We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect In Every Way!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
1850 House Inn & Tavern
Ranked #1 of 2 Rosendale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I had to be in Rosendale for a meeting, and my partner and I decided to make a romantic country wknd out of it too. 1850 House was PERFECT in every way. Super clean, incredibly comfortable sleep, spacious, the breakfast was absolutely delicious. Kyle greeted us upon arrival and showed us around the Inn, great, easy and fun conversation. We felt free to come and go and make ourselves at home while maintaining privacy.
Rosendale is such a wonderful town filled with great people, lots of creative things to check out, great hiking, beautiful creek...
I just cannot say enough. Thank you for a wonderful wknd. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KimFraczek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at 1850 House Inn & Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2015

Thanks so much for the review Kim! We can't wait for your return either.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

We recently stayed at the 1850 House and could not be more pleased. The house is beautifully renovated and has a homey feel -- perfect after a day of hiking. The staff was also very warm and welcoming. Amy, the inn keeper, was so friendly and offered lots of great suggestions. We will definitely be back again.

Room Tip: You should aim for a room with a river view (they tend to be quieter). If you are a light sleeper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carlos B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at 1850 House Inn & Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2015

Thanks for the fantastic review, Carlos!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

My wife and I stayed one night here on the way to Lake Placid. I was very happy we stopped here as I had never passed through this quaint NY town before. Rosendale has the typical upstate NY town feel with a nice historic flair to it. It is also fairly close to the thruway and New Paltz. The Inn really brings you back in time with the wide planks and some antique furnishings with some welcome modern comfort touches. I loved the small tavern on the first floor, perfect spot to pass some time.

The room (#1) was very clean and comfortable. We were shown another room but picked the first. I would have been fine just staying in the room if there was bad weather. The bed was comfortable and our room was only up one flight of stairs. There was a flat screen tv mounted on the wall that could be moved to different angles.

The owner Mike and all the staff were extremely outgoing and made us feel at home. We walked down to the red brick tavern and had a great meal on Mike's recommendation. The breakfast the next morning was tasty, pancakes and fruit with coffee.

We will definitely stay here again soon. If you have never been through Rosendale before, its really worth a stop.

Room Tip: Room 1 has a great view of the creek and is decent in size
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gimper90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy S, Manager at 1850 House Inn & Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you for staying with us! We had a blast with you as well and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My boyfriend and I found this place last summer when we came up to the area to visit some of the Hudson Valley wineries. We instantly fell in love with it. The inn has been restored to evoke the history of the community of the mid-nineteenth century... while providing guests all the amenities of the twenty-first. The rooms have comfortable beds and seating areas, private bathrooms, flat screen tvs, free wi-fi and remote controlled heat/air. But it's the little touches that make all the difference. Little mini-fridges with bottles of water, guest robes, bathroom amenities including toothbrush, toothpaste and floss, and when we went back last weekend (now it is winter), they put a little electric fireplace in the room for extra warmth and atmosphere.

Downstairs reminds you of home... only better. The furniture has a distinct "Pottery Barn", and yet it still manages to feel like you are back in time. While sitting at the bar, which is clean and comfortable, you are reminded of the past with a huge photograph of the original bar, which was on the opposite wall. It's open to the public too, so in the evening after dinner, you might be having a nightcap with a few locals. The living room area has comfortable couches to sit and relax. You might even find a few games or books in the corner to enjoy a relaxing evening.

In the morning you come downstairs to the smell of a freshly made full-service breakfast. A large fruit salad, alongside spinach and cheese quiches, pancakes, bite-sized french toast or other gourmet treats awaits. Yogurt with granola or fruit as well. You will be stuffed! In a nod to the present, a self-service keurig with a plethora of coffee or tea options. Enjoy your morning meal at a small table in the front room facing the main street, or settle into the back room with your coffee overlooking the creek (and the deck- to be finished in the Spring)

The service is terrific. We loved it so much this summer that we went back last weekend to celebrate Valentine's Day. In our 2 day stay, we met Amy, Sunshine and Susie, and they all were wonderfully attentive to us at every turn.

The downtown of Rosendale is small, but there are a few good places to eat, and there is much to do in the area. If wineries are your thing, then there are several withing 30-45 minutes, including Whitehill and Tuthilltown Distillery. If outdoors is your thing, you can hike Mohonk, which is about 20 minutes away just outside New Paltz. And Bellayre, Windham and Hunter Mountain skiing are all about an hours drive. We even took a 30 minute detour to Hyde Park on the way home to see the Vanderbilt Mansion (also FDR's home and the Culinary Institute of America are there).

We plan on heading up again soon, and are even thinking of bringing friends with us and, and I'm even thinking of it as the perfect venue for an upcoming birthday party. It's warm, cozy, friendly, and just a perfect retreat for anyone looking to get away from the big city for a few days.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlixF76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at 1850 House Inn & Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2015

Wow, thanks so much for this amazing review!! We're so glad you have enjoyed all of your stays with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

My wife and I stayed there for two nights before Christmas while visiting our son in New Palz. It is about 8 miles from New Palz, so convenient, without all the New Palz traffic. Room was reasonable size and comfortable. They have a variety of different rooms (doors were open on vacant rooms, so you could look at others). There are a couple of restaurants in Rosendale, plus the bar at the 1850 house serves a limited menu at night. Breakfast was included in the room cost (~$180), and had eggs, pancakes or French toast, fruit, cereal, yogurt, juice and coffee. We thought the food was quite good. In addition to being close to New Palz, the back of the B&B opens out to a river, and they are building a deck to overlook the river. It is also only about a 5 minute jog to the Walkill Valley Rail Trail, which I run, walk and bike on. All-in-all, a very pleasant stay, and we will definitely return.

Room Tip: May want to look at pictures of rooms online. Some rooms may also look out on the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wtrav77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at 1850 House Inn & Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2015

Thanks for leaving a review! We're glad you enjoyed your time here. Hope to see you again sometime soon so you can enjoy the deck now that it's open.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

My group of ten writers from Manhattan is leaving today after four wonderful days and nights at the Inn. It's the perfect size for a group meeting or professional retreat. The rooms and public spaces are all pristine and well appointed. The owner, the innkeeper, and the staff are good people across the board and work hard to make their guests feel welcome and cared for. There are more good restaurant choices for lunch and dinner in this small town than we would have imagined, and the breakfast each morning at the hotel was always excellent, as was one lunch the Inn catered for us on the day of our arrival. We will certainly come back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at 1850 House Inn & Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2015

Thanks for the great review, Fred! We hope to see you all again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

The owners have done a nice restoration job of this old hotel. While it is modern in every sense (flat screen TV, wine cooler, coffee and tea round-the-clock, capacious sitting room), the historic remains. Wide pine floor boards, old local photos and an appealing view of the Roundout make the 1850 House a lovely home away from home. The tavern is open after 4 PM. Service is gracious and welcoming. There is plenty of off street parking. We stayed three days over the Thanksgiving weekend and will surely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at 1850 House Inn & Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2015

Thanks so much for the review, David!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosendale
7.2 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton New Paltz NY
10 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
924 reviews
9.8 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Kingston Hotel & Conference Center
10.5 mi away
Beekman Arms and Delamater Inn
3.2 mi away
Hasbrouck House
Hasbrouck House
#2 of 6 in Stone Ridge
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1850 House Inn & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1850 House Inn & Tavern

Address: 435 Main Street, PO Box 33, Rosendale, NY 12472
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Rosendale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Rosendale
Price Range: £160 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — 1850 House Inn & Tavern 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A renovated historic hotel on the Rondout. The property features 11 guest rooms, a waterfront deck that serves fresh homemade food, many gluten free options are available daily. Our tavern boasts craft beers and signature cocktails. Cocktail favorites include house made red and white sangria with fresh fruit, thai chili margaritas and a garden mojito whose mint is picked on the property. We are located in Rosendale, N.Y. a town where you can park your car and walk to shops, dining, coffee, entertainment swimming and hiking. Check our promotions pages for our recent accommodations specials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your 1850 House Inn & Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing