We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a good experience”
Review of Hendrick's Tavern

Hendrick's Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
Hendrick's Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 38 Restaurants in Roslyn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: new restaurant
Long Island, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Always a good experience”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The bartenders and wait staff are great. Food always delicious and prepared the way you request. It's definitely busy on the weekends but if you don't mind the crowds it's worth it. I suggest you make a reservation.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jodi Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    56
    34
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plainview, New York
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fresh”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The raw selections were as good as any place on LI. The service was very good and the decor and music are interesting without being pretentious. Get there before all the "cool" people arrive, whic is usually around 9, if you want to really enjoy this place.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Mixed ....”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

It was a cold & wet evening. I met friends (4) at Hendricks. The valet staff was fabulous, courteous, & swift. The restaurant was not crowded. But there's something off about the serving staff. It's not the first time we've all commented on this. The servers are almost too "friendly", too familiar with patrons at the sacrifice of being attentive to other tables. Our observation was that the staff tend to stand & chit chat at certain tables & you just can't get their attention when & if needed. We each noticed this on more then one occasion so we aren't imagining it. Actually, it also happened at our table this same evening. The server stood & engaged in chatter with us instead of taking care of a table that was trying to gain his attention, we pointed it out to our server & he made his way over to that table. This seems to be a trend among Hendricks servers because it was not just our server who behaved this way. The food is adequate & we commented on the amount of salt & grease that accompanied many of our side dishes. The bar makes nice drinks & the coffee is wonderful. With so many great area restaurants to choose from, I don't know if there's anything that stands out & draws us back to Hendricks or enough about the food & odd menu selections at Hendricks that makes it a must return venue.
I really want to say better things ... Sorry ...

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorelei L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Food & lovely service!”
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

We took some colleagues for a business lunch here and were delighted by the food and the ambiance. The waiter was kind enough to even open out table up after realizing we were crowded with all our folders and tablets. The best appetizer by far was the eggplant and zucchini chips! We had to order 2 because they flew off the plate. The steak was exceptional but being that they are owned by Bryant & Cooper I wouldn't expect anything less.

Helpful?
Thank lext484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roslyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not your old George Washington Manor”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Since renovating the old George Washington Manor, which I loved, I have come to like this restaurant but it is a special occasion place for me, not the every Friday night place to go to.
Good food, very different selection of food, not your usual restaurant fair, great service.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank litlblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hendrick's Tavern also viewed

Roslyn, Long Island
Roslyn, Long Island
 
Roslyn, Long Island
 
Roslyn Heights, Long Island
Roslyn, Long Island
 

Been to Hendrick's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing