We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed 13 December 2012

I spent a night at the Strathallan earlier this week; it was my first time there. It has been completely renovated and feels like a new hotel except for a few minor finish touches. The desk service was quick and friendly. I had a suite, with a big bathroom, an outer living room with a couch and big flatscreen and a sink/fridge/microwave/coffee maker, and a big bedroom with a big closet. Each room had its own thermostat, and the outer room also had a balcony with chairs, which I didn't use because it was 40 degrees and raining. The price was about half what you would pay for a regular (tiny) room in NYC or SF; great value. The linens were top quality, but the bed was a little soft for my taste. The staff was very nice; they even made the shuttle driver available for me. The neighborhood is full of old mansions that are now occupied by non-profit organizations like the Boy Scouts. Two blocks away is a section with a number of restaurants, taverns, etc. I'll be staying there if/when I go back to Rochester.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, 14 December 2012
Thank You very much. We are all very proud and look forward to serving the community for years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    666
    172
    46
    19
    18
See reviews for
255
222
29
318
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Ignore everything else you've read. This place is great. Newly renovated, they spared no expense. I can't believe this place exists in Rochester! The rooms are spacious (ask for a suite with kitchenette), and the bathrooms are huge! The staff go above and beyond and all seem really happy. They also have a great bar and restaurant! 2 big thumbs up.

Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank John Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
Thank You,
We are all very excited about the new hotel and look forward to a bright future serving our guest at the Strathallan, a DoubleTree by Hilton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 November 2012

I've stayed at The Strathallan many times in years past and was amazed at the transformation. I enjoyed a fabulous meal at the new Char restaurant followed by a cozy overnight stay. The beds are sooooo comfy and the view from my balcony was awesome. The service all the way around was outstanding. I'm looking forward to my next staycation very soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debrarose17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
Thank you for your response. We are happy to continue to offer exceptional service and the staff at the Strathallan a DoubleTree by Hilton share your excitement about our beautiful new hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
Reviewed 20 November 2012

The Strathallan is a completely new hotel. The new design provides a modern, fun, NYC-like atmosphere. There are very few hotels outside of NYC, Vegas, etc. that provide you with nightlife when you get off of the elevator. Usually, you want to venture out to get drinks and you would never even consider starting your night at the hotel bar. However, we had drinks at the Strathallan's restaurant/bar, "Char," both nights. We had a great time both nights. The drinks were good, servers were great, the atmosphere was fun, and the design makes the area feel separate from the hotel. The restaurant and bar also have outside spaces with multiple fire-pits. The restaurant and bar were packed both nights with locals and people staying at the hotel. It was a fun atmosphere and a great time. The restaurant is also open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

I also really liked the design of our rooms. The room was big and really comfortable. It felt like our own apartment for the weekend. Our hotel room had a living room with a couch and flat screen TV. It also had a brand new, modern kitchen. The bedroom had a king size bed with another flat screen TV. The bed was extremely comfortable and I got a great night sleep both nights. The showers and bathrooms were also modern and new. The hotel staff was also very friendly and helpful.

The location of the hotel was perfect for running and walking around. It is within walking distance from the night-life and vibrance of downtown, but also within walking distance of the historic mansions and park ave. The hotel also has a brand new gym and pool. Overall, we had a great stay in Rochester because of the Strathallan!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregg F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
All of us at the Strathallan, a DoubleTree by Hilton agree with your comments and look forward to continue to "Wow' our guest and our community.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester/University & Medical Center
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Rochester
Hyatt Regency Rochester
#23 of 29 in Rochester
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Rochester Riverside
0.2 mi away
The East Avenue Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
Inn On Broadway
Inn On Broadway
#19 of 29 in Rochester
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton

Property: The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Address: 550 East Ave, Rochester, NY 14607-2034
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rochester
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#1 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Introducing downtown Rochester’s premier boutique hotel. Perfectly placed at the crossroads of our cultural and business districts, the Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton combines unique access to local highlights with an exceptional level of personal service — all in a setting that brings a history of luxury into vibrant, contemporary focus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathallan Hotel Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing