We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No other choice”
Review of Rockland House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Roscoe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rockland House
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Roscoe
Reviewed 30 March 2014

It was the only motel open this time of year. The man that checked us in was very nice. The other rooms were being used by contractors. The walls were so thin we could hear them coming back late at night from the bar with whatever women they picked up. And we could hear EVERYTHING. Luckily for us, and unluckily for the poor women, it didn't last more than a minute and a half. If you need a motel and there are not any others open, go to Liberty.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stacey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

Stayed her last Saturday with the wife. $55 gets you a king size bed. Place was fine, seemed clean. We didn't use the shower so can't comment on it. It had running water and heat so for $55 in Roscoe NY what more could I ask for? There's a bar/restaurant in the front of the establishment in a separate building. Service was fine.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clarkvara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Had reserved a room for 2 nights....rude guest...but that wasn't the hotels fault...but the nasty rooms were....pressed wood placed across 2 boards served as the closet....dug around and found the knob to the thermostat up there...bed was clean....bathroom cabints we horriable...when we returned the next day after sight seeing...three guys were "camped" on the grass in front of our door...their stuff was piled in front of our door..had to tell them to move their stuff so I could get in...went to the manager and asked why they were in the grass at 8' from out door...drinking at 5:30 in the afternoon and already loud...was told this was something they do every year so he saw nothing wrong in it....well I did...argued with him for sometime about leaving and getting a refund...we finally setteled on splitting the cost...if truth be known...if he had refused...we would have just left anyway...it was that bad...I could not stay there another night...we had gotten there late the night before and had no choice...but after what we saw and what went on, my wife sure wasn't takeing a shower with them looking in the window...because the blinds did not even extend to the bottom...had to put blankets and towels in the window to keep some kind of privacy...and that is no lie...room was horriable...their listing said they remodeled....don't know what it was...we didn't see it....do not stay there!!!!! If you look at some of my reviews...you will see only one other time that I ever rated anybody this bad....and if I could use less that 1 I would!!!!

Room Tip: Chooser a room in another motel/hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DeerArcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Old, needs to be totally overhauled - room had walls that are torn, doors off the track, dirty towels - gross. Restaurant was fair (at best)... not healthy, and over priced.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank susannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2011

Whether your coming for the fishing or hunting or just passing through , The RH has it all. You have a bar , restaurant , & motel all on the same property. There is even Live-Entertainment on the week-ends. karaoke & live bands. Owners Tommy (TJ) & Marea are there to please. Very personable & professional people.
IF your looking for a peaceful lay-over from a long trip , If your just looking for some fine dining or if you want to sample some exciting nightlife , you've found the right place.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elvis13_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2010

There are not too many places to stay near Woodstock (Bethel, NY). This place is better for college kids, or campers/fishing folk. Beds were clean and comfy enough. Wouldn't use the shower or the towels--towels were actually BROWN stained. How could they supply the bath with brown stained towels and not notice this? TV worked. No bugs. The bar seemed lively, even at 1pm. When I inquired about lunch I was directed to the "grove"--which was actually a grove of trees next to the motel that had some guy cooking BBQ--seriously. Apparently they serve dinner, but we did not indulge. Their motto is "Eat here or we'll both starve". We were here for a concert, and a place to crash for one night. The place served it's purpose for us, but I won't be back. Owners seemed like nice people just making a living.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelCT354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2010

The Rockland House recently updated their furniture and prices.....They lowered thier rates and updated their rooms. I uploaded photos, so take a look. They have also put in a breakfast room which has a coffee machine, toaster oven, microwave and a nice table to sit at. They also serve dinner which has a great soup and salad bar.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trose168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Rockland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockland House

Address: Rockland Road, PO Box 220, Roscoe, NY 12776
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Roscoe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Roscoe
Price Range: £27 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Rockland House Hotel Roscoe
Rockland Hotel Roscoe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing