We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not so great food, good atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crystal Brook Resort & Mountain Brauhaus
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Round Top
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I spent 7 years in Germany and my wife is German, so we have some experience. This is an hour's drive from us, so we really had to commit to trying someplace new to get here.

The atmosphere was nice. A large beer hall, done in a reasonably traditional style. I loved the decor and the use of wood throughout. The staff was friendly enough and dressed in regional garb, they even got most of the pronunciations correct.

I had the Jaegerschnitzel and my wife had the Sauerbraten. The food was mediocre at best. For both of us, the portions of meat were about 1/2 of what you'd expect (in Germany) for these dinners. On both, the sauce was thin and very bland, it seemed to come from a bag or can with no additions - like spices. A typical Jaegerschnitzel should be smothered in fresh mushroom gravy, yet I only found about 6 slices of canned mushrooms on mine. Her Sauerbraten really wasn't sour either.

Both came with a run-of-the-mill spaetzle from a bag, not bad but not good either. There was a side of tasteless applesauce, Rotkraut (red cabbage), and 3 slices of bread that were sliced in 1/2 and smothered in ... Possibly margarine or II can't believe it's not butter? Whatever, it ruined the chance to really taste the bread. Traditionally, a large smear of butter is stuck on the plate so that you can use it or not, in your decided quantity.

We had the Warsteiner beer, which for an import, wasn't bad. Don't get me wrong, I know and love German beer, but anytime they import it here, the recipe is different. It's just like having a Guinness in Europe versus your local pub. It's ok, but not the same.

We gambled, and we lost out on the food experience. We wouldn't make the trip again just for the food, but they do seem to have a lot of events and music there, so we'll probably go back

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2012

The Staff was very friendly the room was very clean. Word for the wise, if you want privacy, do not get the rooms behind the Brauhaus, the rooms are interconnected and the walls a bit thin :). If you decide to take a walk around the resort, be sure to take along Schnitzel the dog. He actually took us for a walk and then brought us back home before trotting off to his masters. If German food is not your thing then look elsewhere, unless you plan on eating at the Brauhaus.

A truly lovely place to get away from it all.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alexander R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

There are a lot of aging hotels and resorts in the Catskills. Crystal Brook is timeless and comfortable. An easy choice!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Have gone to Crystal Brook for many years for hunting season..........great food .....very reasonable rates ............can't do better anyplace else

Room Tip: all rooms are clean and roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hmich45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

My husband and I found this resort online when searching for a place to stay near/in the Catskills. The German food and Brauhaus on site drew us in. These features exceeded our expectations. Family who owns and operates this site makes their guests feel welcome and comfortable. Location makes day trips north and south easy to take. Would definitely stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Scoopy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Like going back in time...so many guests were German and knew how to dance. The Mountain Brahaus was authentic and charming. The food is good and the tennis courts are well taken care of, very impressed being your in the woods. Would've liked a heated or indoor pool but those are hard to find up in this area. The owner was so sweet and kind. We really felt at home and comfortable. The only minor let down was the BBQ the burgers were rare and the bratwurst and Hot dogs were not good. However the service was fantastic!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JudyJetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Many of the other reviews are spot-on, with a few adjustments: There'e WiFi throughout the place, and we thought the rooms were well soundproofed. The German bierhall next door is like stepping back in time. Saturday night, the place was hopping with mostly older local folks, some in dirndles and lederhosen, dancing to the traditional music. The inn is homey, charming and friendly, nothing fancy. Would love to go back when the pool is open. There's another lusher resort up the road with a vintage bowling alley, some trails and what looks like a swimming hole that you can also check out. It seems a little pricey at first glance, and locks you into 3 meals (think hearty and basic, not gourmet), but it was well worth it.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bklyntown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Round Top
10.8 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
300 reviews
5.7 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
149 reviews
11.2 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
1.8 mi away
Blackhead Mountain Lodge and Country Club
12.5 mi away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Brook Resort & Mountain Brauhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Brook Resort & Mountain Brauhaus

Address: 430 Winter Clove Rd, Round Top, NY 12473-5025
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Round Top
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Round Top
Price Range: £136 - £428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Crystal Brook Resort & Mountain Brauhaus 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1960, The Crystal Brook Resort and Mountain Brauhaus has been a family-owned and operated resort. Remaining a favorite destination for generations of families and friends. The German-American cuisine is of the highest quality to satisfy the most discriminating palate. Come take in the beautiful scenic soundings on a relaxing family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Crystal Brook Resort & Mountain Brauhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Brook Mountain Brauhaus Hotel Round Top

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing