We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rochester Business Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, United States
1 review
“Rochester Business Trip”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Truly enjoyed my stay! Beautiful facility and I felt safe. The staff was friendly and helpful. The food was excellent - some of the best food I have every had. Just a couple of suggestions, would have loved to have a robe available, as well as an extra blanket in the room. Otherwise than that, no complaints. Can't wait for a return visit!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Tamra L P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you so much for choosing The Strathallan. We appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear you felt safe and comfortable with us. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    643
    165
    42
    19
    16
See reviews for
240
211
28
311
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Firstly, these have the best beds of any hotel I have ever stayed in. So comfortable that I wondered whether it was worth missing my six am flight just to spend two more hours in bed.

Staff were very helpful too and the suite we had was vast.

Downsides were it was noisy next to the lift shaft. Bigger downside was the restaurant - specifically the menu which did not have a single veggie dish. They even managed to sneak a meat sauce into the pasta. Really? Come on guys - a few options would have been good though staff were excellent.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a room next to the lift shaft as noise insulation there is none.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for choosing The Strathallan. We are so happy to hear your stay here was comfortable. We appreciate your feedback and yourtaking the time write a review. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Rochester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Requested early check in as we were part of a larger group (bridal party) staying at hotel, everyone else in party was allowed early check in, our room was not ready. VERY INCONVENIENT! Our room was a king suite, on a Hilton Honors floor, yet it was next to elevator service so we were bothered by wooshing noise all night. Excessive, loud boistrous intoxicated people in hallway between 3-4 AM, Although property is beautiful and the upgrades are very nice, need to replace all the sliding glass doors leading from the rooms to balconies. They squeek and grind, we heard this noise from above and below all night long

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank mdr67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you for staying at The Strathallan and for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate feedback from our guests as we stive to not only be meet but exceed their expectations. We hope you will visit us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, D.C., United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Location of hotel is wonderful with easy access to the city. Staff is very cordial and helpful. Rooms are well appointed. Beds are super comfortable with real pillows, not foam bricks. Lots of shops and restaurants and museums within walking distance. Parking is very accessible.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed The Strathallan and our wonderful neighborhood. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Rochester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I reluctantly stayed here because other colleagues in town for business wanted it. This hotel is in the middle of a quiet residential area, a bit of a drive from the airport but worth it. The fitness center is fantastic and offers many options, so that's a star in and of itself. The rooms are spacious and quiet, recently renovated and quite comfortable and aesthetically pleasing. The bar is great, can get a bit of a cheesy crowd late night but hey, it happens. The room service is quite tasty and quick. I'll be returning...only complaint was construction seemed to be going on outside and the firepit, while great, can make your room smell like, well, a campfire.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLintheSEH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for staying at The Strathallan. We are happy to hear that our hotel has grown on you, we appreciate you writing a review, and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottawa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Excellent staff. Nice, clean rooms. Great neighbourhood. Lots of restaurants within walking distance. Downtown is about a twenty minute walk away, as well. Very nice landscaping, outdoor patio w/ firepit, complimentary valet, craft beers on tap, warm cookies on arrival.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank cderaiche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are very proud of The Strathallan and our excellent staff, and are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Rochester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 26 October 2013

One of the finest hotels I've ever stayed at and the one I will use when I visit Rochester from now on. This hotel was recommended to me by a friend who stayed there previously and they were right. An excellent place to stay when in Rochester.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for staying with us on your friends recommendation. We appreciate your kind words and you taking the time to write a review. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Rochester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
0.2 mi away
The East Avenue Inn & Suites
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester/University & Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Rochester Riverside
0.5 mi away
Inn On Broadway
Inn On Broadway
#21 of 31 in Rochester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Rochester
Hyatt Regency Rochester
#22 of 31 in Rochester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton

Property: The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Address: 550 East Ave, Rochester, NY 14607-2034
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#1 Family Hotel in Rochester
#1 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Introducing downtown Rochester’s premier boutique hotel. Perfectly placed at the crossroads of our cultural and business districts, the Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton combines unique access to local highlights with an exceptional level of personal service — all in a setting that brings a history of luxury into vibrant, contemporary focus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathallan Hotel Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing