We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hilton Diamond Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Hilton Diamond Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Great stay. Hotel appears to be newly renovated. As a Hilton Diamond, upgraded to an end room, which was very nice. Breakfast was very good. Good location. Took good care of our kids (different room), too. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindyhop_Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for choosing The Strathallan and for being one of our valued HHonors Diamond members. We are pleased you and your family enjoyed your time here and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Rochester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    621
    159
    40
    19
    16
See reviews for
233
205
27
296
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

I love this hotel. The suites are huge and always incredibly clean. The staff are wonderful and there are fire pits to sit outside and have a drink during the summer along with a great steakhouse in the lobby. It is also located in one of the nicest and prettiest sections of Rochester within walking. Distance of other great restaurants and bars, although the shuttle will pick you up and take you anywhere you'd like to go at no charge.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelforest20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for choosing The Strathallan. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your suite and our amazing staff. We are very fortunate to be located in such a wonderful neighborhood and look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Rochester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

This was a re-do of an old hotel that I have stayed at a couple of times, for at least a week. It says it's a DoubleTree, but I will tell you, its far nicer than that. The rooms are nice, and very clean (housekeeping can sometimes be a little lax) and the restaurants and staff are great. From Chris at the bar to banquet staff and beyond - this a great place to come for business or pleasure. And I am picky...

Room Tip: avoid the 2nd floor, just because you can hear the restaurant and patio below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingFool67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for choosing The Strathallan and for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate all guest feedback and look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

I've stayed here 3 times this year while visiting my kid at U Roc. I really like this hotel. It's clean, the rooms are nice. The real highlight is the staff. They are welcoming, and very helpful without being intrusive. I have the sense they really want everything to be great, its not like they "just work here". The bar and restaurant have a great feel. I've used the fitness room every visit and its all that you need, lots of cardio equipment, and weights and big windows. The fire pits are cool. Room service is fast, food is great. Nice bar staff. The area around the hotel is interesting. We took a nice walk to a deli, for breakfast recommended by the concierge last visit.

If they would clean the windows in the guest rooms and go back to regular sized cups for the coffee in the lobby this place would be perfect.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for continuing to stay at The Strathallan while you are in town for U or R visits with your child. We truly could not be any more proud of the phenomenal staff we have here. They go above and beyond every day. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Hotel doesn't look like much from outside, but inside it's all typical Hilton. Stayed on 7th floor in two room double bed suite with kids under 10. We also took the breakfast included rate. Breakfast was excellent, eggs, oatmeal, sausage, bacon, cereal, excellent yogurts and fresh fruit etc... Lots of choices. Good size rooms, good beds, excellent staff, modern and up to date amenities. the room we had didn't have a bathtub but a large shower. On site restaurant had healthy food choices that were tasty and well prepared. Good sized parking lot on site with complementary valet parking. There was the odd train going by that you heard, but not loud enought to be an issue.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank 836jeffl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for choosing The Strathallan. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your time here and dining at Char. We do have several rooms with bathtubs if you'd like to check one of those out next time. We look forward to seeing you and your family again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

This hotel is a true gem within the Hilton Hotels and Resorts family and one we highly recommend everyone visit whether travelling for business or pleasure!
The hotel is in an area where you can hear the birds sing, the bells chime, can breathe in the fresh air and can take a pleasant walk around the neighbourhood.
From the moment we arrived and were greeted with a friendly hello and warm chocolate chip cookie to the time we checked out and were wished a safe trip home the staff at this hotel made us feel like favourite members of their family. Everyone from the valet and front desk to the housekeeping and restaurant/room service staff were friendly, took the time to answer every question we had, and ALWAYS had a kind word for us.
Special shout outs, hugs and sincere thanks to Helen, Jordan, Sarah and Rob (the fabulous front desk staff!) the valet staff who took care of our car and fetched, waited and carried us around (Sorry if we forgot anyone it wasn't on purpose. You're all brilliant!) They helped these newbies to the Rochester area find the best Chinese food EVER, get from point A to point B several times who looked after us and made sure we returned home relaxed, rejuvinated and with clean clothes!
We have to centre out one person in particular though who we thought showed the true heart of this hotel and all its staff. If you are lucky enough to meet this extra special man then you should count yourself extremely fortunate! Marky works in the housekeeping department and if you request extra towels or have forgotten one of those must haves it will likely be Marky that delivers them to your room. He is a genuine sweetheart with a huge smile on his face and has a very friendly personality. He takes pride in his job and it shows! You're a true star Marky!!!
As for the hotel itself... it is impeccably clean no matter what room or area you're in. The grounds are well kept and we're looking forward to seeing the transformation as summer comes and everything comes to life.
The rooms are extremely spacious and come with a microwave and refrigerator alongside the standard coffee maker hotels provide. The bed was so comfortable that we were asleep almost instantly and thank heavens they offered a variety of channels on the tv instead of just the usual sports and news ones a lot of hotels stick you with. We loved that the desk had another table on wheels underneath it so we could pull it out and move it wherever we needed it and that every chair had an ottoman so we didn't have to draw straws to see who got to use it. We were very grateful and so pleased that our room was exactly as we'd asked it to be... feather and other allergy triggering items free so our trip wasn't ruined by sneezing and wheezing
The breakfast was delicious and definitely started our day off right! Eggs, bacon, potatoes, yogurt, croissants, fresh fruit (we mean fresh not frozen and thawed or out of a tin) including whole grapefruits, oranges, apples, bananas, berries and pineapple!) and so much more! We teased the staff saying we hoped to see a well done English breakfast sausage appear one day but if we don't we'll still be happily stuffed and extremely satisfied with everything else.
Working within the hospitality industry we've stayed in many hotels. We appreciate what it takes to run a hotel and know the effort and commitment it takes from each staff member in every department to maintain the hotel's high standards. This hotel is a shining example of what can be achieved when employers and employees work together to give every guest the best experience possible.
We can't wait to go back and have already have booked future stays with them! See you in June!

Room Tip: If you have any preferences, health issues or special requests make sure you inform the hotel in you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brit_Can_Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for choosing The Strathallan and for taking the time to write such a kind and detailed review. We are fortunate here in so many ways, from our excellent staff including Helen, Jordan, Sarah, Rob, and Marky. to our beautiful location and building, to our amazing restaurant, Char. We are so pleased that you were able to experience and enjoy all of it. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

The Strathallan Hotel has always been well regarded in the Rochester, NY area, but especially now since it has been beautifully renovated as a Double Tree-by-Hilton. The food is a bit pricey but well worth it. We both had excellent Fish entrees even though "CHAR" Restaurant is well known for its Beef. Breakfast was good also... Eggs Benedict, etc. Be sure to visit The Eastman House Museum and Gardens, a short walk. Take a stroll along The Erie Canal in Pittsford or Fairport. Take a cruise through one of its Locks.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Ron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for choosing The Strathallan and for taking the time to write a review. It's always great to hear such positive feedback from our Rochester neighbors. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester/University & Medical Center
0.2 mi away
The East Avenue Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Rochester
Hyatt Regency Rochester
#17 of 31 in Rochester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inn On Broadway
Inn On Broadway
#21 of 31 in Rochester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
1.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel Rochester Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton

Property: The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Address: 550 East Ave, Rochester, NY 14607-2034
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rochester
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#1 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Introducing downtown Rochester’s premier boutique hotel. Perfectly placed at the crossroads of our cultural and business districts, the Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton combines unique access to local highlights with an exceptional level of personal service — all in a setting that brings a history of luxury into vibrant, contemporary focus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathallan Hotel Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing