We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Busy place and can get quite loud so careful where your room is”
Review of The Roslyn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Roslyn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Roslyn
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Busy place and can get quite loud so careful where your room is”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Not many options for nice hotels to stay in on the North Shore of Long Island near Manhasset, so we booked this hotel. Arrived around 9pm in the rain and checked in. They have a lobby bar area and since this hotel is about the only one around, family parties for bar mitvahs and weddings seem to be the standard along with the gatherings in the lobby bar until late night. We were given a room right next to the lobby and after closing the door and feeling as though we were part of the party, went back and asked for a more quiet room and were upgraded to a nicer room and a quiet one. Seems a bit dated but since it is the only game in town, you take what you get.
Unfortunately we left our rental car lights on and when came out Sunday morning found a dead battery. No jumper cables available and the desk clerk called around everywhere to try to find some. THey have a policy that no employee can help jump a car so we were out of luck. We said we would sign a liability waiver but no way. Finally one of the maintenance crew said they would help us and we got a jump. Thank you to that person who saw someone in need and did was was such a nice thing.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank IPSAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    67
    60
    28
    32
See reviews for
113
51
19
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cartersville, Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
102 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed here as it was our first visit to New York and we came for a family gathering. The room was an adequate size but the furniture a bit out dated. There were no comfortable chairs to relax in and watch TV. The chair provided was a wooden arm chair. So your only option was to sit on the bed and turn sideways or use the headboard for your back and put your feet up - not the best option!

The room was noisy - the person in the adjacent room wheezed at night, sounded like a room of kittens next door. In addition the hotel sits right on the road so the traffic noises, though not as frequent during the night, were a bit loud. We discovered the reason for this is the windows were open. However you could not close them, each was open about 1/4 inch at the top - which was enough to allow in the sounds but keep the room temperature even. We had no problems with the HVAC - room warmed up quickly or cooled quickly depending on the time of day.

Breakfast was from 8am to 10am. This was a surprise as most hotels start around 6am. Breakfast options were typical - scrambled eggs, cereal, oatmeal, variety of bread and muffins. Coffee seemed to run out frequently and the toaster was extremely slow. Decor in the room itself was tired and dated. Bathroom fixtures also old - apparently at some point there were renovations as there was still drywall mud on the faucets (which could have been cleaned off, it is not permanent, a little water and effort removes that!). There was sufficient parking in the rear and the hotel is in a convenient location to the quaint town and easy access to expressways.

Overall stay was alright, we only interacted with the front desk at check in - she was very polite and courteous. Not being familiar with other hotels in the area - I would think the price of $360 for a queen bed for two nights was a bit on the high side. A chain hotel might be a better value and would probably have more updated rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side are probably quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rovingruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I stay on the first floor or the basement. It was horrible. There was noise from the ac or heater.. The furniture was so.old . The bed was old n very uncomfortable. I will never stay there again. N i would never recommend any one to stay there. Its just so old n scary. I think the only part of the room that was renovated was the bathroom.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank wardie182126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Roslyn hotels

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Unfortunately, we had a very bad experience at the hotel. Our room was cold and the staff instead of helping or apologizing , simply dismissed the complain. Add to that pillows that were more like stones, we spent terrible night there. Never again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank idus1926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I am a business traveler who stays at multiple hotels. I am subject to cancelation at a moments notice and subsequently have to cancel my hotel frequently. Long story short I tried to cancel my reservation 8 hours prior to check in and the hotel charged me for the full night plus tax. I cannot speak of the amenities or guest services and nor will I ever be able to. The Hampton Inn a few miles away has a better cancelation policy. Same with the Holiday inn and Marriot.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pompton Plains, New Jersey
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Walls are paper thin, connecting doors make it worse. Some of the staff is great, others couldn't care less about customer service.

The coffee at breakfast is the kind that is made from coffee concentrate, undrinkable for me, so it is nice that my room had a Keurig coffee maker. I guess that's why it's a boutique hotel????

Anyway, the bedspreads...really bedspreads? are from another place and time...or maybe they are just old. Soiled carpet...a desk chair that could be used for torture purposes. Bed was just OK. As other reviewers remarked, normal speaking voices and TV set volume clearly goes through the walls.

After saying all of this...the hotel COULD be a gem. The location is its best asset. Driving to another hotel would add unknown amounts of time to my commute so I bring earplugs and suffer.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanCohen55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The hotel staff was vey nice and helpful.

The breakfast is included and was wonderful. The bathroom was spacious and the bath products nice.

The rooms furnishings themselves do not seem quite up to par with most boutique hotels. Although the bed was very comfortable.

The only food a available at night from the hotel itself is a deli sandwich, which was quite good or a salad, which I did not try. But you can order in and there seemed to be a few restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roslyn
5.9 mi away
Glen Cove Mansion and Conference Center
5.2 mi away
Viana Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express ROSLYN - MANHASSET AREA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Inn at Great Neck, BW Premier Collection
3.9 mi away
The Andrew Hotel
The Andrew Hotel
#2 of 2 in Great Neck
3.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
5.4 mi away
Garden City Hotel
Garden City Hotel
#2 of 4 in Garden City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roslyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roslyn Hotel

Property: The Roslyn Hotel
Address: 1221 Old Northern Blvd, Roslyn, NY 11576-1623
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Roslyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Roslyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roslyn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Roslyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Roslyn Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing