We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just for an overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Ronkonkoma
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Just for an overnight stay”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Understanding upfront that this hotel was not meant to be an upscale hotel, my stay wasn't bad. My biggest complaint was the smell. The hallways smell dank and old and my room smelled the same with a slight hint of old cigarette (non-smoking room). My room was clean and it was nice to have a microwave and refrigerator. If you plan to stay more than a night or two, I would suggest finding somewhere nicer. It is not of 3 star quality like they claim to be and for the full price rate I would have felt ripped off. I got a better rate on Priceline so I'm ok with the outcome.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cutiecheeks11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    36
    39
    47
    102
See reviews for
82
35
19
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

It was easy to find and we were able to easily walk across the highway to Applebees for dinner.
Theo hotel looks a lot better on the outside, and in the front lobby, than it actually does in the rest of the property. Our room was satisfactory, but the hallways were dark and dirty. The hotel staff was friendly enough, but it was a nightmare trying to print boarding passes from their non-functional computers in the 'business center.' (Front desk clerk finally gave me her email so I could send it to her and have her print it.) If you are a Choice Priviledges member, they give you free continental breakfast at the restaurant on site, but good luck with that. The restaurant manager quickly explains to you anything cold is free, but anything warm is $7.95, then proceeds to stand over you as you eat to make sure you don't grab a piece of bacon. It really passed the ridiculous point, where he made excuses to hover near our table, pretending to rearrange things on empty tables. This was after asking us multiple times for our room number and last name just to make sure we were entitled to those Honey Nut Cheerios and stale bagels. When we left, we said "thank you," and he just grunted in disgust. Guess everyone ends up buying the warm breakfast when faced with the choice, but we were too angry to do so and figured we'd spent our money on an early lunch elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed at the Clarion in Ronkonkoma over the Memorial Day weekend. In addition to two wedding groups staying at the hotel, there were multiple baseball teams staying there for a weekend tournament. Holiday weekend; lots of travelers from the city; late checkouts.
At least we had a reservation. Late checkouts by some groups caused very late check-ins by others. Hotel restaurant had a buffet on the weekend. Understandable with that many people. Tough to keep everything clean and orderly with the onslaught of kids and partiers.
Some parts of the hotel seemed dated. Some in our group were in an older section - smaller bathrooms, etc.
Our room was far away from most of the maddening crowd. Rooms were neat and clean, although the humidity outside and inside made the carpets a little sticky. Beds were as comfortable as any we have slept on. Very, very good! Thank god the bar was fully functional. Had a nice tme conversing with Dave, one of the bartenders. Very friendly!
Overall, under the conditions, the staff was very pleasant and helpful. They did go out of their way to make this as nice and comfortable as they could. Think twice before scheduling a holiday weekend, but I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This hotel is the pits! We asked for extra pillows that never arrived. Our room, the hallway, the hotel had a smell of rotten food throughout it, foul odor...except for our second night, it had the smell of pot throughout the hallways and even in our two rooms. There was food and bottles from morning to night in the hallways. And we were booked into a block of rooms that was held for a fraternity/sorority group that arrived the second night, mind you they put is there for two nights, if they knew a frat/sor was coming why book a family into that atmosphere. They were in the hallways the second night until 4:30am, playing pin the tail on the donkey, drinking, screaming, doing cartwheels, other hotel guests were screaming be quiet, foul language constantly, it was a nightmare. The cops did come and break it up, but not until it was morning. The staff was alerted, they have been emailed, Choice International has been called, but nothing was done about our Hell Night with the fraternity/sorority. The lobby is out dated, the rooms are smelly and the air/heating does not work, we had to open windows it was so hot in our rooms, our toilet backed up, GROSS GROSS GROSS.... I wish I had been smart enough to snap some pics, but I was so angry I forgot! Seriously, you have been warned!

Room Tip: Best advice, find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ronkonkoma hotels

Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I travel often and have to stay away from my family. I can't say much about the rooms but what stands out among all the other Hotels is The Member Reception.

Bobbie is the reason I had returned to this Hotel these last two times. She is a wonderful Host that turns this lounge area into a home away from home. Food, drink, TV and wonderful conversation. She recognizes when you want to be left alone, but makes feel at home. She is a wealth of knowledge and everyone there knows her name. Because of her I have multiple new business acquaints.

The restaurant at the Hotel (Bobbie recommend) was pretty good as well.

I'll return again just because of her.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesPA413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

As an airline crew member, I spend a lot of time in hotels. The rooms are pretty average, but clean. The reason I love this hotel though is the Choice members reception in the evenings. It is run by a woman named Bobbie, and it's awesome to sit in the lounge and relax after a long day. Bobbie makes you feel right at home! Without the lounge, this hotel would be unremarkable. I've heard that the hotel is changing ownership, and that's the reason I decided to write a review. I hope they decide to keep the Choice lounge! Keep up the good work Bobbie!

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Winslow W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Words can't describe this hell hole. Rooms are completely disgusting. The smell alone throughout hotel is enough to make you want to vomit. Our first room was covered in mold and was completely uninhabitable. I don't know how this place is not shut down.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Japplebaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ronkonkoma
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Islip/MacArthur Airport
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Islip MacArthur Airport
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Long Island MacArthur Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Holtsville Long Island
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Long Island/Islandia
3.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Island
Hyatt Regency Long Island
#1 of 4 in Hauppauge
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 3845 Veterans Memorial Hwy, Ronkonkoma, NY 11779-7643 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Ronkonkoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Ronkonkoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 289
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Long Island-Islip Airport Hotel Ronkonkoma
Holiday Inn Ronkonkoma
Ronkonkoma Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing