We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crystal Brook Resort & Mountain Brauhaus
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Round Top
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I've stayed at this resort for many years and will continue to go back. An excellent value in an old-fashioned atmosphere. The owners are a two generation family that will go out of their way to make you feel welcome and at home. Sure, the facilities could use some updating but everything is functional and spotlessly clean. A full American plan program will satisfy any hearty appetite with good, basic meals, but you gourmands may be disappointed. These resorts are not as plentiful as they once were, but it's nice to see this one is still going strong. Just don't expect glitz and glimmer - if that's what you're looking for, go to Vegas.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Holenhund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

My wife and I just spent Columbus Day weekend here and we had a wonderful time. The food was, as it usually is, very good and plentiful. The staff at the restaurant and the Brauhaus was efficient and very personable. The high light of the weekend was at the Brauhaus where a band from Germany played on Friday and Saturday night and they had the entire place jumping. On Sunday night they also played a few sessions with the regular musicians and a very talented customer. It was a night to remember and we cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Larry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stayed here this summer for a family reunion. The place is quite outdated but clean as a whistle. Our room was extremely dark even with the three lamps on. Mattresses were ancient but fairly comfortable. Decor way out of style.

Food was plentiful but not many options, esp for picky eaters or people trying to eat healthy. The men enjoyed the heavy German specialties while the ladies would have preferred something lighter. Skip the pudding, definately instant. There were many empty tables in the dining room but we were all squished together at one end of the room, practically on top of the other guests. The waitstaff could barely get between the tables.

The pool, hot tub, play area, basketball and tennis courts are located across a busy road with cars speeding past. Quite scary with small kids running around. The pool at 70 degrees is ridiculously too cold. The area around the pool is completely warped and dangerous to walk on. The pool bottom was dirty and cracked. One of the guests standing in the pool stuck his hand in the overflow to find a snake in there! The hot tub on the other hand was 98 degrees with a huge bee infestation in the area. The table and chair sets by the pool are original and in need of a good paint job or a dumpster.

The motel is run by a nice family but the previous owner is still on the property and has obviously lost her mind. We spent the week trying to avoid her at all costs as she would catch your ear and go on and on about ridiculous things. We didn't go on vacation to have to listen to someone saying the movie room/bar was like "murder" because the lights were out!Unfortunately she no longer realizes she must close the bathroom stall door when using the public restroom in the main building. Its a sad situation but not one guests should be exposed to.

The area where the motel is located is in a very economically depressed area with not much to do. The best thing in the area was definately Zoom Flume. Worth the trip there for sure.

Only cash is accepted at the bar at the motel.

Brauhaus was fun but got very boring after 2 night of that, esp for the little ones.

If you have any walking issues or stair issues this is not the place for you.

I don't think we will return. Some money needs to invested in some improvements here and maybe the Grandma goes to live in an assisted living facility.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Dimples02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

My parent's had been coming here for 20+ years. I've been coming here every year with my son since 2006 (he had been coming with my folks since 2003). The food is great and so is the family that owns the resort! The Sauer Bratten is my favorite meal of the week. Several other attractions in the area to visit during the day, and the Brauhaus has great entertainment.

Room Tip: The bungalow rooms behind the Brauhaus are great. Nice new porch added on a couple of years ago is n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Crissy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We visit a lot of German and European establishment when we travel. What can I say I love a good schnitzel. This place was to be by far the worst. I’ll break it down as simply as I can.
Pros: A good German beer selection, very nice atmosphere.
Cons: Half of my friend’s schnitzel came uncooked. The “veal” schnitzels were NOT veal (so why are you paying for veal, clearly they don’t think people are going to notice). My Jagerschnitzel was tiny. I have never seen such as small portion of schnitzel in my life. The spatzel was watery and tasteless. Clearly very little effort and knowledge is put into food preparation at this establishment.
Neutral: Service was okay. They try but have little to work with. There potato pancakes were okay they had the taste just not the correct texture.
The best way to describe this place is that it would be like trying to get German food from a piss poor NJ roadside dinner.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank swietp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

First the good,the food. We had german,italian, american and it was all very good.The service was slow,one nightwe had baked patatoesand before we could ge any butter they were cold.The bbq they had sevedhalf cooked hambergers,they were frozen paddys and were cooked to fast,everything else was good.The beer gaden was fine but not autentic,i expect more.You have to travel far to get anyplace,it seem there is anything for seniors to do, but alot for kids. They don't seem to be organized,you are not told much about anything to do,and if you want orneed somthing there is no staff around to help you. If you want water or soda during the day you are out of luck,the soda mach does not work.I wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank verizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Some friends and I stayed at Crystal Brook and hiked surrounding areas. We enjoyed our stay very much. The people are very nice and friendly. Eeven their dog is friendly and nice - he decide to go on a walk with us. The rooms are very clean. The brauhaus is great and lots of fun. I would definitely come back and recommend it. Also, good value when you add in the meals.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PhilFisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Round Top
5.7 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
150 reviews
10.9 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
307 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hunter Inn
Hunter Inn
#2 of 5 in Hunter
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
517 reviews
12.5 mi away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
176 reviews
7 mi away
Villa Vosilla
Villa Vosilla
#1 of 2 in Tannersville
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Brook Resort & Mountain Brauhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Brook Resort & Mountain Brauhaus

Address: 430 Winter Clove Rd, Round Top, NY 12473-5025
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Round Top
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Round Top
Price Range: £131 - £407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Crystal Brook Resort & Mountain Brauhaus 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1960, The Crystal Brook Resort and Mountain Brauhaus has been a family-owned and operated resort. Remaining a favorite destination for generations of families and friends. The German-American cuisine is of the highest quality to satisfy the most discriminating palate. Come take in the beautiful scenic soundings on a relaxing family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Crystal Brook Resort & Mountain Brauhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Brook Mountain Brauhaus Hotel Round Top

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing