We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A romantic retreat in the heart of the Hudson Valley”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
1850 House Inn & Tavern
Ranked #1 of 2 Rosendale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My boyfriend and I found this place last summer when we came up to the area to visit some of the Hudson Valley wineries. We instantly fell in love with it. The inn has been restored to evoke the history of the community of the mid-nineteenth century... while providing guests all the amenities of the twenty-first. The rooms have comfortable beds and seating areas, private bathrooms, flat screen tvs, free wi-fi and remote controlled heat/air. But it's the little touches that make all the difference. Little mini-fridges with bottles of water, guest robes, bathroom amenities including toothbrush, toothpaste and floss, and when we went back last weekend (now it is winter), they put a little electric fireplace in the room for extra warmth and atmosphere.

Downstairs reminds you of home... only better. The furniture has a distinct "Pottery Barn", and yet it still manages to feel like you are back in time. While sitting at the bar, which is clean and comfortable, you are reminded of the past with a huge photograph of the original bar, which was on the opposite wall. It's open to the public too, so in the evening after dinner, you might be having a nightcap with a few locals. The living room area has comfortable couches to sit and relax. You might even find a few games or books in the corner to enjoy a relaxing evening.

In the morning you come downstairs to the smell of a freshly made full-service breakfast. A large fruit salad, alongside spinach and cheese quiches, pancakes, bite-sized french toast or other gourmet treats awaits. Yogurt with granola or fruit as well. You will be stuffed! In a nod to the present, a self-service keurig with a plethora of coffee or tea options. Enjoy your morning meal at a small table in the front room facing the main street, or settle into the back room with your coffee overlooking the creek (and the deck- to be finished in the Spring)

The service is terrific. We loved it so much this summer that we went back last weekend to celebrate Valentine's Day. In our 2 day stay, we met Amy, Sunshine and Susie, and they all were wonderfully attentive to us at every turn.

The downtown of Rosendale is small, but there are a few good places to eat, and there is much to do in the area. If wineries are your thing, then there are several withing 30-45 minutes, including Whitehill and Tuthilltown Distillery. If outdoors is your thing, you can hike Mohonk, which is about 20 minutes away just outside New Paltz. And Bellayre, Windham and Hunter Mountain skiing are all about an hours drive. We even took a 30 minute detour to Hyde Park on the way home to see the Vanderbilt Mansion (also FDR's home and the Culinary Institute of America are there).

We plan on heading up again soon, and are even thinking of bringing friends with us and, and I'm even thinking of it as the perfect venue for an upcoming birthday party. It's warm, cozy, friendly, and just a perfect retreat for anyone looking to get away from the big city for a few days.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlixF76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at 1850 House Inn & Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2015

Wow, thanks so much for this amazing review!! We're so glad you have enjoyed all of your stays with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014

My wife and I stayed there for two nights before Christmas while visiting our son in New Palz. It is about 8 miles from New Palz, so convenient, without all the New Palz traffic. Room was reasonable size and comfortable. They have a variety of different rooms (doors were open on vacant rooms, so you could look at others). There are a couple of restaurants in Rosendale, plus the bar at the 1850 house serves a limited menu at night. Breakfast was included in the room cost (~$180), and had eggs, pancakes or French toast, fruit, cereal, yogurt, juice and coffee. We thought the food was quite good. In addition to being close to New Palz, the back of the B&B opens out to a river, and they are building a deck to overlook the river. It is also only about a 5 minute jog to the Walkill Valley Rail Trail, which I run, walk and bike on. All-in-all, a very pleasant stay, and we will definitely return.

Room Tip: May want to look at pictures of rooms online. Some rooms may also look out on the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wtrav77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at 1850 House Inn & Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2015

Thanks for leaving a review! We're glad you enjoyed your time here. Hope to see you again sometime soon so you can enjoy the deck now that it's open.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

My group of ten writers from Manhattan is leaving today after four wonderful days and nights at the Inn. It's the perfect size for a group meeting or professional retreat. The rooms and public spaces are all pristine and well appointed. The owner, the innkeeper, and the staff are good people across the board and work hard to make their guests feel welcome and cared for. There are more good restaurant choices for lunch and dinner in this small town than we would have imagined, and the breakfast each morning at the hotel was always excellent, as was one lunch the Inn catered for us on the day of our arrival. We will certainly come back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at 1850 House Inn & Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2015

Thanks for the great review, Fred! We hope to see you all again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

The owners have done a nice restoration job of this old hotel. While it is modern in every sense (flat screen TV, wine cooler, coffee and tea round-the-clock, capacious sitting room), the historic remains. Wide pine floor boards, old local photos and an appealing view of the Roundout make the 1850 House a lovely home away from home. The tavern is open after 4 PM. Service is gracious and welcoming. There is plenty of off street parking. We stayed three days over the Thanksgiving weekend and will surely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at 1850 House Inn & Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2015

Thanks so much for the review, David!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This was our second "weekend" away and now we know where we will be returning again and again. You see we always say we are going to "come back" for another weekend but never do. This time we did go back for our second weekend and already booked our third. We have come to enjoy the location and atmosphere of the 1850 House. The owners and staff made each stay exceptional and comforting from the morning breakfast to the evening spirits and conversations. The room was beautiful and clean and inviting and quite peaceful. Something to look forward to again and again. Kudos!

Room Tip: So far both rooms we have stayed in have been the same; quite, clean and inviting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at 1850 House Inn & Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2015

Thanks for leaving a review, Stacey. Always a pleasure having you here. Looking forward to seeing you again in July!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Nice hotel with friendly helpful owners, much preferable to staying in a chain. We visited several places of interest nearby, including Olana, Dia:Beacon, Storm King, Woodstock and Minnewaska State Park. We also did some cycling -- we headed over the ridge to 6A and the climb to Mohonk, and had 1600 vertical feet of ascent in the first eight miles. The roads are quiet and beautiful, as long as you stay off a couple of busy thoroughfares. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at 1850 House Inn & Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2015

Thanks for highly recommending us in your review, Paul!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The foundation has been established, the time has arrived. The words are written, the ring is in hand. In your mind, you envision how it’s going to happen — moment by precious moment. Yet, the question lingers: Where to actually stay when you’re going to ask the person you love to spend the rest of your life with you? The 1850 House Inn & Tavern wasn’t simply “great” or “awesome” or any of those colorful descriptors — it was the “perfect” setting to begin the next chapter of our life journey.

Due to the time of year (i.e., the height of the foliage season in Ulster County), the question of “where” went unanswered for up to one week before the main event. With one room vacant (a suite, nonetheless!), Amy (innkeeper) and Mike (owner) were beyond accommodating, taking hospitality to the next level. Champagne, flowers, and, wouldn’t you know it — Mike chauffeured us up to the trestle that now serves as part of the Rail Trail for a gorgeous morning view over the Roundout before we set out on our big day. And attention all foodies — please take note: Breakfast was homemade, satisfying, and DELICIOUS!

And the inn itself? Full of that mid-1800s charm and character — the sense of antiquity and the historical element were well-preserved through the artifacts from the building’s history that adorned every room in the common area. Our suite was a charming and incredibly comfortable combination of old and new — if it was a bad-weather weekend, we would have been perfectly happy just hanging out in the room…and most likely downstairs in the beautifully preserved tavern (that had some great local craft beers on tap!). An after-hours drink with the owner and innkeeper made our stay all the more intimate and “homey”, which showed their interest in getting to know their guests on a more personal level.

Avid outdoors people that we are, this engagement could only happen at the location of our first hike (five years earlier) out on the Millbrook Range. So to make the day even more memorable, I purchased the “Picnic In The Park” package — Amy had a fully-loaded picnic backpack ready for me in the morning (which I surreptitiously hid in my car!) and we went on our merry way. After our assent to the top of the mountain, words were said and tears were shed. And when all was said and done, the perfect day became part of a priceless chapter in our life story.

Needless to say, the weekend could never have been what it was had it not been for the care, attention, and hospitality that Mike and Amy provided. Their personable, approachable warmth and kindness were felt, as was their willingness to support my efforts to “make it all happen”. In an ocean of mediocre B&Bs, our experience in Rosendale on that momentous weekend set a new precedent for us. Now that the 1850 House is part of our life story, we look forward to many more happy returns — not necessarily to repeat history, but to make new memories that write new chapters in our life book.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Josh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosendale
9.8 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
335 reviews
12.5 mi away
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
#5 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
282 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton New Paltz NY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Stonegate Bed and Breakfast
8.3 mi away
Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast
10.5 mi away
Beekman Arms and Delamater Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1850 House Inn & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1850 House Inn & Tavern

Address: 435 Main Street, PO Box 33, Rosendale, NY 12472
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Rosendale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Rosendale
Price Range: £143 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — 1850 House Inn & Tavern 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A renovated historic hotel on the Rondout. The property features 11 guest rooms, a seasonal waterfront deck that serves fresh homemade food, many gluten free options are available daily. Our tavern boasts craft beers and signature cocktails. Located in Rosendale, N.Y. where you can park your car and walk to shops, dining, coffee, entertainment, swimming and hiking. Check our promotions pages for our recent accommodations specials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your 1850 House Inn & Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing