We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very old.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Roslyn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Roslyn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Roslyn
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very old.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

I stay on the first floor or the basement. It was horrible. There was noise from the ac or heater.. The furniture was so.old . The bed was old n very uncomfortable. I will never stay there again. N i would never recommend any one to stay there. Its just so old n scary. I think the only part of the room that was renovated was the bathroom.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank wardie182126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    67
    59
    28
    32
See reviews for
112
51
19
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Unfortunately, we had a very bad experience at the hotel. Our room was cold and the staff instead of helping or apologizing , simply dismissed the complain. Add to that pillows that were more like stones, we spent terrible night there. Never again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank idus1926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Roslyn hotels

1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

I am a business traveler who stays at multiple hotels. I am subject to cancelation at a moments notice and subsequently have to cancel my hotel frequently. Long story short I tried to cancel my reservation 8 hours prior to check in and the hotel charged me for the full night plus tax. I cannot speak of the amenities or guest services and nor will I ever be able to. The Hampton Inn a few miles away has a better cancelation policy. Same with the Holiday inn and Marriot.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pompton Plains, New Jersey
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Walls are paper thin, connecting doors make it worse. Some of the staff is great, others couldn't care less about customer service.

The coffee at breakfast is the kind that is made from coffee concentrate, undrinkable for me, so it is nice that my room had a Keurig coffee maker. I guess that's why it's a boutique hotel????

Anyway, the bedspreads...really bedspreads? are from another place and time...or maybe they are just old. Soiled carpet...a desk chair that could be used for torture purposes. Bed was just OK. As other reviewers remarked, normal speaking voices and TV set volume clearly goes through the walls.

After saying all of this...the hotel COULD be a gem. The location is its best asset. Driving to another hotel would add unknown amounts of time to my commute so I bring earplugs and suffer.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanCohen55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

The hotel staff was vey nice and helpful.

The breakfast is included and was wonderful. The bathroom was spacious and the bath products nice.

The rooms furnishings themselves do not seem quite up to par with most boutique hotels. Although the bed was very comfortable.

The only food a available at night from the hotel itself is a deli sandwich, which was quite good or a salad, which I did not try. But you can order in and there seemed to be a few restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

I spent a night here; the room was clean but dingy due to a prison-like slit window looking onto the road outside from where I could here trucks cruising past. Breakfast was fine although allow an extra five minutes to try to get your bagels anywhere warm towards "toasted". I think this hotel does a itself a disservice by calling itself a boutique hotel when there are many real and fantastic boutique hotels in nearby Manhattan.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidandArti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bellmore, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Stayed in this boutique hidden gem in Roslyn. Went to a Wedding last night and we came into a well lit secure location. We had breakfast this morning and it was ample with enough of a selection to satisfy the needs of most people. We sat in a large group and no one felt rushed or being rushed out even when the breakfast hours were over. I would certainly recommend this hotel to any one who is visiting on the north shore of Long Island in the Roslyn, Port Washington, Great Neck and Manhasset Area. My family and friends were very happy with the clean appointed rooms.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shep48274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roslyn
5.9 mi away
Glen Cove Mansion and Conference Center
5.2 mi away
Viana Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express ROSLYN - MANHASSET AREA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Inn at Great Neck, BW Premier Collection
3.9 mi away
The Andrew Hotel
The Andrew Hotel
#2 of 2 in Great Neck
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
5.4 mi away
Garden City Hotel
Garden City Hotel
#3 of 4 in Garden City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roslyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roslyn Hotel

Property: The Roslyn Hotel
Address: 1221 Old Northern Blvd, Roslyn, NY 11576-1623
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Roslyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Roslyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roslyn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Roslyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Roslyn Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing