We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual and good”

Bigelow's New England Fried
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
919 reviews
624 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 375 helpful votes
“Casual and good”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stopped in and had some excellent clam chowder and some fried clam bellies. Both were really good and the service was excellent. Worth a visit if you're in the neighborhood.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sockster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    54
    18
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Clam Heaven!”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

I love this place! Family owned, no tables just a big circular counter, great staff, paper plates, and the best fried clams I have EVER had! We also tried the seafood bisque and clam chowder which were both wonderful. There are so many things more to try on the menu but I am not sure I could get away from the clams. They cook everything in oil with no transfats that they change every day. They also have healthier things on the menu but why?

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Luckyrazoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
253 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Best New England fried clams outside of Ipswich”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Finally found a restaurant outside of Maine or Massachusetts that knows how to make fried clams, best clams by far. Also al fried foods were great. Not greasy and very tasty.
Good size portions and pleasant counter staff.
Worth the trip.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Smb1600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Walking in and seeing just a counter and no tables, had me leery but I was pleasantly surprised. The shrimp cocktail was excellent. When my crab cakes and fries came out on a paper plate looking very "fried" and such a huge portion, I didn't think I would like it; BUT again 15 minutes later there was a clean plate in front of me and my stomach was saying thank you.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ParksloperBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Local favorite thats worth the trip”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Nice little diner with outstanding seafood dishes. Can be a wait but they do takeout orders also. Enjoyed my meal and the staff is excellent.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bigelow's New England Fried also viewed

Freeport, Long Island
Island Park, Long Island
 
Rockville Centre, Long Island
 
Rockville Centre, Long Island
 

Been to Bigelow's New England Fried? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing