor. We are happy you enjoyed our central location, lounge, and Apple cider. We hope you come by next February.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Want a quiet stay with quality service? Then this is the place to stay. It also has a quality restaurant with excellent service.. The location is central with easy access to the convention center and other restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sang H, Manager at Hyatt Regency Rochester, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank you very much for the 5 star review of our downtown Rochester property. We appreciate your raving review and hope that you will come visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Rochester Riverside
1.0 mi away
The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The East Avenue Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
Inn On Broadway
Inn On Broadway
#21 of 31 in Rochester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester/University & Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Rochester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Rochester

Property: Hyatt Regency Rochester
Address: 125 E Main St, Rochester, NY 14604-1605
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Rochester
#8 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Rochester 3.5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the perfect blend of location, style and authentic hospitality at our downtown Rochester hotel. Unwind at our Scene on Main Restaurant and Lounge or relax by our heated indoor pool after your workout in our 24 hour fitness center. Whether you are in town for business, vacation, a wedding or special getaway, you will find that the Hyatt Regency Rochester is the ideal choice. Our urban and contemporary Rochester New York hotel offers over 20,000 square feet of function space which provides an ideal setting for weddings, corporate and social events and galas. We are connected to the Rochester Convention Center by a sky bridge and only a short walk to shopping, dining and nightlife of the East Avenue and Park Avenue hot spots. We are situated just minutes from the airport, and we offer a complimentary shuttle throughout the day. Whether you are planning a meeting, wedding, family reunion or a romantic getaway, Hyatt Regency Rochester is the premier accommodation you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Rochester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Rochester Hotel Rochester
Rochester Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing