We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restraurant dirty!”
Review of The Rockland House

The Rockland House
Ranked #4 of 19 Restaurants in Roscoe
Cuisines: American
Description: Rockland House is a large restaurant with a good menu and popular as a catering place
Restaurant details
Description: Rockland House is a large restaurant with a good menu and popular as a catering place
Catskills
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Restraurant dirty!”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Visited there two times & found the dishes to be filthy, unrinsed, crude could be felt top & bottom of plates. While the salad bar was well stocked with excellent bread the dishes were a real turnoff.
Thankfully we did not become ill but will not return.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elvira B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    13
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Upstate New York
Level Contributor
81 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“They are lucky that they do not have much competition...”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

The waitress was terrible....our steaks were over cooked and we were never offered a second drink.

The establishment could use a fresh coat of paint and the floors cleaned.

O'h well- can't win them all..

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Krav1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Helen, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This was very decent food....primerib was a little over done for me...asked for rare..got a little closer to well...but over all....way too much food....had to bring some of it back to the....place we were staying!! Staff is over worked or a little frazzled...but not unfriendly...just didn't want to chat much...and never did come back to refill the drinks...but l will give it a 3...would be a 4 if they would turn the light up a little more!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank DeerArcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albany ny
Level Contributor
155 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“great salad bar”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

we always have dinner at the rockland house. My husband had a excellent flatiron steak and my son had a chicken dinner. I had the salad bar wwhich had two soups,vegatables.salads and homemade bread.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank maryfemia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Prime Rib in Trout Town USA”
Reviewed 4 September 2012 via mobile

The best prime rib that we have ever had.Soups are excellent and the breads are just wonderful.While the salad bar is ordinary in its selection,everything is fresh and well stocked. We have never seen the desert menu since the portions are so generous. Our summer place is forty minutes away but we consider it worth the drive for the best dining experience around. And it is super casual.

Helpful?
Thank Mamawred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rockland House also viewed

 
Roscoe, Catskill Region
Roscoe, Catskill Region
 

Been to The Rockland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing