We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice accommodations.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The East Avenue Inn & Suites
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Mattress and linens very comfy. Great water pressure in shower. Upscale look. As a single woman, it felt like a safe neighborhood. My son met me at the hotel and we walked to dinner and the Aud.
It was a lovely stay and I would do it again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eastaveinn, Manager at The East Avenue Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review The East Avenue Inn & Suites. We're glad to hear that you found the hotel and our services more than adequate for your family's visit. We hope you visit again soon as there's a lot more exiting things you have left to see in Rochester!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (448)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

411 - 417 of 448 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2013

This local hotel is an older property that is nearly completely renovated. The lobby, lounge area, and breakfast room are all very nicely appointed and updated. My king bed was extremely comfortable and so were the fluffy generously-sized bathroom towels. The room also had a marble-topped desk and marble-topped night stands. The chair and carpeting appeared new. An in-room programmable safe was a nice feature. Interestingly, the shower head seems to be older and given the general quality of the renovations was a bit disappointing. There was no full-length mirror. In the closet, there is an open front cabinet with drawers along with an iron and ironing board. The complimentary breakfast was adequate and offered both hot and cold items.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so be prepared to carry luggage upstairs if you are not on first floor. Ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bus_Pleasure_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eastaveinn, Manager at The East Avenue Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review The East Avenue Inn & Suites. Its nice to hear that you appreciated our ability to provide a high quality lodging experience at a moderate price. While some of the suburban franchise properties in the Rochester area may offer lower room rates, we feel that our central location and premium services and amenities create one of the best hotel values in the area. Additionally, we'd like to let you know that we appreciate your suggestions for the improvement of our guest rooms and suites. We are continuing to make improvements to the hotel everyday and some of the changes you can expect to see in 2013 include an outdoor patio and lounge area, a state-of-the-art conference space, and more hi-tech and modern touches to our guest rooms and suites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We stayed here for an overnight after a friends wedding reception. Checkin was fast, easy, and the desk clerk was very friendly. The shuttle driver to the reception was friendly and courteous. Any time you passed one of the staff they were plesant and asked how your day is/stay was.

The rooms were very clean. We stayed in the newly renovated area in one of the suites. HUGE room, and for the price, more than worth the cost. $150 for the night after taxes and fees were added on. There were sitting areas throughout the hotel. If you were in one wing, there was a sitting area where the two wings of the hotel would meet so you could get out of your room if you wished but didn't have to walk all the way to the lobby area to sit and relax.

The room was almost double the size of a standard hotel room. It had a huge flat screen tv on one wall. A couch and chair in a 'room' sized sitting area. A kitchenette with ample space in the cupboards. Mini-fridge and microwave were clean and new also. Our King size bed looked small in the space it was in. There was more room around the corner of the sleeping area for clothes storage with drawers, hangers, and a few shelves. All of the carpeting in that wing was new and modern. No 'funky' stains in the hall or in the room.

The bathroom was all new slate tile. Fixtures were updated and the bathroom overall was clean with a very large walk-in shower that had a canvas curtain, no door.

The hotel offered on site parking. But after dark, there was a 'guard' at the entrance charging $5 for non-hotel guests to park. This is due to the location of the hotel. The area in which it is set, is right in the middle of the bar-scene and the large, almost empty, parking lot is a prime spot. We rode back from the reception with friends (who weren't drinking at the reception), not the shuttle driver, and just showed the 'guard' our room keys and didn't have an issue getting back into the parking lot. I wouldn't be suprised if they funded the hotels current renovations with the money they make selling parking on the weekends.

A standard continental breakfast was available to the guests. Coffee, teas, juice, pastries, cereals, a waffle maker. Check out was fast and easy.

Room Tip: Spring the extra $30 to get one of the Suites... Double the size of a standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfelber9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eastaveinn, Manager at The East Avenue Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review The East Avenue Inn & Suites. We're glad you enjoyed your stay here and its nice to hear that you were in town for your friend's wedding. Weddings are our specialty and we happily host families every weekend who are having their events at one of Rochester's great reception venues like Artisan Works, the Genesee Valley Club, and the Harro East Ballroom. Additionally, its nice to hear that enjoyed staying in one of our uniquely styled Premium Suites. We designed them to reflect the artistic and musical side of Rochester's East End while also keeping in mind today's value-conscious travelers. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We went to Rochester to see Wicked and was very impressed with the accommodations.

We were in walking distance of a lot good restaurants.

The room was very modern without being cold and impersonal. Very comfortable bed (although very high, which might make it difficult for anyone with mobility issues) and loved the large flat screen TV and original art work. I'm sure once all the renovations are finished throughout the entire hotel it will be absolutely amazing.

I really liked having the small kitchen area, but it would have been helpful to have some plates, glass ware, and eating utensils.

Though this might not be a major factor to everyone, the bathroom was exceptional. They really payed attention to details and added little features like a separate counter area with a seat and magnified mirror.

We were kindly greeted at check-in and any time we came back to the lobby. Checkout was a breeze and the price was just what I would expect to pay. All employees we encountered were very friendly. We would definitely stay here again.


The only con - the night we stayed there were a lot of younger (teens and early 20's) people staying at the Inn as well. They were very noisy, which made sleeping difficult. This was not the fault of the Inn or its employees, but it was irritating.

Room Tip: The suites are worth the extra charge. Very nice to have the kitchen area (which includes a fridge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoJoBee318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eastaveinn, Manager at The East Avenue Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review The East Avenue Inn & Suites. We're glad you enjoyed your stay in one of our uniquely designed Premium Suites. It's also nice to hear that you enjoyed Wicked at the nearby Auditorium Theatre and dinner at one of the great restaurants in the East End. We hope you visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

My wife and I stayed 2 nights here. We were visiting family in Rochester. The hotel is in the middle of renovating. We stayed in the newly renovated hallway. Our room was very nice. The bed sat high in the air. Very comfortable but it was not possible to sit on the bed while tying your shoes, etc. We had a nice view of a lawn outside our window. These are all ground level rooms. The main entry way was also newly renovated. The large meeting room used for breakfast was VERY nice. Very modern looking. The fireplace on the far way was made of small stainless steel pieces. It also had a very large flat screen TV. A Sharp, Aquos, 90 inch screen. The breakfast contained: make your own waffles, along with fruit and fruits cups and yogurt, cereals, juice etc. No egg products.

Overall, very pleased and good value we thought.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GinnyLu2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eastaveinn, Manager at The East Avenue Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review The East Avenue Inn & Suites. We're glad you enjoyed your stay here. We hope you visit again soon as we are planning on completing more guest improvements over the course of 2013. These include a State-of-the-Art Conference space for business meetings, an outdoor patio and lounge area, and some more of our artistically styled guest rooms and suites. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

The property is under renovation and we were given a newly renovated room. The room was clean and nicely decorated. Although a bit small, the room was nice and the beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was what you would typically expect for a continental breakfast. The breakfast room was beautiful and clean.
I was travelling with my son, 13, and the room was perfect for the two of us. We were going to see Wicked at the Rochester Auditorium Theater and were able to walk to the venue from the inn. Their are plenty of restaurants in the immediate area as well.
We were kindly greeted at check-in and any time we came back to the lobby. Checkout was a breeze and the price was just what I would expect to pay. All employees we encountered were very friendly. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eastaveinn, Manager at The East Avenue Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell others about your stay by reviewing The East Avenue Inn & Suites and posting some great photos. Its nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and we're glad you took advantage of Rochester's world-class arts and entertainment scene by attending a show at the nearby Auditorium Theatre. We hope you visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Just came back from spending the weekend in Rochester at the East Avenue Inn. I had reserved 2 rooms. Check in is was easy, the rooms were clean and comfortable. However, one of the room heaters seemed to be malfunctioning. Went to the desk and to our surprise. The Owner (John) came and fixed the issue. The next day at the St. Patricks day parade, we ran into him again. He remembered our names and asked if the heater was still good and if there was anything else we needed. He also invited us to a little private area that had food and beer to watch the parade. The fact that he remembered our names was impressive. Overall we had a great time and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jim k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eastaveinn, Manager at The East Avenue Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review The East Avenue Inn & Suites. We're glad you enjoyed your stay here. While St. Patrick's Day always makes for an exiting weekend here, we'd like to let you know that the East End is home to Rochester's best cultural attractions all year round. Museums like the George Eastman House and the Memorial Art Gallery, theaters like the Rochester Auditorium and the Geva Theatre, and fine restaurants for all tastes and budgets can be found a short walk from the hotel. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.2 mi away
The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Rochester
Hyatt Regency Rochester
#21 of 29 in Rochester
1,183 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn On Broadway
Inn On Broadway
#18 of 29 in Rochester
152 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rochester Riverside Hotel
Rochester Riverside Hotel
#24 of 29 in Rochester
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The East Avenue Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The East Avenue Inn & Suites

Address: 384 East Ave, Rochester, NY 14607-1909
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Rochester
Price Range: £89 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The East Avenue Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Downtown Rochester's only boutique hotel, The East Avenue Inn & Suites, located in the city's most vibrant neighborhood, the East End. Under new ownership and renovated in 2013, the hotel invites travelers to enjoy a modern and artistic guest experience only minutes away from all of Rochester's best known cultural attractions. The East Avenue Inn & Suites is proud to host traveler's from all around the world in our creatively styled and comfortable Deluxe Guest Rooms and Premium Suites. Our experienced and professional staff members love to help visitors make their visit to Rochester's most famous street a comfortable and memorable one. We hope you take a minute to read what others have said about their stays with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The East Avenue Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The East Avenue Hotel Rochester
Days Inn Rochester
East Avenue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing