We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, but.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The East Avenue Inn & Suites
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2013

The hotel has recently been refurbished and tastefully done. The decor in the rooms is pleasant, the beds are very comfortable and it is all new. The lobby has also been completely remodelled. The complimentary continental breakfast is standard chain type but is fine. The reception staff are very helpful and free with advice and offers to use the hotel shuttle. The location is ideal, a short walk to a variety of eating places and an easy walk to downtown.Major attractions are walkable or a few minutes drive.
But, we found that our standard room was rather small. This was evidenced by the fact that there are no towel rails in the bathroom , indeed no rails at all,because there is no room for any and that the desk is so small that you would be hard put to fit your laptop on it with both the ice bucket and the coffee maker. Also, the chair is too wide to fit under the desk so it becomes an obstruction in the room. There are no elevators to the first cxfloor. Having said all of this, the inn is a great place to stay if you are not there for the long term or have little lugggage. (They should have found the money to knock down every second wall)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eastaveinn, Manager at The East Avenue Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review The East Avenue Inn & Suites. We're glad you enjoyed your stay here. It nice to hear that you took advantage of our central location in Rochester's Arts & Entertainment district as well as our hotel courtesy shuttle. We'd like to let you know that our Premium Suites are about twice the size of our Guest Rooms. With a small kitchenette area and cozy sitting area we think they are perfect for travelers looker for a lodging experience that doesn't sacrifice on comfort. We hope you visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

389 - 395 of 434 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed there when we were in town for a wedding and it was perfect. The rooms are on the smaller size, but personally I thought they were great for a few day stay. It's in a great location, especially if you like to go out on the town. Very safe area too! Price was perfect considering all the other hotels around were at least $50.00 more than this one.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moo0508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eastaveinn, Manager at The East Avenue Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review The East Avenue Inn & Suites. We're glad you enjoyed your stay here. It's nice to hear that you appreciated the value that comes with staying in the heart of Rochester's East End neighborhood. We hope you visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

We are traveling vendors so we get to stay in a lot of hotels ,
This hotel is so far the best we had for this price range! We stayed at a new part of the hotel ,
Everything was new , the room was well equipped and the bed was super comfortable.i wish we had a small fridge though. also the staff is very friendly, and if you want there is a night shuttle from the hotel to different pubs and restaurants in rochester. price was around 120 $ for a double queen beds . Worth every penny.
We will come back next year for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ofir Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eastaveinn, Manager at The East Avenue Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review The East Avenue Inn & Suites. We're glad you found value in our new guest rooms and took advantage of our courtesy shuttle service. We'd like to let you know that our Premium Suites all have small kitchenettes with refrigerators and microwaves. Additionally, they include a spacious seating area with a leather sofa and a 55 inch LCD TV. The rate difference for the suites is reasonable and we hope you try one the next time you visit. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We were very, very pleasantly surprised when we stayed at East Avenue Inn. The new renovations are lovely, in good taste and modern and the new landscaping outside the lobby off canopy three was wonderful as was the exceptionally comfortable, spacious sitting area. The breakfast room was well designed, clean and light and the food area more than what one expected. An employee was on hand to clean up all spills immediately and replenish items. The staff was also pleasant, friendly and helpful. And, the price was the best in the area. Construction noises were nonexistent when we were there and we can vouch for an excellent stay. Will go back every time we visit Rochester (grandchildren and children live there).

Room Tip: building four due to spacious well-designed and comfortable sitting area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Feldman401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eastaveinn, Manager at The East Avenue Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review The East Avenue Inn & Suites. Its nice to hear some great comments about our recently added patio area and premium continental breakfast service. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Booked a suite and it was generous space. The room was spotless and had everything necessary. The bath is well laid out and there is great shower pressure. The was plenty of parking close to the door. The price is an excellent value for the area. The rooms on the back side have a decent view into the trees. Overall a great stay and I have rebooked already.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eastaveinn, Manager at The East Avenue Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review The East Avenue Inn & Suites. We're glad you appreciated the value that our central location adds to our recently renovated guest rooms and suites. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Stayed over one night for sons wedding festivities. Staff was very helpful and friendly!! Hotel offered shuttle service to the two wedding venues nearby which was fantastic. We had about 25 rooms reserved and all parties seemed to be very impressed with he suites. Beautiful rooms! They upgraded us to a suite which was HUGE!! Restaurants and nightlife close by as are museums and neighborhood of the arts. Free breakfast an early check in another bonus!! Would highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joyce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eastaveinn, Manager at The East Avenue Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review The East Avenue Inn & Suites. We're glad you enjoyed your stay here and we are especially happy to hear that your family's wedding weekend was a lot of fun. Weddings are a huge part of our business here and we try to provide a level of service for these special events that larger franchise properties can't match. We hope you visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

My girlfriend and I decided to visit Rochester for a couple of days to look around and experience what it's like upstate. We chose to stay at East Avenue Inn & Suites because of a promotion LivingSocial offered.

It should be noted that the Inn is currently undergoing innovation and expected completion is either late this year or sometime next year. We stayed in one of the newer rooms, a premium suite that included a television with over a 100 cable channels, a large bed, bathroom (sink and shower), refrigerator, microwave oven, and a coffee/tea maker. We would have liked a kitchen sink, but it turned out not to be a big deal.

Upon first entering the room we were very impressed. It not only looked neat and clean, but smelled pleasant as well. The windows were large, so the natural lighting in the room was excellent. There's a decent sized coffee table and behind that a pull-out sofa. Behind the sofa is the bed, which is pretty big, but comfy. Room service came diligently once a day to change the sheets, towels, and tidy up. There's the option of skipping room service, too. At night, particularly during the weekend when there's more guests, you can hear footsteps and door slams from other rooms. It might be annoying to some, but for us it was just a small distraction. We were in an Inn, after all.

If I had to offer improvements, I would say the East Avenue could implement bike rentals. My girlfriend and I walked a lot and it would be a lot easier if we had bikes. This isn't to say that we didn't like walking, the weather was gorgeous during our stay, so we didn't mind, but if we had bikes then we would have been able to go further out. Also, although the continental breakfast was great, I think it could use slightly healthier options such as soymilk and breakfast cereals that are low on sugar.

Other than that, our stay at the East Avenue Inn was great. The general manager was pleasant and very knowledable about the area, giving us suggestions as to where to go. The rest of the staff is very polite and respects your privacy. There’s a very small gym, but hardly anyone uses it, so if you want to work out you can.

With the way East Avenue Inn & Suites looks, the quality of the service, and the area it’s in (very near the heart of Rochester), this place should be much higher in rankings. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoRoNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eastaveinn, Manager at The East Avenue Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review The East Avenue Inn & Suites! While we're happy to hear that you found the property very clean and comfortable, we're especially thrilled you took some time to explore Rochester by walking around the exiting East End neighborhood. Bike rentals are certainly a great idea that would help us with our company mission to produce a lodging experience more efficient and less wasteful than traditional hotels and we will definitely consider this as we continue our modernization of the property. We hope you visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.2 mi away
The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton
196 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
3.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester-Pittsford/Brighton, NY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Rochester
Hyatt Regency Rochester
#23 of 29 in Rochester
1,168 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn On Broadway
Inn On Broadway
#18 of 29 in Rochester
153 reviews
5.4 mi away
Homewood Suites Rochester/Greece
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The East Avenue Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The East Avenue Inn & Suites

Address: 384 East Ave, Rochester, NY 14607-1909
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Rochester
Price Range: £85 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The East Avenue Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Downtown Rochester's only boutique hotel, The East Avenue Inn & Suites, located in the city's most vibrant neighborhood, the East End. Under new ownership and renovated in 2013, the hotel invites travelers to enjoy a modern and artistic guest experience only minutes away from all of Rochester's best known cultural attractions. The East Avenue Inn & Suites is proud to host traveler's from all around the world in our creatively styled and comfortable Deluxe Guest Rooms and Premium Suites. Our experienced and professional staff members love to help visitors make their visit to Rochester's most famous street a comfortable and memorable one. We hope you take a minute to read what others have said about their stays with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The East Avenue Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The East Avenue Hotel Rochester
Days Inn Rochester
East Avenue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing