We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good for price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rockville Centre Inn
Reviewed 4 March 2012

I have stayed in this hotel several times. You can't beat the price for the area. First of all the front desk is so friendly and helpful. They go above and beyond. The rooms are always clean. The beds are adequate. The pillows however are AWFUL!!! If it weren't for the pillows I would give this hotel 5 stars. They are like sleeping on bricks wrapped in pillowcases, at least in the rooms on the PH floor, I can't speak for the others. It is great that they have a fridge and a microwave in all the rooms. The water pressure in the showers leaves much to be desired, but at least its strong enough to rinse my long hair. The only other complaint, is that they claim to have wifi, but it never works. The signal isn't strong enough to work in most of the rooms. They do not have a fitness center, which is a huge problem for me, but they do provide free passes to the Bally's across the street. However walking there includes playing frogger, and also if the weather is bad a cold shower!!! The equipment there is in need of upgrades too. I wish the hotel would just get a couple of treadmills.

The location is great, its in walking distance to Rockville Center, and the amazing Joey's Pizza. Their free breakfast is adequate. Amazingly delicious bagels, and cinnamon buns. Eggs and bacon some days, and eggs with cheese and sausage other days. Their coffee however is a sin against java. It is disgusting.

Room Tip: Avoid the PH floor, the pillows there are awful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank njkrisko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2012

I needed a hotel last minute on a Wednesday night and oddly everything was book. We slowly drove west from West Islip before we finally found availability in this place. I thought pricing was decent considering most neighboring hotels were charging at least $30 more a night. The service was nice. Staff was beyond friendly. My only 3 critiques. 1) the bathroom needed a new shower curtain. It was clean, just found a hole. 2) the heat had stopped working in the middle of the night but we didn't notice til we were up and getting dressed that morning. It was warm under the covers. 3) the eateries are a little bit away but doesn't factor in how I view a hotel. I would definitely stay here again and recommend to others. 2 thumbs up from me! :-)

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ProSleeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Stayed here in 1994 -as good then as it is now! Excellent breakfast and very clean

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philmcfearless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

Positives: There was a microwave and mini-fridge in the room. Complimentary breakfast had delicious bagels plus pre-made egg rounds, sausage patties, cinnamon rolls, cereal, juice, mini-muffins, and biscuits.

Negatives: A 15-20 minute walk from nearest restaurants/bars/shops. Rusts stains around bathroom toilet fixture. Weak water pressure. Small lobby, no room service. No fitness center or pool. Tried to call front desk and phone didn't work. No onsite food or restaurant. Only 2 pillows on the bed and they werent' that great. They use those old style comforters that you don't even want to touch, and yet they wrap the pillows in them? The way the comforter is made, it is uncomfortable to sleep with.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shera T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2011

We have stayed at this hotel several times because we have family in the area that have limited space. Although we never really spend much time at the hotel itself it is always nice and clean. It is definitely more for business but it doesn't really matter. It's great that they make the Ballys gym across the street available to hotel guests. The breakfast is good. I have made use of the laundry facility before, which was good as well. I also used the computer in the lobby to print out something. I thought it was nice to have that available also. Overall a nice hotel, serves its purpose.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lampertstonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

Unfortunately, I have to stay at the Rockville Centre Inn for work, so I get to experience this place regularly. If you like creepy old buildings that feel like a retirement home and have sour employees, this place will be right up your alley. As much as I wanted to give it 1-star, I just couldn't. It wouldn't be fair. The hotel IS safe and provides a warm room with a roof over your head. It's just on the lower end of the spectrum of hotels. Pulling up to this archaic building sets the tone for the whole stay. The lobby is dated and tiny. The employees seem like they would rather be working at the gas station across the street. And it just exudes an aura of depression. The rooms continue the dated feel with old style furnishings and old amenities. The carpets are so dirty that my white socks turn black walking from the bed to the bathroom. I have to put those socks in a laundry bag to take home. And very oddly, they wrap the pillows inside the comforter on the bed. As anyone who knows anything about hotels will tell you, you never even want to touch the comforter, let alone put your head on a pillow that was wrapped in one. Everything in the room just feels like it requires a disinfecting wipe down before use. There is no fitness center here or proper restaurant. This place is as basic as they come. The location of the hotel is fine. It is in a residential part of Rockville Centre, and an easy walk to the main downtown area. On a positive note, I always sleep well here. It is very quiet and easy to get a great rest. And the room has plastic drinking cups in wrap. As tacky as it looks, it's much more sanitary to drink out of wrapped up plastic cups than the glasses that most hotels have on the bathroom counter. There really must be better hotels in the area, though.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael_SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

I stayed at this hotel because it was the only thing close to where I had to work that was under $150 (company limit).

When I pulled up, I was a little concerned. It's not much to look at.

However, the inside was VERY nice and REALLY clean. The gentleman at the front desk couldn't have been any nicer and gave us information about places to eat on more than one occassion. (and didn't steer us wrong!)

The morning breakfast is the same that you would get at a chain hotel. Very surprising.

No problem with internet service, very easy to connect to, and stayed fast throughout my stay.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnthVick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockville Centre
1.8 mi away
Ramada Rockville Centre
Ramada Rockville Centre
#4 of 4 in Rockville Centre
657 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Mill River Manor
Best Western Mill River Manor
#2 of 4 in Rockville Centre
629 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Rockville Centre
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton R...
#1 of 4 in Rockville Centre
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Long Beach Hotel
Long Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Long Beach
141 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Five Towns Inn
The Five Towns Inn
#1 of 1 in Lawrence
94 reviews
5.0 mi away
Allegria Hotel
Allegria Hotel
#1 of 2 in Long Beach
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockville Centre Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockville Centre Inn

Address: 415 Ocean Avenue, Rockville Centre, NY 11570 (Formerly Sunrise Executive Hotel)
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Rockville Centre
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Rockville Centre
Price Range: £113 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rockville Centre Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rockville Centre Inn is located on Long Island's south shore. The hotel was completely renovated and refurbished in 2006 to meet the needs of today's most demanding leisure and business travelers. Each of our luxurious hotel rooms have a spacious work desk, complimentary high speed internet access, a 27" flat panel Sony television, in room coffee makers, an iron and ironing board, a microwave, a refrigerator, and complimentary transportation to John F. Kennedy Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rockville Centre Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockville Centre Hotel Rockville Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing