We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Finger Lake Winery” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Knapp Winery & Vineyard Restaurant

Knapp Winery & Vineyard Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Romulus
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A combination of winery and restaurant located on the slopes of Cayuga Lake; the location plays a vital role in creating the best micro-climate for the Knapp vineyards. Knapp produces over thirty types of wine including cordials and aperitifs. Enjoy outstanding Rieslings, Cabernet Francs, Chardonnays and much more. Wines made to suit a variety of palates. The vineyard restaurant opens to a vineyard patio that faces west with a spectacular view of our Riesling vines. Chef creates food using as many local products to ensure a true Finger Lakes wine country experience.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
290 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great Finger Lake Winery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

This is a favorite stop of my wife's family. Good selection of wines to sample from and knowledgeable staff.

Went on a Tuesday and it was not that crowded. Of course, weekends are different, but service for the four of us was quick.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTangoFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    32
    13
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We went on a Saturday when they were crowded, Matt was our staff person, just seemed disinterested in the three in our group and spent most of time handling a group of 6 or so. They could use a little more help.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank pghphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roskilde, Denmark
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best Dry Sparkling White Wine on the Cayuga Wine Trail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stopped in for a wine tasting at Knapp. Having visited before, I wasn't expecting any surprises, until I tasted their Brut Sparkling White Wine. It was dry, perfectly bubbly and refreshing. At about $15.00 a bottle, it is a steal. I wouldn't hesitate to serve this to guests. In addition to wine, we also tasted the Grappa, Limoncello and the LimEncello (with lime juice). These were not stand-outs, but then again, this is not Italy. Maybe a few more years of experimentation will make these tastier. Overall though, a great experience at Knapp.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabrina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
434 reviews
259 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Good wine tasting in a comfortable atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

For $3 per person, you can select 6 wines to taste from among 34 wines and 6 "spirits" (brandy, grappa, port, limoncello, etc.). They also have a Vidal Blanc ice wine that you can taste for an extra $1 (refunded if you actually purchase a bottle of the ice wine).

Our server was very polite and informative; she gave a brief description of each of our selected wines as she poured. Of course, the amount that you get to taste is relatively small, just a few small sips worth, but it is sufficient to give you a good sampling of the wine. It's a great deal; only $3 to try out 6 different wines. It was crowded on that particular day, but their servers worked efficiently to keep our tasting process flowing smoothly.

I had never tasted limoncello before, and was anxious to try it out, having read several good reviews about Knapp's limoncello. However, it doesn't seem to be my cup of tea, as I found it to be pretty strong. I might like it better in a mixed drink; Knapp provides a handout of cocktail recipes for limoncello.

Besides the limoncello, I sampled their Pinot Gris (semi-sweet white), Vidal Blanc (sweet white), Superstition (super-sweet alcoholic Concord grape juice!), Sangiovese (dry red; chianti type), and Black Cherry fruit wine. I liked the Superstition and Black Cherry, of which I bought a bottle of each, although they are quite sweet and probably won't pair well with most meals; will be better as party wines. My wife tasted and enjoyed the Vidal Blanc Ice Wine, so she bought 2 bottles.

Their tasting room was one of the largest we found in the Cayuga Lake area, with 3 large counters. There is a restaurant next to the wine-tasting/shop building, but we did not have an opportunity to eat there.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Roobydoo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Global
Level Contributor
178 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great tasting for just a few bucks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Nice stop on the wine trail. At least 20 wines to sample. Friendly service. Interesting selection. Easy access by car.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TheGlobalFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Knapp Winery & Vineyard Restaurant also viewed

Romulus, Finger Lakes
Romulus, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Knapp Winery & Vineyard Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing