We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good Mexican”
Review of POCO LOCO - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
POCO LOCO
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Syosset, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Consistently good Mexican”
Reviewed 16 April 2013

I have been coming to Poco Loco for over 15 years. The food is consistently good. The Salsa and chips put on the table upon seating is exceptionally good. We love the pitchers of Margaritas. Queso Fundido appetizer is a fav! We usually have fajitas because they are soooo good. My daughter, a vegetarian, always has plenty of options. They have valet parking and a large lot.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    6
    6
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Forest Hills, New York
Level Contributor
138 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Very cool spot with good Mexican food!”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Wow Im surprised at the mixed reviews at this spot. I was there with my groupon and like a lot of other patrons using it before it expired that night. The place is a quaint, corny decorated restaurant. When we first arrived, I requested to sit outside because it was a beautiful night. The server had the nerve to tell us we couldnt sit outside because they were expecting a busy night and there werent any other 2 person tables available. I informed her that they were a lot of 4 people tables available and wanted to sit at one. Ms. Thang wouldnt bulge so I requested to see a Manager and when she returned, the manager allegedly okayed us to sit outside. Thankfully I didnt let that hostess ruin our evening. Unfortunately, we were seated to a group with about 3 young girls dressed in cinderella outfits and behaving like they were in a park. I couldnt believe how much their parents let them get away with at a restaurant.

I ordered the enchiladas that was served with rice and beans and it was very tasty. My friend ordered the salmon and was equally pleased with the meal. My friend said their margarita was too salty but loved my mango dacqueri. Our waitress was a sweetheart, very attentive and friendly.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Love it.”
Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

Food Very good.
Interior decor I love it.
Size of serving big.
Speed of serving not bad.
Very clean area.
Parking easy to find.

Helpful?
Thank Atalinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mineola, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mexican high quality surprise!”
Reviewed 11 January 2013

It started with a groupon. It was a good deal, $40 for $20. But the real surprize was when I arrived to Valet parking for a Mexican restaurant. It continued with friendly service & a highly hospitable atmosphere. The menu choice was good, and the food was excellent in quality. I was quiet surprized that they had such a good crowd on a Tues nite. When I dug in, I knew why. Very tastey food at very reasonable prices. The decor was pretty Mexican also, I would know, as I lived in Mexico for 2 years when I was a young lad. It's a nice little inexpensive spicy surprize if you visit Nassau County.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Santiago M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
161 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 431 helpful votes
“Your General Mexican Restaurant”
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Poco Loco is a tired and a tad run down Mexican restaurant on the skirt of the Village of Rosly, NY. The food is good and well prepared but there is much better Mexican restaurants within less than half a mile.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank YodaNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed POCO LOCO also viewed

Roslyn, Long Island
Roslyn, Long Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing