We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We were there recently for a hockey tournament last week and the staff couldnt do enough for you! Great breakfast! Friendly staff especially Katie and Dan! Clean hotel, beds were comfortable. Thank you Doubletree at Rochester you were amazing! Parents were super pleased! thank you!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianne n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Thank you for choosing The Strathallan and for taking the time to write such a great review. We are so happy to hear you and your parents were pleased and found us to be the best hotel. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Rochester.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (998)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

824 - 830 of 998 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

Everything was terrific! Hotel updates are beautiful; felt very upscale. Staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms were spacious, well appointed, and very clean. Bar and restaurant were "cozy-chic!" Nice selection of wine, beer, and cocktails.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Lynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank you for choosing The Strathallan and for taking the time to write a review. We love hearing when are guests find everything about us to be terrific, and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

This is a very nice property on East avenue in Rochester NY. The neighborhood is wonderful and the property is recently renovated. The warm cookie at check in is a nice touch, the room was spacious and immaculate. I booked a Single King and there was a microwave and mini-fridge, and a nice 2 cup coffee brewer, which was reasonable in taste. Usually those in room makers are questionable. Nice job there. The only thing I'd mention is that on Christmas day the housekeepers knocked at 8:30am. In their defense, I hadn't hung up a Do Not Disturb sign, but I wasn't due out tip noon. She knocked twice more, at 10 and 11. I should've gotten up to hang the sign after her first knock. This was a minor annoyance, and overall I enjoyed this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thank you for choosing the Strathallan and for spending Christmas Eve with us. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This recently renovated building feels like a new structure. From the contemporary restaurant and bar, to the guest rooms, pool and exercise facility, the Strathallan Double Tree has the feel of newness. The staff are cordial and seem willing in any way. During a recent snow storm, staff were plowing and shoveling 24/7. The buffet breakfast is 2nd to none, including of fresh fruit. This hotel is located in a very safe residential neighborhood and ideal for walking, biking of jogging. I strongly recommend a stay at the Strathallan Double Tree.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Michael R N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thank you for choosing The Strathallan and for taking the time to write a review and recommending us. We truly appreciate it and are pleased to hear you enjoyed our recent renovations and felt safe here. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Rochester.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We live in Rochester and I was looking for a local hotel for an overnight getaway for our family of four.During the on-line reservation I mentioned that we were celebrating our daughters 13th birthday and I requested a room with a view within our room category. At check-in, the clerk wished our daughter a Happy Birthday which really surprised her and our suite was on the side of the hotel with a view of the city skyline. The room decor and furnishings were very nice and the room was comfortable and clean. The hotel itself is a nice facility and in a great part of the city. I would stay here again and highly recommend it to out of town guests.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Patrick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thank you for choosing The Strathallan for your family celebration. and for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear your daughter enjoyed her birthday here. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Had a very positive experience at this local hotel. Dinner was wonderful and the fire works from the rooftop bar were spectacular. We had a very spacious suite. Warm cookie was a nice touch. We will definitely consider this hotel for our next New Year's celebration.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Dominic C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thank you so much for choosing to spend your New Year's Eve with us at the Strathallan and Char, and for taking the time to share your experience in a review. We truly appreciate it and look forward to seeing you again on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Very comfortable room, outstanding staff and amenities. We came to the area for the first time and were welcomed, given helpful directions, etc.. We had a great sleep and were on our way, fed, in a timely manner

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Tony Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you for choosing The Strathallan. We are so pleased to hear you and your family enjoyed your brief stay with us. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Rochester.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Rochester
Hyatt Regency Rochester
#21 of 29 in Rochester
1,183 reviews
0.2 mi away
The East Avenue Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester/University & Medical Center
0.5 mi away
Inn On Broadway
Inn On Broadway
#18 of 29 in Rochester
152 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton

Address: 550 East Ave, Rochester, NY 14607-2034
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#1 Family Hotel in Rochester
#1 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range: £137 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Introducing downtown Rochester’s premier boutique hotel. Perfectly placed at the crossroads of our cultural and business districts, the Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton combines unique access to local highlights with an exceptional level of personal service — all in a setting that brings a history of luxury into vibrant, contemporary focus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels Direct, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathallan Hotel Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing