We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable and good”
Review of MP Taverna

MP Taverna
Reserve with OpenTable
MP Taverna is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 38 Restaurants in Roslyn
Price range: US$29 - US$31
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: MP Taverna is located in Roslyn. We serve Greek cuisine.
Jamaica, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Reasonable and good”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

One of 3 Greek restaurants in the area, this one is most reasonable. Its not as fancy as the others but the quality of food is good.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    59
    20
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Queens, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One of my very favorites”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I have been here on many occasions and I love it. There are always a handful of daily specials. To start, the meatballs, crab, and Greek sausage, and calamari is sure to be a hit. In terms of main courses, there.s always a great fish option, and the lamb chops are great and it's hard to decide what to select when they are on the menu. Another personal favorite is the lamb shank. The staff is great, and the atmosphere is better on the main floor vs. upstairs. There normally isn't ridiculously loud music, so you can actually enjoy a conversation. That's always a plus in my book and another reason why this is a favorite to celebrate special occasions.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Washington, New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Food remains excellent/service is starting to slip”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We had another wonderful dinner at MP Taverna -- everything was fresh and delicious! We love the grilled octopus and chickpea salad, their grilled fish and lemon chicken dishes. They are simply wonderful. However, the service is starting to slip from attentive to mediocre. For example, bread was brought without butter or oil; when we asked for some, it never arrived. We waited for our drinks (perhaps the bartender was busy) for 10 minutes with no explanation. The food will bring us back, but the service needs to improve.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arty_woman69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely Appalling”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Where can we start? We were practically the only people in the restaurant on Friday, 9/6. Thought we'd grab a bite before the US Open. The bar tender was a wreck- he looked disheveled, barely noticed the only people in the place. We ordered apps. He never offered bread, no plates were offered with the apps, we were invisible. The food was not nearly as good as it used to be. What appeared to be a "manager" jumped behind the bar looking for a receipt or a piece of paper- the two of them started digging through all of the trash cans for this sheet of paper. Neither washed their hands! Can you imagine- it was a ten minute ordeal, right in front of us. One of the only few other people there was a kid applying for a job- he was there for a good 30 minutes- being ignored. I hope he found a better place to work at. We won't go back and it's a shame- it used to be a favorite spot for us!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank shirl s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Chef you are losing control”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Visited 4-5 times and was impressed at first with quality of food, choices and service.
Food was quite good as was the service. Even upstairs where food needs to be brought from the downstairs kitchen the service by runners and waiters moving between floors was fine..
The celebrity chef/owner Michael Psilakis must have been more involved at that time.
Our last visit was not good. Two of the 3 entrees were sent back because they were NOT hot. They came back and even then they were tepid. Once should not happen but twice means trouble. Desserts were offered complimentary and accepted.
We like this restaurant, its menu, and are saddened to see it operate this way.
Certainly try it if you have not already, but be prepared should they have a bad day.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bob f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed MP Taverna also viewed

Roslyn, Long Island
Roslyn, Long Island
 
Roslyn, Long Island
 
Roslyn Heights, Long Island
Roslyn, Long Island
 

Been to MP Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing