We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights with our 2 kids. We had a bunch of guys in the room above us screaming their heads off the first night. We began calling the front desk at 10pm and at 12:30am security went up to the room. it was not a fun night - no sleep!

We got little to no response from the front desk the next morning when we asked that the people in that room be moved.

Also, we never had enough towels. Even though they knew we were arriving with 4 people in the room, we had to ask for additional towels and linens for the pull out sofa bed.

The hotel is very nice to looks at, but there were serious noise issues the nights we were there. Our room faced the parking lot and it sounded like the people yelling to each other leaving the bar were standing in our room.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank springygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Thank you for choosing The Strathallan and giving us your feedback. We have a zero tolerance policy here and as soon as security is notified, anyone causing a problem is asked to leave. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (969)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

802 - 808 of 969 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

You will not be disappointed. The accommodations are cheerful, attractive and clean. The staff set this apart. Every effort is made to meet your needs. Everything is attended to, from the floors in the snowy weather to the shuttle service around town and to the airport. Treat yourself! These people know what they're doing.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Timothy & Blain... K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you for choosing The Strathallan and for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We truly appreciate it and are so proud of our excellent staff who really to go above and beyond to make sure our guests' needs are attended to. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Rochester.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights for a downtown rochester wedding weekend. Hotel is just blocks from where East Ave fest is held which means great bar locale.

About hotel - its gorgeous. Very nice inside, happening bar, great amentities. If your a Hilton Member you get a killer room with kitchenette (nothing in it though). Full fridge, 2 flatscreens, balcony.

Hotel is great location to bars great food and even local convienences (Wegmans down the street). Its a great location near lot of nice, big historical rochester buildings and homes.

Went to college outside of rochester for 4 years ans never knew downtown roch could offer so much.

Its def pricey (can be) but like i said it was for a wedding and most people use hilton points

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank mgag1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you for staying at The Strathallan and for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the wedding weekend you spent with us. Rochester is a great city and we are fortunate to be located in such a great area of the city. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

everything was nice except for the fact that you have to be at least silver or gold honors member to get bottled water in your room. other than that its a very nice hotel. I would recommend this room to anyone staying in the rochester Ny area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Lesley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you for choosing The Strathallan. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Family members from around the US and overseas could not imagine a more special and enjoyable place to have our holiday gathering. The rooms, service, amenities and food were superior. A truly exceptional value and a very special time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you for staying with us. We are so pleased to hear you and your family enjoyed your holiday gathering at The Strathallan. Happy New Year and we hope to see you all again on your next visit to Rochester.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This is the only hotel in Rochester that could get my family to the airport on time for a 7:20 AM weekend flight so we stayed here. It is in a very nice area of Rochester, nice pool and liked the food. Diamond members and guests (kids) got to have a nice breakfast (but the hotel should have an executive lounge for PM snacks) and if I need to leave out of Rochester again I may chose this hotel--even if a bit $$$y. Yes, this hotel isn't close to the airport, but they shuttle one for free. One suite slept the 6 of us (4 kids, 2 adults) just fine. Only gripe is I would have preferred the top floor and they gave me the 6th floor.

The hotel gets the extra star for me, however, due to the staff helping me when our flight was cancelled. I had to fly out of Buffalo (or go to my destination on Christmas Day--not much point) and the hotel got my family and I a van cab for a decent rate. The hotel then was there quickly for the return trip.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hamptondragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Thank you for choosing The Strathallan, and for that extra star! We appreciate you taking the time to write such a favorable review. We are very proud of our staff and are happy to hear they were able to help your family during such a busy time. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Rochester.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This property has always been on top of my list for years and still maintains its importance. Located in a residential section of the city, the food, service and location bring it above any commercial property in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robfweir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Thank you for continuing to choose The Stathallan. We are thrilled to be at the top of your list and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
195.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Rochester
Hyatt Regency Rochester
#23 of 29 in Rochester
1,154 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester/University & Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The East Avenue Inn & Suites
1.1 mi away
Rochester Riverside Hotel
Rochester Riverside Hotel
#29 of 29 in Rochester
20 reviews
3.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester-Pittsford/Brighton, NY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton

Address: 550 East Ave, Rochester, NY 14607-2034
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Rochester
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#1 Family Hotel in Rochester
Price Range: £132 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Introducing downtown Rochester’s premier boutique hotel. Perfectly placed at the crossroads of our cultural and business districts, the Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton combines unique access to local highlights with an exceptional level of personal service — all in a setting that brings a history of luxury into vibrant, contemporary focus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathallan Hotel Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing