We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, friendly inn between Catskills and 'Gunks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
1850 House Inn & Tavern
Ranked #1 of 2 Rosendale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We wanted to stay in a place with history and personality, in easy reach of Woodstock, Rhinebeck and New Paltz to enjoy both the Catskills and Shawangunk Mountains. Rosendale was just the town, and The 1850 House on Main Street was just the place. Beautifully tended and furnished, photos of the town's history dressing the walls, a cozy tavern where we met with staff and locals before and after strolling a few blocks of shops to pick among good restaurants. Spacious sitting room with period pieces, sun room overlooking the lawn down to the river, full and superb breakfast. Owner, innkeeper, bar maid and receiving host all friendly and helpful. Hiked the rail trail that goes through mountains, by lakes and over the river on a walking trestle. Hope to be back next year when owner Mike promised a big deck on the lawn by the river!

Room Tip: All the rooms looked great and comfortable but if you're there on a Monday morning, you might op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2013

Rosendale is a small township in the Catskills. 1850 is a restored hotel and tavern on Main Street. This 200 plus year old building has been tastefully redone with modern amenities. The bar is small, intimate, and can mix all your drinks. The wine selection is adequate with several selections from small boutique wineries. Two separate sitting areas off the bar allow for an intimate quiet place to admire the gardens outside. I did not take breakfast so I can't comment. If you need a place to stay, this is the spot.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

In this quirky little town of Rosendale this is a lovely old tavern and inn. Amy, the manager, is very pleasant and thoughtful. We casually mentioned that we had celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary over the weekend and when we returned that evening she had placed a chilled bottle of champagne and two glasses in our room! We were very touched by this.

Breakfast was delicious each morning and we wished we could have lingered longer each day. All in all I would recommend this charming little inn to anyone.

However, I will mention that it ended up being about a 45 minute to 1 hour drive to see most of the sites we were planning to visit.

Room Tip: We had a room on the river side which was lovely, sunny and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shiraz-2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The proprietors of this Inn are very proud of its age and presentation. Certainly it is clean and has some oldish furniture. But the beds are not very comfortable (Why does a republic claim to offer 'Queen' sized beds?). In Room 9 your feet are above your head, and the mattrass appears to be unsprung. The overall effect being like trying to sleep in one of those folding occasional beds - when it's half closed.
Breakfast is a disaster: mushy fruit, yogurt which has separated, and a cooked breakfast one would hesitate to feed one's pet.
And then they charge $1.50 for the ice in 'on the rocks'. They said it's what is done in New York, as if that made it okay!
Not a clever ploy.

Room Tip: The web site offers rooms with 'mountain view' or 'river view'. River view is best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Burntfingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We just spent the week-end at the 1850 Inn (our second time there) and had a wonderful time. It's been newly renovated and has old time charm with all the modern conveniences. Rooms are clean and well furnished. We particularly liked the cozy tavern where we could relax and chat with the locals before going to our room. Breakfasts were good and varied. Mike, the owner, and his staff went out of their way to make you feel at home and meet your every need. They were knowledgeable about things to do in the area and its easy to get around the little villages. We will definitely stay there again when we're in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HistoryBuff314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Just got back from a ladies 2 day getaway from Long Island to the Hudson Valley and was thoroughly satisfied with our stay at the 1850 House in Rosendale! The Inn has all the charm of an historical building but all the modern conveniences of a comfortable inn...quite a rare combination in my travels! Everything is neat, clean, uncluttered and the beds were very comfortable. For a short stay, we found enough to do on Main St and plenty to do in the surrounding area. Everyone we met was friendly and happy to be living in the area. I would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patriciaanntherese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We loved this romantic little Inn. Set in the center of Rosendale. Wonderful beds and a flat screen tv. Excellent
breakfast and many places to just sit and relax. Super clean and well thought out furnishings. A late beverage can be had at the intimate little bar downstairs from our room. We will return here!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank duetravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosendale
9.8 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
332 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#1 of 5 in New Paltz
185 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa
10.1 mi away
Stonegate Bed and Breakfast
5.7 mi away
ElmRock Inn Bed and Breakfast
ElmRock Inn Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 6 in Stone Ridge
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1850 House Inn & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1850 House Inn & Tavern

Address: 435 Main Street, PO Box 33, Rosendale, NY 12472
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Rosendale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Rosendale
Price Range: £160 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — 1850 House Inn & Tavern 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A renovated historic hotel on the Rondout. The property features 11 guest rooms, a waterfront deck that serves fresh homemade food, many gluten free options are available daily. Our tavern boasts craft beers and signature cocktails. Cocktail favorites include house made red and white sangria with fresh fruit, thai chili margaritas and a garden mojito whose mint is picked on the property. We are located in Rosendale, N.Y. a town where you can park your car and walk to shops, dining, coffee, entertainment swimming and hiking. Check our promotions pages for our recent accommodations specials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your 1850 House Inn & Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing