We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must stay in Rochester”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, United States
1 review
“A must stay in Rochester”
Reviewed 21 April 2013

When I walked into the lobby I knew this wasn't your typical Doubltree hotel- from the hotel staff, to the lounge and restaurant...I may have had the best steak I've ever had at their in house Steakhouse... The lounge was a buzz after dinner- this place was definitely the place to be on a Wednesday night in Rochester My room was amazing- the decor , furniture, roominess and the King bed was extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Thank you for staying with us. Char does make some excellent steaks! Glad you enjoyed your time here and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    666
    172
    46
    19
    18
See reviews for
255
222
29
318
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We recently stayed for two nights with our young sons (age 3 and 5). I booked the hotel based on reviews so I was really hoping that this hotel lived up to the reviews. From the outside the hotel doesn't look like anything special, but it is in a lovely neighborhood and the inside has clearly undergone major renovations. Check-in was a breeze, and the warm chocolate chip cookie was a lovely touch (my young boys particularly enjoyed them). We were on the 5th floor, in a 2 room King suite. It was huge and suited our needs perfectly. I loved that when we got to the room the pull out bed had already been made up for the kids - most hotels leave it up to you to sort out. The room was very quite, with the exception of the some late night noise on the street out front of the hotel (I suppose the windows could be improved) and we just put our do not disturb sign out on our door so as not to be disturbed by the cleaning staff. We were in Rochester to visit the Museum of Play and made use of the hotels free shuttle (a lovely SUV) that took us to the Museum and back and we also used this service to go out for dinner one night. Valet parking included was so nice, no need to worry about where to park the car, can't understand why anyone wouldn't take advantage of this service. Every staff member we came in contact with at the hotel was lovely, from the front desk clerk, to the shuttle drivers, to the restaurant staff, to the valet parking staff. We really had a wonderful time and I can guarantee the next time we return to Rochester we will be staying here again (and not at either of the other two hotels we have tried in Rochester).

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMcRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Thank you for the great review. We love hearing about when families come and enjoy our hotel and the surrounding area. We are very proud of our staff, they are the best, and we look forward to making your next stay just as enjoyable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

This hotel is all new inside yes. For some reason the staff seems ill trained. I was awoken at 06:15 by room service (the first morning) that I never ordered and had to insist that I didn't before she went away. Needless to say when I did order room service it took 50 mins, and only after calling did they acknowledge they had written down wrong room. Granted they comp'd the order but sheesh. On day of checkout I was awoken to "housekeeping." Now why would house keeping come on the day I was leaving when they didn't even come the day prior?
The hotel has decent parking but on Friday/Saturday evening it's abysmal. The restaurant/bar must be very popular as there was quite a crowd that produces a lot of noise outside. This is obviously a very lucrative business for this establishment. Complimentary valet is offered though.
As I mentioned this hotel was recently renovated but if you desire a quite nights sleep this is not the hotel for you. Poorly insulated walls, old windows and I guess lack of forethought makes the rooms comfortable but not quiet at all. Nice and shiny and new but poor coordination on behalf of the staff.
Rear entrance/exit was nice access to self parking.

Room Tip: No advice as to which location is best. I was on eight floor but was on the side opposite of the por...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Thank you for your review and for staying at The Strathallan a DoubltTree by Hilton. Feedback is very important to us. We appreiate your comments as we strive to meet and exceed our guests' expectaions and hope you visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Felt luxurious without being pricey, a lot of attention to detail. It seemed like high standards are the norm here. Furnishings are solid, not cheap; towels are heavy and good quality; sheets are soft cotton. Loved it!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2013

First time with Doubletree and we are all very impressed. Staffs are professional and friendly , hotel is nice and clean. Other than the front door of the hotel is not so impressive and the hotel sign is not so noticeable , all is good.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Nathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
We were glad to hear you were impressed and enjoyed your time at The Strathallan. Thank you for the great review and we hope you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed here this past weekend for a funeral, as did the rest of our party. The rooms are spacious and clean and the beg is huge and comfortable. The best part of the hotel is the staff though, which is great. We ordered breakfast room service with a card on the door at night, and when it never arrived we called to inquire and the staff rushed it right up at no charge. The parking situation on the weekend can be hairy, as the bar area is a local hot spot, but the hotel takes care of that with free valet. I was very pleased with the service and our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms right above the restaurant may be noisy on weekends as Char is a hotspot apparently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We agree that we have the best staff and are very proud to have such a great team. Char is a great night spot, and we hope you are able to visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I stayed at the Strathallan twice while on research trips to the George Eastman House Museum in Rochester. The rooms are excellent--nicely appointed, spacious and comfortable. I typically don't sleep well when away from home, but slept very well here. The gym, which I used every day, was excellent, and so was the reasonably-priced room service, which I ordered once for breakfast and once for dinner. Only a mile or so away from the GEH Museum and close to downtown, the Strathallan was wonderfully convenient. I will definitely stay there again when business takes me to Rochester.

Room Tip: The suites cost a little extra but are worth it. Ask for one of the renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
We were so pleased to hear that you were comfortable and slept well while you were here. Our gym is very state of the art and we're glad you got to enjoy it. Looking forward to seeing you on your next business trip to Rochester!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester/University & Medical Center
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Rochester
Hyatt Regency Rochester
#23 of 29 in Rochester
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Rochester Riverside
0.2 mi away
The East Avenue Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
Inn On Broadway
Inn On Broadway
#19 of 29 in Rochester
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton

Property: The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Address: 550 East Ave, Rochester, NY 14607-2034
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#1 Family Hotel in Rochester
#1 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Introducing downtown Rochester’s premier boutique hotel. Perfectly placed at the crossroads of our cultural and business districts, the Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton combines unique access to local highlights with an exceptional level of personal service — all in a setting that brings a history of luxury into vibrant, contemporary focus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathallan Hotel Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing