We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Wayne, United States
1 review
“Hockey Tourment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

I stay at the hotel was awesome. One of the nicest one we have stayed. And all the employees where very nice. Very clean and the service was excellent. They only issue I had was parking was sometimes difficult and the elevators weren't always working.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for choosing The Strathallan. We appreciate your feedback. We offer complimentary valet parking to all our guests, and look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    631
    164
    41
    19
    16
See reviews for
236
208
28
304
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

I stayed at the Strathallan for four nights on a combination business trip and visit with my son at UR. The room was spacious, comfortable and quiet. I had a drink at the bar and one dinner in the restaurant. The staff was friendly, I enjoyed the food and the service was very good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Pinkysguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for choosing The Strathallan. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here and dinner at Char. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Rochester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORCHARD PARK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

the hotel was very nice and I eventually had things made right but I had to go back twice to explain that I was up till 2 am due to noise from the next door room and hall way. the handicap room I stayed in could have used more electrical outlets to use the iron near where it is stored. hard to move iron and board when on crutches

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank crusher2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for choosing The Strathallan and for your feedback. You were fully compensated for any issues we had during your stay, and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

New Construction, Great Location, Big Rooms, HDTV, Comfortable beds, excellent staff.and priced very well ...

feels like a New York City Boutique Hotel...very contemporary, excellent fitness facilities and pool.

Fire pits outside of the excellent Char Steakhouse create a vibe thats kind of Southwest...The place to stay in Rochester Highly recommended!!!!

Room Tip: Ask if the have a suite available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for choosing The Strathallan and for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with and greatly appreciate you recommending us so highly. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

A very nice hotel in a great location (near science center and Art Gallery). Very nice neighborhood as well. Staff were very responsive. Excellent restaurant with steaks that rival the best high end Steak Houses. A great spot for both business or family travel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Douglas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for choosing The Strathallan and for taking the time to write a review. We are very fortunate in so many ways including being in such a wonderful location, having an amazing staff, and excellent restaurant, Char. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, CA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

I arrived late at night and was very tired. The front desk attendant couldn't have been more pleasant. Upon entering my room I surprised to discover that I had been upgraded to a suite which was very comfortable and generous in size. Bathroom was large, very clean and thoughtfully laid out. I needed a good night sleep and got it. The bed was very comfortable. Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Travelist925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for choosing The Strathallan. Hearing a guest got a good night's sleep is one of the best compliments we can get. We are happy you enjoyed your stay here and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Rochester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Beautiful, modern hotel in Downtown Rochester. Lovely views. We were met with fresh warm cookies--which the kiddos LOVED. Our type of room had been overbooked so we were given an upgrade. When we expressed that the upgrade would not work for us (we were a family of 5 needing the two queen beds and sofa bed instead of the upgrade to one King bed, we were promptly upgraded to the penthouse suite. Beautiful! The breakfast buffet had LOTs of options and variety--great for my husband and I who are gluten free, and the kids who are sometimes picky eaters. :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for choosing The Strathallan and for sharing your experience with us. We are so happy to hear that your family enjoyed your suite on the 9th floor and breakfast in Char. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
0.2 mi away
The East Avenue Inn & Suites
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester/University & Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Rochester Riverside
0.5 mi away
Inn On Broadway
Inn On Broadway
#21 of 31 in Rochester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Rochester
Hyatt Regency Rochester
#22 of 31 in Rochester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton

Property: The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Address: 550 East Ave, Rochester, NY 14607-2034
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rochester
#1 Business Hotel in Rochester
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Introducing downtown Rochester’s premier boutique hotel. Perfectly placed at the crossroads of our cultural and business districts, the Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton combines unique access to local highlights with an exceptional level of personal service — all in a setting that brings a history of luxury into vibrant, contemporary focus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathallan Hotel Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing