We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Economical and convenient to Watkins Glen”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Golden Knight Inn and Suites
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rock Stream
Certificate of Excellence
Nw Indiana
Level Contributor
108 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Economical and convenient to Watkins Glen”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Older motel conveniently located near Watkins Glen and on the Seneca Lake Wine Trail. Our room was clean and tastefully decorated with large comfortable bed. Bathroom was clean and had good water pressure. Proprietors were friendly and offered good suggestions on activities and places to visit in the area. We stayed two nights midweek in June, were not disappointed and would stay here again on our next visit to Seneca Lake.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank valpofred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    37
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
20
42
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

We had a perfect experience. We were there for one night during a wine tour. At the end of our night we were hungry and we were given great directions to a wonderful little place in town to eat. Our room happened to be upgraded (to accommodate another couple) which of course was not a problem for us and at no charge to us. The suite was clean beautiful and comfortable. We will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackson-West92714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GKinnkeeper, Owner at Golden Knight Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
We know you have many choices when you choose a lodging property and we are so glad you chose us. Thank-you and we hope to see you gain at some point in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Spent 2 nights at GK and it will be our "go to" place whenever we may be in the area again. Yes, it's an "older" motel but, as we all know, there is nothing you can do about getting older...it's just how you handle it...and GK does it with obvious pride and attention to detail...a bunch of "little" things that, when added up, become one "big deal".

First and most importantly, it extremely well maintained, and clean. The bonuses are comfortable king size beds, along with many thoughtful amenities: microwave, mini fridge, coffee maker, fast wi fi, iron and ironing board and, since we stayed in a suite, an electric fireplace (the modest increase in costs seemed worthwhile to us).

Nice "little" touches too: like 2 packets of regular AND decaf coffee instead of the usual 1 each, extensive condiment stand rather than the customary coffee "set up" pack so that you don't have to request more sugar/creamer while more throwing out all the things you don't use.

We've stayed at Hyatts and Marriotts that didn't have these amenities or (as in wi fi) were available only at extra charge. I think many of the "luxury" hotel could learn a few things about customer service from Golden Knight.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back are farther away from the road and thus quieter. No on site pool or restaurant so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Darrel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pittsburgh, pa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We spent three nights at the Golden Knight, and it was wonderful. Exceptionally clean. Our trip to the Finger Lakes was spectacular. If you're looking for a great, comfortable 'home base', the Golden Knight is perfect. Right down the road from the finest wineries, and up the road from town. Nothing was too far away. Do not miss a trip to Bellhurst Castle. The motel owner advised us regarding dinner at the Decoy. It is not to be missed. Also told us about the Windmill outdoor market. It was a great experience. Also,loved the bed linen, so pretty along with the quilt. I appreciated that alot.

Room Tip: We stayed in rom 217 because it had the fireplace, but the weather was in the high 70's, low 80...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank capemayfan_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

My wife and I just returned today from a 3 night / 4 day stay at the Golden Night Inn. This was our first trip to the Finger Lakes and we will definitely return!

While preparing for this trip, we did a lot of internet searching and found many different motel / hotel accommodations. After communicating via email with the inn keepers at the Golden Knight, we chose to stay at their facility. As many know the internet and brochures can be less than truthful about their accommodations. My wife and I were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. While checking in, we spoke to one of the inn keepers (I believe her name was Carol) and she was very helpful in providing information on local restaurants, wineries, breweries and other attractions. The Golden Knight is an older facility, but appears to have been recently updated.We found our room to be very clean and quite comfortable. The Inn is located about 5 miles north of Watkins Glen and is centrally located to most attractions.

As I said earlier in my post , this was our first trip to the Finger Lakes, but it definitely won't be our last. On our next trip, we will definitely stay at the Golden Knight Inn!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Mordor, NJ
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed several nights in two adjoining rooms. The staff were very helpful and always pleasant. When I called to make the reservations the woman who answered the phone patiently helped me to figure out the different options and prices for rooms for our family.

The rooms were spotless and pleasant. Each room had an AC, a microwave, coffeemaker and a minifridge. We had some issues with the wi-fi, but there is a wired internet access in each room as well--so bring a laptop not a smart phone or tablet. The beds were comfortable.

Rock Stream is about 5 minutes from Watkins Glen by car, so we were close to the state park and various restaurants and shops. Several wineries and a cheese-trail site are practically next door.

This is a family run motel, so there's no 24 hour desk staff, no restaurant, nothing like that. We didn't miss it. Although the motel has no pool, there is a gorgeous free community pool in Watkins Glen State Park with a separate wading pool.

One tip for travellers--the local water has a particular taste. Not bad, just noticeable. We got some bottled water from the Walmart in town and used that for our coffee.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kitchenwitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed our last minute, 1 night stay at the Golden Knight Inn and Suites. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. I definitely recommend this place and will tell my friends and collegues about this wonderful family run establishment.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MLPrieto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GKinnkeeper, Owner at Golden Knight Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thanks so much for staying with us!! We were glad you were able to get up to this part of the state and enjoy the area!! Take Care, and we hope you get a chance to get this way again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rock Stream
4.9 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
2.2 mi away
Chieftain Motel
Chieftain Motel
#5 of 9 in Watkins Glen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
3.9 mi away
Gorgeous View Motel
Gorgeous View Motel
#2 of 9 in Watkins Glen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The Blackberry Inn B&B
The Blackberry Inn B&B
#1 of 17 in Watkins Glen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Inn at Glenora Wine Cellars
6.0 mi away
1922 Starkey House Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Knight Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Knight Inn and Suites

Property: Golden Knight Inn and Suites
Address: 4461 State Route 14, Rock Stream, NY 14878-9607
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rock Stream
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rock Stream
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Golden Knight Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the Seneca Lake Wine Trail, this Rock Stream hotel features Wi-Fi access and rooms equipped with a microwave,refrigerator, hair dryer, iron & board. Watkins Glen Village is 5 miles away.Cable TV with HBO movie channel and tea and coffee-making facilities are available in each traditionally decorated room at Golden Knight Inn and Suites. Select rooms feature a sofa bed or spa tub.Family suites are available that accomodate up to 6 people.Guests can enjoy the picnic area that has barbecue facilities. Glenora Wine Cellars is a 4-minute drive from Golden Knight Inn and Watkins Glen State Park is 9 miles away.Make your stay in the Finger Lakes a "Golden Knight Stay!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Golden Knight Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Knight Hotel Rock Stream
Golden Knight Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing