We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take a Break to the Past”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crystal Brook Resort & Mountain Brauhaus
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Round Top
Ridge, New York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Take a Break to the Past”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

For those of you who remember what the Catskills were like many years ago and hold fond memories of family style vacation spots where the welcome mat was always out, The Crystal Brook Mountain Brauhaus Resort will take you back. A gold star goes to the family running this resort for putting their all into pleasing their guests. Even the dog plays his part. Just kick back and put yourself into an old-time mode of grandma's cooking and warm, family spirit. On weekends (and check for other nights), walk over to the lovely, authentic brauhaus with its paneled walls, cozy bar and tables around a dance floor. Even if you don't dance, the music is infectious and it's fascinating to watch people skillfully doing polkas, waltzes, etc. The entertainment is replete with singers, dancers and musicians in traditional Bavarian garb.

If you like good food, you won't be disappointed. Delicious is a word I use a lot at the Crystal Brook. Daily rates include breakfast, lunch and dinner, served at precise times. If you're spending the day driving about, just let your server at breakfast know that you'd like a lunch to go and you'll be brown-bagging an appetizing sandwich (with a piece of homemade pastry and fruit).

Not far away is an unkept secret of the area - Hartmann's Kaffee Haus. This is a bakery of bakeries and how many of those do you see any more? You'll be wanting to stop on your way home and take something back ( plus a slice of something-for-the road). Hours and days vary, so call first.

No, the Catskills doesn't have modern hotels with every amenity, but a gem like the Crystal Brook has things you won't find in those places.

Room Tip: When making a reservation, ask about the amenities of particular rooms. (There are no telephones in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ferryboaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    14
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
14
16
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilton, CT
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Very friendly family-owned resort. Quaint & charming, very clean. Good food, clean pool. Great beer hall open a few nights a week. Good BBQ offered couple days a week. Very relaxing vacation. Looking forward to next year already!

Room Tip: If traveling without children, stay at bungalow down the road from main buildings. Very quiet &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murnau, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I spent 7 years in Germany and my wife is German, so we have some experience. This is an hour's drive from us, so we really had to commit to trying someplace new to get here.

The atmosphere was nice. A large beer hall, done in a reasonably traditional style. I loved the decor and the use of wood throughout. The staff was friendly enough and dressed in regional garb, they even got most of the pronunciations correct.

I had the Jaegerschnitzel and my wife had the Sauerbraten. The food was mediocre at best. For both of us, the portions of meat were about 1/2 of what you'd expect (in Germany) for these dinners. On both, the sauce was thin and very bland, it seemed to come from a bag or can with no additions - like spices. A typical Jaegerschnitzel should be smothered in fresh mushroom gravy, yet I only found about 6 slices of canned mushrooms on mine. Her Sauerbraten really wasn't sour either.

Both came with a run-of-the-mill spaetzle from a bag, not bad but not good either. There was a side of tasteless applesauce, Rotkraut (red cabbage), and 3 slices of bread that were sliced in 1/2 and smothered in ... Possibly margarine or II can't believe it's not butter? Whatever, it ruined the chance to really taste the bread. Traditionally, a large smear of butter is stuck on the plate so that you can use it or not, in your decided quantity.

We had the Warsteiner beer, which for an import, wasn't bad. Don't get me wrong, I know and love German beer, but anytime they import it here, the recipe is different. It's just like having a Guinness in Europe versus your local pub. It's ok, but not the same.

We gambled, and we lost out on the food experience. We wouldn't make the trip again just for the food, but they do seem to have a lot of events and music there, so we'll probably go back

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metuchen, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

The Staff was very friendly the room was very clean. Word for the wise, if you want privacy, do not get the rooms behind the Brauhaus, the rooms are interconnected and the walls a bit thin :). If you decide to take a walk around the resort, be sure to take along Schnitzel the dog. He actually took us for a walk and then brought us back home before trotting off to his masters. If German food is not your thing then look elsewhere, unless you plan on eating at the Brauhaus.

A truly lovely place to get away from it all.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexander R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012 via mobile

There are a lot of aging hotels and resorts in the Catskills. Crystal Brook is timeless and comfortable. An easy choice!

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Have gone to Crystal Brook for many years for hunting season..........great food .....very reasonable rates ............can't do better anyplace else

Room Tip: all rooms are clean and roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hmich45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

My husband and I found this resort online when searching for a place to stay near/in the Catskills. The German food and Brauhaus on site drew us in. These features exceeded our expectations. Family who owns and operates this site makes their guests feel welcome and comfortable. Location makes day trips north and south easy to take. Would definitely stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Scoopy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Round Top
1.9 mi away
Blackhead Mountain Lodge and Country Club
5.7 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
147 reviews
10.8 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
503 reviews
11.2 mi away
Baumann's Brookside
Baumann's Brookside
#2 of 3 in Greenville
31 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riedlbauer's Resort
Riedlbauer's Resort
#3 of 4 in Round Top
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Brook Resort & Mountain Brauhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Brook Resort & Mountain Brauhaus

Property: Crystal Brook Resort & Mountain Brauhaus
Address: 430 Winter Clove Rd, Round Top, NY 12473-5025
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Round Top
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Round Top
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Crystal Brook Resort & Mountain Brauhaus 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1960, The Crystal Brook Resort and Mountain Brauhaus has been a family-owned and operated resort. Remaining a favorite destination for generations of families and friends. The German-American cuisine is of the highest quality to satisfy the most discriminating palate. Come take in the beautiful scenic soundings on a relaxing family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Crystal Brook Resort & Mountain Brauhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Brook Mountain Brauhaus Hotel Round Top

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing