We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Strathallan is top notch!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We recently made a trip through Rochester on our way to a concert and some shopping. We looked up hotels on TripAdvisor and were impressed with the reviews of the Strathallan (DoubleTree by Hilton). Upon arrival we were amazed at the location (on a quiet street in a suburban like setting) but in the middle of a vibrant, artsy, hip neighborhood. Fabulous Bars and Restaurants were literally just steps away. The staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful and the outdoor patio (complete with fireplace and TV!) was the ideal spot for a pre-dinner drink and enjoying the beautiful summer evening. We will stay at the Strathallan again and look forward to it!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Shirli77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for choosing the Strathallan and for taking the time to write a review sharing your experience. We are so pleased to hear you were impressed by the excellent reviews we have gotten on Trip Advisor and that we met your expectations. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Rochester.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (994)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

669 - 675 of 994 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

This hotel has some of the most beautiful renovations I've ever seen. I frequently visit the Rochester area and I wouldn't stay anywhere but here! Wonderful customer service at the front desk, easy to find, close to the downtown, and many other fun things to do near by! The sales staff has sold my husband on making this hotel the only place he and his coworkers will stay in Rochester while on business trips. The restaurant within the hotel has great food too!

Room Tip: A room with a view of downtown, beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for choosing The Strathallan. We are so pleased to hear there is no place else you'd rather stay and that your husband and his coworkers will be staying with us as well. We are extremely proud of our entire staff here, and our sales team is exceptionally amazing. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Rochester.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I had a pleasant stay at this Hilton Double Tree - lobby was clean and fresh, bar was still open at 11:30 Sunday night upon my arrival (for a nice glass of wine), my room was pristine. Each staff member I encountered along the way was courteous and professional.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for choosing The Strathallan and for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff to be courteous and professional. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My husband and I needed to stop for the night on a road trip, and we decided to go into town and see Rochester instead of staying at a boring chain hotel on the interstate. I'm very glad we did! The area surrounding the hotel is leafy, quiet and upscale, but the Eastman House museum and the restaurant strip on Park Avenue were a short walk away. Good service, a spacious, clean room, a great view from our balcony - it was everything we could ask for.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blurgeshmurg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for choosing The Strathallan. We are glad you decided to give us a try rather than staying one the interstate and that we were everything you could have hoped for. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

One block over to Park, you will find lovely homes and a scattering of nice restaurants. The hotel itself is clean, modern and up to the standards of some of the best hotels I have stayed in while visiting a city center. Welcoming staff and stylish lobby with fire pits outside for those evening cocktails. Great place.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Jaewriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for choosing The Strathallan and for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we lived up to your standards. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Rochester.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The hotel is presented to an extremely high standard.
The rooms were clean and spacious.
The service was to a high standard.
The meals were nice.
Location was great. The surrounding houses were beautiful.
I would recommend this hotel without hesitation and loom forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for choosing the Strathallan and for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased to hear you found our hotel to be amazing; we couldn't agree more! We appreciate you recommending us so highly, and look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Very nice, quiet, well appointed in lovely, walkable neighborhood...generous with use of shuttle- I never hired a taxi and was carted from airport, to dinner, and to the distant hospital campus where I was consulting.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Bradley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jayrettberg, General Manager at The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for choosing The Strathallan for your recent business trip. We are so pleased to hear our complimentary shuttle was able to help in getting you all the places you needed to be. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience, and look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Rochester.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Rochester
Hyatt Regency Rochester
#23 of 29 in Rochester
1,179 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester/University & Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The East Avenue Inn & Suites
0.5 mi away
Inn On Broadway
Inn On Broadway
#18 of 29 in Rochester
152 reviews
3.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Rochester-Pittsford/Brighton, NY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton

Address: 550 East Ave, Rochester, NY 14607-2034
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rochester
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#1 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range: £138 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Introducing downtown Rochester’s premier boutique hotel. Perfectly placed at the crossroads of our cultural and business districts, the Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton combines unique access to local highlights with an exceptional level of personal service — all in a setting that brings a history of luxury into vibrant, contemporary focus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathallan Hotel Rochester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing