We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More than just wine!”

Varick Winery & Vineyard
Ranked #3 of 11 things to do in Romulus
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Liverpool, New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“More than just wine!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

This us a lot more than just your average winery. They have many samples of sauces, oils, and other goodies to try. During our tasting, we were offered a wine first, then it was paired with a food. Very tasty!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    16
    1
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roskilde, Denmark
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wine tasting plus food pairings”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Varick Winery is a great stop on the Cayuga Wine Trail. Each wine you taste comes with a food pairing on the side. These include dips, preserves, flavored oils or vinegars, chocolate, etc. You may also sample the many other items for sale, making this a great stop for the designated driver. In season, there is also upick sweet and tart cherries. We picked about 3 pounds of tart cherries, the trees were full. It was wonderful.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabrina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“All Sorts of Great Things to Sample Here!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

While you're waiting for a spot at the bar to do a wine tasting, browse the country store and sample the many dips, hot sauces, pickled items, jams, butters, preserves, oils, and honeys. Chardonnay, Cherry, and Varick Blush were favorites. The staff is delightful! We will be back!

Varick used to be Cobblestone Winery--same folks, wines, and products, just a different name (now they won't be confused with a winery of that same name in California).

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MooMoo502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marquette, Michigan
Level Contributor
212 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Lovely Staff!”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We visited during Memorial Day weekend and the staff was amazing! As were the wines! We loved the Dry Vignoles, Cabernet Franc (LOVE), Lemberger, Country Porch, Vignoles (Sweet), Varick Red, and the Vignoles Reserve. We also loved the food samples that were available. From the olive oils to the salsas, the selection was very good. I am a personal fan favorite of the olive oil selections. A must visit in the Finger Lakes Region.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MFM19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The cream of the crop.”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We had the most enjoyable wine and most enjoyable experience at Varick. The tasting bar was fully staffed and an extremely intimate experience despite being packed. We had time to talk to multiple staff members and they made sure everyone was poured generous samples and had a good description. Food samples were paired with nearly every glass and there's tons of oils, salsas, dips and even soups to try throughout the tasting room.

The outdoor space is extremely green and has plenty of room to enjoy a beautiful day. Highly recommended.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Varick Winery & Vineyard also viewed

 
Romulus, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Varick Winery & Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing