We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!”
Review of The Roslyn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Roslyn Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Roslyn
Cincinnati
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

It's hard to find a good place to stay in this area of Long Island. The Roslyn hotel is the best experience I've had. It's a small hotel, but the rooms are large and well furnished. The staff is friendly and it has a small workout facility, free WiFi, etc.

But, the biggest advantage is the location. It is a one minute walk from the Roslyn town center. So, you've got good restaurants, stores, a movie theater, drug store, etc. all right next to the hotel. That makes it easy to get out and walk around, find a good place to eat, etc. which makes it a much more pleasant experience than most places I've stayed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the parking lot. The rooms on the front overlook the street and, while q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelRichC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    72
    62
    29
    34
See reviews for
117
54
21
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed in the hotel on August 17th when we were attending a nearby wedding. We were initially pleased with the hotel. About 2:30 or 3 am some rowdy guests returned to the hotel and a fight broke out. There was yelling and screaming. I tried to call the front desk several times but no one answered the phone - the next morning we were told the employee was trying to break up the fight. Someone called the police and after about an hour of disruption things quieted down. The next morning, many guests were expressing concerns. There was no manager or person with any authority to answer questions. When I returned home to Virginia, I called the hotel. The person answering the phone was not aware of what had transpired. I left a message for the manager and did not receive a response. My mother who also stayed in the hotel that night did finally reach a manager and was told the hotel was not going to do anything to compensate the disrupted guests in anyway. I have stayed in many hotels and have never received such inadequate customer service. The hotel staff should have been very embarrassed about the situation and at least issued an apology and some follow up to its guests. I would not recommend this hotel. I understand that the fight was an isolated incident but the hotels's lack of response is inexcusable.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twyford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Firstly I would say that I've made allowance for the fact that there was work being done on the hotel. The staff were friendly and the rooms were a good size but everything else had the feeling of "just enough" about it. The decor felt tired, breakfast was basic, internet was slow and the cover on the ironing board kept coming off (although so many hotels don't pay attention to things like this). The shuttle service was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fipzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Friends of mine stayed here. They went to bed at about 10 p.m. At 1:30 a.m. someone opened their door with a key. My friend jumped up and slammed the door. At 3 a..m. the same thing happened. They called the desk, but no one answered. When they were leaving, at 4 a.m. because they decided they had had enough...the desk clerk pretended ignorance and denied the incidents had ever happened. Later in the day, my friend called again..was told they were going to look at the security cameras and see what happened. She was also told that the hotel had tried to call her home and her cell. This was a falsehood. They did however, refund her money. But that is not the issue. Hotel safety is the issue. I can not in good conscience ever recommend the Claremont again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 11bern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CindyYoung, General Manager at The Roslyn Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I had e-mailed you regarding your friend's stay a week ago,but I did want to share what I found.
As security is our top priority we had state of the art RFID electronic locks installed in all our rooms last year. These locks record all activity entering a room. As we did not see anything on our security surveillance cameras, we looked into the activity of the room lock which took us a little longer.
The activity log for the guest's stay shows first access for that day was at 4:49 pm by the guest. It was then accessed by the guest at 8:22 pm and 9:07pm by the guest.
There was no other access to the room until 12:41 pm the next day by housekeeping. I e-mailed you a copy of the log.
We do know money was not the issue, but we refunded the guest in full before looking into the matter. Thank you again for letting us know of your concerns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Roslyn hotels

Cape May, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

It has taken me a while to write this review as I felt that I should calm down first. We had 30 rooms booked for close to a year for my Son's Wedding November 2012. unfortunately, Hurricane Sandy came along and displaced many local residents. At first, when asked if maybe we could have some guests "double up" due to the displaced residents, ,many of whom I was told had severe medical conditions and could not leave i was happy to oblige. The same was asked of another wedding staying at the Hotel, and they agreed also. I was able to free up 3 rooms, and so did the other wedding. On the way to the Church, I was told by the extremely rude new owner that if I din't give up another room right now, some of my guests would be turned out immediately. Some of my guest had driven 5 hours. One of them said that they would be happy to double up, just comp one of the rooms. The owner said "no way". This is when we found out that he had charged a couple $500 the night before when they came in, so obviously they were not that short on rooms. Not very humanitarian if you asked me. Would rather sleep in my car than give him one more dollar.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CapemaySailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

It was nice but we won't stay there again. Not memorable or fabulous just nice. The staff made it so. The hotel needs love but the locals seem to like it there for weddings and anniversaries. The breakfast buffet was yucky and I just don't have a better term. It was noisy with wedding revelers til the wee hours of the night. The town itself is quite charming as was our day at Sands Point Preserve and the entire middle neck area as well as the shopping at Americana Manhasset. Mostly window shopping but we did find some deals.

Room Tip: ask for the third floor away from the wedding patrons
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jabmyeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cherry hill
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We recently stayed at the Roslyn Hotel, formerly the Roslyn Claremont. We had a rehearsal dinner there and the food and staff were excellent. They went out of their way to make sure we were happy and were attentive to all of the details. They made sure that all of our needs were met from the food to making sure we got a last minute suite. Thank you Laura and Cindy for making our weekend stay perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bromberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roslyn
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express ROSLYN - MANHASSET AREA
4.2 mi away
Inn at Great Neck, BW Premier Collection
5.2 mi away
Viana Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Glen Cove Mansion and Conference Center
5.4 mi away
Garden City Hotel
Garden City Hotel
#2 of 4 in Garden City
525 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roslyn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roslyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roslyn Hotel

Property: The Roslyn Hotel
Address: 1221 Old Northern Blvd, Roslyn, NY 11576-1623
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Roslyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Roslyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roslyn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Roslyn Hotel provides a boutique hotel experience in Long Island’s North Shore in the historic village of Roslyn. Lined with charming shops and exquisite homes, the hotel is a true neighborhood destination. The Roslyn Hotel focuses on personalized, impeccable service and creating memorable stays whether for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Roslyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Roslyn Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing