We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great all-new rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The East Avenue Inn & Suites
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Stayed here for the weekend for a wedding. We were in the renovated area. Suite was very large, huge TV, very comfortable king bed. Washroom was large and had a makeup station as well. One day we didn't leave until 1, we came back at 4 and it hasn't been cleaned. Quick call to the front desk and they had someone over right away. Breakfast was good for continental. On check out day we asked for a late checkout and they gave us until 1pm. Overall great service. The regular rooms were a little bit small but still decent. I didn't see into any of the rooms that hadn't been renovated yet but the corridor wasn't great. Just ask them to put you in a new room.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank osme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eastaveinn, Manager at The East Avenue Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review The East Avenue Inn & Suites. We're glad you chose to stay here during the recent wedding you were attending. We specialize in wedding groups here and its nice to hear you found our facilities and service more than adequate. We'd like to let you know that while the property is still undergoing some limited renovations, the only rooms and suites we are renting are ones that were re-done during our 2012-2013 revitalization of the property. We hope you visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (433)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

379 - 385 of 433 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013

I feel i need to comment about the totally unfounded claim that 384 East Avenue Inn and Suites is abandoned or closed for business !
We just booked 4 nights and ended up staying 11 !
Our particular Suite Room 162 was located right at the end of the complex. Yeah the long walk to reception and breakfast reminded me a bit of the intro to the movie series "Get Smart" down the long corridor thru several fire doors. Kinda amusing really :) The good news is a door to the car park is nearby and it was an upgrade from a regular to a Suite room. Spacious, clean and surprisingly with a view of trees. Hint: Ask for a room facing the outside rather than the inside car park. That way your looking out on greenery instead. We arrived around midnight and paid an extra night plus $15 for upgrade to the Suite but with free upgrade on all extra nights. A good compromise i think. Little did we know we would extend our stay to 11 days in the suite :) As we extended 2 days at a time they enticed us to stay longer by offering a discount rather than move to a B&B i had planned to stay at :) The staff discounted a couple of nights because the remote control on the TV was flakey but got fixed fairly quickly. At least they handled a problem in a real way with financial benefit rather than a "so sorry" lip service. Cant ask for much more than that.
The excellent free breakfast which is not mentioned in some booking sites is really better than what most people consider a simple "continental". With hard boiled eggs, DIY fresh waffle maker, the usual pastries, cereals, selection of bagles, fruit, yoghurt etc.
The room could do with an extra ceiling light as the fairly large living space is a bit dim. Not a real criticism as we found sitting areas in USA hotels to often use pedestal lamps. So Dan the maintenance guy cheerfully promptly provided a standup lamp. Perfect! maybe its still there :) If not, maybe ask for it.
The little issues we had were just opportunities for the staff to show excellent service and attention. Avail yourself of the free shuttle bus service to nearby sites and shopping centers.
The location is great. Attractive neighborhood streets and restaurants. What a blessed stay.
Thank you Dale, Doug, Dan, David, Steve and all the staff. We'll be back :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the outside rather than the inside car park. That way you are looking out on g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Godguidesyoursteps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eastaveinn, Manager at The East Avenue Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review The East Avenue Inn & Suites. Thank you also for your kind regards and good humor. We're glad you enjoyed your extended stay in one of our Premium Suites. We find they are ideal for travelers visiting Rochester for three or more days. Its also nice to hear you appreciated the help of our talented service team. We pride ourselves on being city ambassadors here and nothing thrills us more than hearing about our guests' comfortable and fun-filled visits. We hope you visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Expedia rejected this review claiming it did not meet their rules. Travelers need to be alerted to this "Trip Advisor Recommended" hotel.
This hotel claims to be undergoing "renovations" with half the buildings out of inventory but no evident construction going on. The facility appeared abandoned and, had I another option, I would have found other lodging. My room was quite far away from the front desk and up a flight of stairs (no elevator) because I expressed my concern to the desk about a first floor location in a nearly empty and lonely location. The industrial stairwell did not appear to be on a regular cleaning schedule. The design of the room was unsafe: the upholstered chair at the 2' by 2' desk (totally inadequate) required careful leveraging to slide it under the desk -- a critical safety concern since the chair, heavy and difficult to move, sat BLOCKING the walkway between the bed and the door. Heaven help anyone trying to exit quickly! Other features of the room that merit mention: the toilet flush handle was situated less than 1" from the side wall and turned BACKWARDS to flush-- making it difficult even for my small hand. The mattresses were so high off the floor a normal sized adult (5'6") had to climb into the bed. The "newly renovated" bathroom floor tiles showed moldy grout and the shower floor tiles were seriously sloped and cracked as well as mildewed.

Room Tip: Wait until claimed "renovations" are completed and hotel is open for real business.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eastaveinn, Manager at The East Avenue Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review The East Avenue Inn & Suites. We appreciate your comments about our facility and our housekeeping practices and will take them into serious consideration. We sorry you did not find your stay here as comfortable as you had hoped. The East Avenue Inn & Suites is a uniquely styled hotel that is not ideal for all travelers. Customers we think will find us most suitable are young singles and couples seeking a distinctive lodging experience that they will not find anywhere else in Rochester. Please call or email the hotel directly and ask for a manager so we can live up to our promise to guarantee satisfaction for all of our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

My husband and I were married Sunday 9/15/13 and during the wedding process we chose East Avenue Inn and Suites for our guest to stay if they wanted and for us to stay for the weekend. Even though we live right down the road it was very nice to stay in one place with our family and friends. This hotel has improved greatly over the past year and the new owners have done a wonderful job to make it a great place to stay. When we first started to look for a hotel to book a block of rooms they were very helpful and offered a very reasonable room rate for our out of town guest. We were offered to come take a tour of the newly renovated place and when we did we were treated with wonderful customer service and everyone was very helpful! They made the weekend so easy by treating our guest with great customer service and it was so nice to hear that everyone enjoyed their stay and was comfortable during our wedding weekend! Thank you to all the staff would made us feel so special. We highly recommend this place for a stay in our wonderful city!

Room Tip: We got the suite for our wedding night which was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eastaveinn, Manager at The East Avenue Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review The East Avenue Inn & Suites and congratulations on your recent nuptials. We're glad you chose to recommend the hotel to your friends and family from out-of-town. Weddings are a huge part of our business here and we try to make every couple's wedding day extra special and problem-free by making sure guests are well-taken care of both before and after the vows are exchanged. We do this by providing premium amenities and guest services such as the unique vanity areas in all of our suites and our complimentary hotel shuttle that caters to all local wedding venues. We hope you and your husband's enjoyable time here was just the start of a long and happy marriage. Congratulations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Stayed one night to attend a concert at the Rochester Main Street Armory, about 4-5 blocks nearby. First impressions was that the place is clean and modern. Reception staff was friendly. It looked like they are in the processes of updating. The first two hallway sections of rooms past the lobby, where we had to walk through, were musty, dim, and looked outdated. However, we didn't see how the insides of those rooms looked. Our room, 242, was the first room in the section that much resembled the clean, modernized look of the lobby. Our single king bed room looked as advertised. Everything was clean and bed was super comfy. Good water pressure in the shower. Our bus didn't leave until 1:15 but the reception was accommodating and allowed us to check out later at 12:30 free of charge, which was very nice considering it allowed us to wait out the rain. The hotel is walking distance to a number of nice looking bars, clubs, and restaurants along East ave and we've probably would've explored the area a little bit more if we had another day to stay. Great price point and no complaints at all. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eastaveinn, Manager at The East Avenue Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review The East Avenue Inn & Suites. We're glad you took advantage of our prime location near the Main Street Armory and many of Rochester's great restaurants and nightlife spots. Additionally, we appreciate your patience during our remodel of the property. We'd like to let you know that over the next few months we expect to complete some more of our modern guest rooms and suites as a well as a high-end restaurant and reception space in the building adjacent to the hotel. We hope you visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Wow, I read the review from July 11 where a poor traveler was beaten bloody! My stay was completely the opposite, and I may have found my new place to to stay for when I visit RIT. My daughter and I stayed here Monday night and I found it to be pretty clean, nice bedding and design, smelled good (no lingering stale cigarette smells) etc. Many rooms have been renovated. The breakfast was okay, a little less than a Fairfield Inn type breakfast, and I think the coffee in the rooms is better than the breakfast buffet coffee. You can easily walk to a couple resturants. My daughter woke up in the night with a terrible headache and we had nothing with us, so the guy at the front helped us out, which was much appreciated as I had a long drive the following morning. The lady who checked us in, and the general manager, seemed really happy to have us stay there - really friendly!

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank merry10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eastaveinn, Manager at The East Avenue Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review The East Avenue Inn & Suites. We're glad you made the decision to try this newly renovated property despite some bad reviews associated with past owners. We'd like to let you know that over the next year we will be further improving the property and adding more of the guest services that you found helped to make your stay a comfortable one. While there are hotels closer to RIT than this one, we strive to provide a level of service every day that the franchise properties can't match. We hope you visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

My husband and I attended the PGA Championship and chose to stay at this hotel and I could not have been more pleased with our choice. The room was spectacular- we had #161 which is the suite in the far corner of the first floor so we had two walls of windows facing a nice park where we saw rabbits and squirrels. Clean, nicely appointed, brand new, great bed and bedding, absolutely no complaints. The lobby and breakfast room are beautiful and the breakfast offerings are more than we could have asked for. The location is fabulous as there is a number of eateries as well as pubs within walking distance. OK, I saved the very best for last. The staff was wonderful and absolutely second to none. Even when the shuttle was not 'running' they got us to where we had to go- anytime. To and from the event, to and from any night spot, etc. We never had to ask for anything twice and everyone was so friendly. I do believe that our choice of hotel really complimented one of our very best holidays to date. I doubt that nay of the chain hotels would have been so accommodating to our every need. Thanks, Steve, Dale, Douglas, Natalie, Gino and anyone else I may have overlooked. Great job.

Room Tip: A suite on the second floor would be ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joussardines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eastaveinn, Manager at The East Avenue Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review The East Avenue Inn & Suites. We're glad you took advantage of our prime location in Rochester's East End and the premium guest services we provide here. While its great to hear that your stay "couldn't be any better," we'd like to let you know that over the next year we plan on further improving our property and adding more in-demand guest services. This improvement includes the construction of some brand new patio areas to relax and enjoy the beautiful East Ave. neighborhood from and the opening of a brand new on-site restaurant in the building adjacent to the hotel. We'd also like to take this opportunity to let you know that with over a dozen golf courses within a short drive from this hotel, Rochester is a great golf city all year round. We hope you visit again soon and try some of them out!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.2 mi away
The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton
196 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
3.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester-Pittsford/Brighton, NY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Rochester
Hyatt Regency Rochester
#23 of 29 in Rochester
1,167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn On Broadway
Inn On Broadway
#18 of 29 in Rochester
153 reviews
5.4 mi away
Homewood Suites Rochester/Greece
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The East Avenue Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The East Avenue Inn & Suites

Address: 384 East Ave, Rochester, NY 14607-1909
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Rochester
Price Range: £86 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The East Avenue Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Downtown Rochester's only boutique hotel, The East Avenue Inn & Suites, located in the city's most vibrant neighborhood, the East End. Under new ownership and renovated in 2013, the hotel invites travelers to enjoy a modern and artistic guest experience only minutes away from all of Rochester's best known cultural attractions. The East Avenue Inn & Suites is proud to host traveler's from all around the world in our creatively styled and comfortable Deluxe Guest Rooms and Premium Suites. Our experienced and professional staff members love to help visitors make their visit to Rochester's most famous street a comfortable and memorable one. We hope you take a minute to read what others have said about their stays with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The East Avenue Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The East Avenue Hotel Rochester
Days Inn Rochester
East Avenue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing