We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester-Pittsford/Brighton, NY
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Syracuse, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A fine experience”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I recognize that the hotel is in the middle of a renovation, so I will give them the benefit of the doubt on that.

The good:
- Lighting in the hallway was nice and white. I shudder at hotels with yellow hallway lighting.
- Solid breakfast choices, with protein. The standard fare for HIE.
- Relatively quiet... not too much noise from outside.
- Clean, reasonably well maintained. Obviously they are doing a facelift too.
- A/C worked well.
- WiFi worked fine, without hassle.

The ok:
- Some caulking in the bathroom was beginning to show its age with yellowing. I've seen worse, and keeping white things white is a challenge for sure. That said, the bathroom was in pretty good condition.
- The size of the bathroom was very small.
- Room door let quite a bit of hallway noise into the room at night as later guests arrived.
- Towels/hand towels were a little less fluffy than I typically encounter at HIE locations. They were not threadbare.

The "bad"
- Room cleaning had blatant disregard for "save the earth" campaign advertised. Hung towels were replaced with fresh towels (I was hoping to reuse at least once). Not a huge deal.
- Room was completely missing the "quiet please" tags to hang outside the room. Would have been nice to hang outside room to prevent room cleaning altogether. Also not a huge deal, I am sure I could have asked for one.
- Door to the room required quite a tug from the outside (or letting it slam) in order to make sure it was latched closed.

Overall, If I were back in town, I would consider a stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIEMonroe, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester-Pittsford/Brighton, NY, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Josh S,

Thank you for taking your time to give us a well throughout review. I appreciate you letting us know your thoughts so we can work on increasing our level of expectations while going through the renovations/remodeling. I do hope if you’re in Rochester again you will choose to stay with us.

Brian Ugorek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    95
    57
    18
    11
See reviews for
146
46
22
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

These guys could learn a lot from the Marriott Courtyard, much better amenities and not a lot of cost, plus a potential to make a few extra bucks. Not a great location and adding a few guest services to the equation would be helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIEMonroe, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester-Pittsford/Brighton, NY, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dave M,

I am sorry that we are not a Marriott Courtyard, we are a Holiday Inn Express and reasonable accommodations at reasonable prices are what we strive to do. We don't like having "add on's" that you are billed for. One price and everything is included. Thanks for choosing to stay with us.

Brian Ugorek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Nice staff , good location between RIT and U of Rochester. Nice Pizza restaurant next to the hotel. But they are doing the update in the lobby and outside have construction , so not good for this time . Bed is too soft and rest is like normal express.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tommyyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIEMonroe, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester-Pittsford/Brighton, NY, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Tommyyam,

Thank you for your review of your stay with us. We are in the middle of a renovation and are trying to keep it to a minimum for guest view. Something’s are not so easily hidden. I hope you will choose us again on your next trip to Rochester.

Brian Ugorek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The Holiday Inn Express on Monroe Ave is a little less than what you would expect from a typical HIE. The hotel itself is a little bit older, so renovations are currently in progress which is great. I'm sure that these will bring the hotel back up to the modern, crisp, clean design that these hotels typically have.

PROS:
Very clean and quiet.

CONS:
2 buildings, very little parking, no elevator in 2nd building (not good if you have large/bulky bags, an injury, or disability. Though I'm sure in this event they'd put you in a 1st floor room).

Overall, I would probably stay here again, but was not blown away.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIEMonroe, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester-Pittsford/Brighton, NY, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Kristin L,

Thank you for giving us a review of your stay. We are in the middle of renovations so hopefully your next visit to us you will see the updated look.

Brian Ugorek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albertson, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Spent one night in the Holiday Inn Express on Monroe Avenue in Rochester. Room was clean, and quiet. Had a refrigerator and microwave. Construction on Monroe Ave made access a little difficult, but that was not the fault of the hotel. Staff helpful upon check in as well as checkout with directions to our next stop. Good value and total functional for a brief stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIEMonroe, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester-Pittsford/Brighton, NY, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Sandra C,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review of your stay with us. I am sorry that the road construction was going on. We are hoping it will be over soon. I hope you will choose us again on your next stay with us in Rochester.

Brian Ugorek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewiston, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The Holiday inn and Suites in Rochester on Jefferson Road is a very nice place to stay.. We had breakfast included and it was delicious. Lisa was the lady who took care of our needs in the dining area and she was vivacious and friendly. It made breakfast that much more fun. We arrived and discovered that dinner was also included. We didn't partake of that but if it was as good as the breakfast it was worth it.
Ou room was spacious and clean. The bath also clean and well decorated as the room. We had a refrigerator and microwave and the fridge was on and ready for our cold food. It was easy to get in and out and fairly quiet, even when facing the street.

Room Tip: Pick a room at the back and not facing the street. The bed is comfy but with trucks traveling at ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2014Travelinghappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIEMonroe, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester-Pittsford/Brighton, NY, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
2014TravelingHappy,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review of your stay. I will pass along all of your good words to my staff.

Brian Ugorek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We recently spent two nights at this Holiday Inn Express while attending a funeral. The inn was undergoing a renovation and they were painting the hallway as we entered our room. The room was simple but clean. Unfortunately, there was no mirror in the bedroom area. The only mirror was the one in the bathroom placed upon the wall behind the sink and toilet. This was awkward. There was room in the foyer area outside the bathroom before the bedroom for a full view mirror. There was no stand alone mirror available. Also, a few pictures on the wall would have made the room more warm and comfy looking. The breakfast was good and the people at the front desk were very helpful. There was no elevator in our building. Hopefully, when they change over to Country Inn an Suites, they will put a mirror in each room (other than the bathroom!)

Room Tip: Ask for room in area already renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dannyis52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHIEMonroe, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester-Pittsford/Brighton, NY, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
dannyis52,

Thank you for giving us a review of our property. We are currently undergoing renovations and we will have Mirrors and Pictures in the rooms. The old ones have been removed to paint the wall and the new ones are shipped on our way to us currently. Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your loss of your loved one. I hope when you come back to us is will be for a better reason and you can see more of the change over happening.

Brian Ugorek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
3.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester Airport - University Area
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Rochester - University Area
9.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Rochester-Greece
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Homewood Suites Rochester/Greece
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester/University & Medical Center
4.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Rochester Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester-Pittsford/Brighton, NY? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester-Pittsford/Brighton, NY

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester-Pittsford/Brighton, NY
Address: 2835 Monroe Ave, Rochester, NY 14618 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Rochester)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester-Pittsford/Brighton, NY 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester - Pittsford/Brighton, where guests are treated to comfortable rooms, thoughtful services, and a friendly atmosphere. Situated in the Brighton/Pittsford area is near major interstates 590, 490, and 390 plus the NYS Thruway I-90. The hotel's location in Rochester, New York is also convenient to the Greater Rochester International Airport (ROC) and lies within walking distance of fantastic shopping and dining at Pittsford Plaza and the flagship Wegmans Supermarket. During your stay, enjoy free high-speed wifi internet access, fitness center, a 24-hour business center and the complimentary, hot breakfast buffet. You can also easily visit the University of Rochester, the Rochester Institute of Technology, Nazareth College, and Seabreeze Amusement Park, all of which are a short drive from the Country Inn & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester-Pittsford/Brighton, NY reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Rochester Hotel Rochester
Holiday Inn Rochester
Rochester Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing