We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience...can't wait to see what's next!!”
Review of The Roslyn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Roslyn Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Roslyn
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

I had traveled to New York for a conference and I had a few hotels to choose from. After staying at the Roslyn Hotel I have been shown a different category of hotels completely. First, the convenience. Right off of the Long Island Expressway, it is easily accessible and makes traveling less stressful. The location: beautiful. Right from my room I was able to see the Hempstead Harbor and a beautiful scenic view of the trees and hills. Hard to think I could find a place that has such a view so close to Manhattan. Next, the ambiance. The hotel has a very historic feel to it. Very elegant lobby and waiting area with possibly the most beautiful architecture I've seen. Reminded me more of a country club then a hotel. The staff was impeccable. They were very kind and made sure that we were taken care of at all times. Currently under renovations, I can't wait to see what it will look like after it has been completed.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Galil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
There are newer reviews for The Roslyn Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed here while visiting relatives in the area. The location was the only positive thing other than the staff was very friendly and helpful. There was a sign stating that they were renovating which is sorely needed. The beds were very bad and lumpy. The hotel is within walking distance of many restaurants which is a plus. The continental breakfast had stale pastries and over watered powdered eggs.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Verde1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Reading these reviews makes me very upset. I enjoyed my stay. The hotel is beautiful and the furnishings are antique. They are renovating the entire hotel giving it a very modern feel. I thought the staff was very nice and breakfast was great! I Will definitely go again.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Taylor E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The room smelled disgusting. The smell stuck to our clothes and left a bad taste in our mouths. There were flies, dirty carpet, dirty bed cover, very old furnishings. We were not given what we booked and confirmed earlier that morning. When we complained the manager left the premises because he was "sick". Finally two hours later an assistant manager met with us and said in a very rude way - if we we weren't happy to leave. By this time it was 20 minutes until our reunion and we didn't have time to leave. Expensive, dirty, not given what we booked, rude and a cold breakfast. Never again. RUN!!! DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay at the Rosyln Claremont Hotel.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
10  Thank Emilie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROSLYNMGR, Manager at The Roslyn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

We’re sorry to hear that your stay with us was not an enjoyable one as our goal is to exceed your expectations. We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review as we do appreciate any and all feedback so we can continue to make improvements. The Roslyn Hotel has recently completed the remodeling of all our guest rooms including new carpets, fresh paint and modern furniture as well updates to our open areas. We hope that you will reconsider staying with us again in the future to experience the improvements first hand.
Thank you,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The location is great to stay compared to NY highways. Although the renovations are in progress by new management staff, it will get better over time. I saw a major re-hauling of the rooms. Being in historic neighborhood, the hotels has feel of a mix of old style with modern style. Will definitely come again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simplynice o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I recently stayed at the Roslyn Hotel on my yearly company meeting, and wanted to share that I was pleased with to see the results of the upgrades. The room was nicely decorated, and comfortable. Being a heavy coffee drinker, loved having a Keurig in my room! My favorite meal of the day is breakfast, and the Roslyn certainly served up a great hot breakfast every morning! The staff, as always, we pleasant and helpful!

Congrats to the Roslyn Hotel team on all the great things you are doing!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Feeroj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I visit The Roslyn Hotel for my annual corporate conference every year and finally the hotel is getting much needed renovation. I am very happy to see many changes as full hot breakfast served, most of amenities upgraded like Keurig coffee machines, complimentary water bottles, coffee 24 hrs, cookies at check-in. Staff is very attentive and friendly. The new contemporary style is an excellent improvement, it is a different European look and style . I would definitely recommend to all for business and personal travel.

Room Tip: Newly renovated rooms are very good
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Dhiren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roslyn
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roslyn
5.9 mi away
Glen Cove Mansion and Conference Center
5.2 mi away
Viana Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Inn at Great Neck, BW Premier Collection
5.4 mi away
Garden City Hotel
Garden City Hotel
#2 of 4 in Garden City
553 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express ROSLYN - MANHASSET AREA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roslyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roslyn Hotel

Address: 1221 Old Northern Blvd, Roslyn, NY 11576-1623
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Roslyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Roslyn
Price Range: £112 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roslyn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Roslyn Hotel provides a boutique hotel experience in Long Island’s North Shore in the historic village of Roslyn. Lined with charming shops and exquisite homes, the hotel is a true neighborhood destination. The Roslyn Hotel focuses on personalized, impeccable service and creating memorable stays whether for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Roslyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Roslyn Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing